We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“french bistro at it's best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro Moncur

Bistro Moncur
Ranked #8 of 129 Restaurants in Woollahra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $50
Cuisines: French, European, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Surfers paradise
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“french bistro at it's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

We took a taxi from the city to this bistro we had been meaning to visit for some time.Arriving early we were able to stroll around the local shops until 12noon (no booking system only draw back for us, prefer certainty) and we were glad as the tables filled up quickly with what seemed to be locals very at home in this stylish and comfortable space.The service was prompt and friendly and we settled in for a leisurely lunch.The menu was delightful and the french onion souffle, veal and pudding all lived up to our high expectations as friends told us it would.
The portion sizes were unfashionably large but whose complaining and represented good value,the quality was there all the way .

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dnacingqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    63
    23
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“What I expected and more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

I have known about this place years but never actually gone until tonight. I've wasted a lot of time.

It was great! The chilli linguini (I think that's how it's spelt) entree' was excellent and the beef cheek main was sensational. The only let down was that my apple tartlet desert was cold when I expected it to be warm.

All in all a great experience.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank iammars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Sydney perennial for good reason..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

In Sydney, restaurants come and go seemingly like the seasons. So few places are traditions in this city. But like France Soir in Melbourne, Bistro Moncur makes you feel at least some places stay the same, perhaps getting better. Hearty, flavoursome French cuisine, with swift service that never needs prompting. No pretense, no trying hard with the latest designs or chic-at-the-moment techniques. Just elegant excellence on all fronts. Hard not to want to go every week!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OzCondeNast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, Norfolk
Level Contributor
231 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A great eatery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

I have been going to Bistro Moncur for years and it is consistantly good. You cannot reserve a table but if its full you just wait in the adjacent bar. Food is modern French and simply delightful. Small outside deck area for sun worshippers. A must do place.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HughDownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“French Onion Souffle Gratin + Sirloin Cafe de Paris w/chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

I have been coming here for over 20 years and I always order the French Onion Souffle Gratin + Sirloin Cafe de Paris w/chips and I am never disappointed.

I usually skip desert - no room and I can stop at a nearby cafe later for coffee and cake after a bit of a walk around the shops and a lovely browse through the book shop - so many books, so little time...

They don't take reservations but Bistro Moncur is attached to a hotel that usually has a cool Jazz band playing in the bar next door in the evenings, so no big deal to wait. I like to eat early anyway so if you come between 6 and 7pm you usually get a seat straight away. A favourite with the locals for good reason.

Also lots of good shops in Queen Street - Lesley McKay's awesome book shop in the courtyard across the road, a real village community - good butcher, grocer, cafes. Lots of clothes shops - MJ Bale, Herringbone, Oroton, Seed, etc etc in Queen and Moncur Streets. So you can browse, shop then eat, or vice versa - I do.

Good vibe for the discerning visitor, just off the busy shopping precinct that is Oxford Street to the West, with the death star of the Ginourmus Westfield Bondi Junction and train/bus interchange about 15 minutes walk to the East.

A Sydney classic - at the woollahrahotel.com.au

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneySkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Moncur also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
McMahons Point, North Sydney
 
Woollahra, Greater Sydney
Woollahra, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Bistro Moncur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing