We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Savoy Double Bay Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Intercontinental Sydney Double Bay(Woollahra)(Great Value!)
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$132
$127
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel(Watsons Bay)(Great Value!)
$151
$147
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Megaboom City Hotel(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$143
$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$137
$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Swissotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$137
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
QT Sydney(Sydney)
$204
$164
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Westin Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$209
$186
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$145
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveler rating
33
91
42
19
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
91
42
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique shoppingbay ferrygreat locationbondi junctionsized bathroomgreat cafes and restaurantssydney centrequirky hotelaffordable hotelconvenient place to staycircular quayplenty of hot watergenerous sizetrain stationskiff clubtwo singlesbalcony room
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 194 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

As an Australian tourist in Sydney I was looking for a great location reasonable prices and friendly staff and I found all those at the Savoy. Walk 5 minutes to the ferry into Circular Quay (or a cheap tour of the harbour) 10 minutes up to Edgecliff train station to the city or Bondi Beach or 2 minutes to the bus. The great bonus is that it is on Knox St with great cafes and restaurants, trendy shops and is right on the Harbour with the Skiff Club and beach there. The rooms are older but very clean and there is a lounge room with a balcony overlooking Knox St where you can sit and drink the provided tea coffee filtered water or glasses for that champagne to celebrate being in Sydney. The Savoy is a hidden gem in a very expensive but fabulous city.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingNanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The best thing about this place is the location. It is right in the middle of Double Bay, across the road from restaurants, and shops, a short walk to the water, and 30 minute walk to Moore Park. Is is run down and not the most attractive place, the decor is very 70's, we only stayed overnight. We had a standard double room it was very basic but it was the cheapest place to stay in the area so we didn't have high expectations. The beds were uncomfortable and the bathroom was very small and smelt musty. Our room was near reception and it was very noisy, we could hear everything. We were in town for a concert so to stay overnight was fine and we would possibly stay for a weekend, max. Parking is off site and about a block away. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Location is very hard to pass up, Coldpay were excellent!!!

Room Tip: This place is half the cost of surrounding areas and the location if fantastic, it is worth a try for 1 or 2 nights, but don't expect the Savoy London.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our rating is for our room and takes into consideration both the location and price. I am certain if we had an atrium room our review would not be so positive. Now back to specifics. The Savoy Hotel was suggested by local friends. They also suggested that we only get a room with an outside window. Why? The so-called atrium rooms look out on what amounts to a big hall-way or public area and those rooms appeared to be both small and would also appear to lack air circulation. One can imagine that they might also suffer from the noise of late arrivals - or early departures. We had a window (that opened). The room looked a bit tired, but it was comfortable, clean, with a comfortable bed and a wonderful location in a nice area close to many restaurants and shops, and easy access to the ferry to the city centre. There is a washer/dryer for those needing to do laundry and the desk staff were helpful. To put the price into perspective, the price was just $10 more than a dump we stayed at near the airport. Again, try for the window rooms if you want a very good hotel for the price. But don't blame me if yuo get an atrium room and don't like it!

Room Tip: Don't get an atrium room - ask for a room with an exterior window...or find another place
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I won't bore you with the long, depressing story, but in a nutshell... we were locked out of our rooms one night into our stay. It seems the hotel had double booked ALL FOUR OF OUR ROOMS! As we were all together (four mums on our first post-kids weekend away), it was easier for them to annoy one group, than 4 other couples.

That said, the first night wasn't exactly pleasant either! My girlfriend joked that she got 'the cupboard' - her room was tiny! Another had STICKY TAPE holding her skirting boards to the wall (I kid you not!)... and we all wished we'd packed thongs for the shower.

Oh and there was no security - people could walk off the street, up a set of stairs and right up to our rooms.

All in all, a disgusting hotel with no regard for cleanliness or service. It's an embarrassment to the Savoy name!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GIRLSWEEKENDRUINED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews