We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth considering as an alternate to modern hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hughenden Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Woollahra
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I enjoyed my stay in a cozy (small) room ... it had all the basics covered except the wireless internet was useless where my room was at the rear, but could get a good connection from the lobby and bar areas. They have nice HDTVs with actual HD channels. The breakfast was quite nice with 3 hot items (scrambled eggs, English bacon and beans). The location is OK with buses to downtown or Bondi beach a few steps from the door. The hotel certainly has atmosphere and the rooms are fairly well kept and very clean. Plenty of coffee and tea service inside the room.

Room Tip: Get a room towards the front if you want wireless internet access in your room.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holy_Innocent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hughenden14, Front Office Manager at Hughenden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Hi Holy_Innocent,
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel and I’m happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for mentioning your concern with our Wireless network. As we are a heritage listed building and have thick cement walls, you may experience minimal connection in rear areas. Over the next few months we are investing in a state of the art Wi-Fi network that will eliminate all challenges that come with running an 1890’s building. A stronger Wi-Fi connection will be available in all rooms for guests’ pleasure regardless of location. We hope to see you again to experience the improvement and we thank you for your kind words about our breakfast, HDTV’s and cleanliness of rooms, cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for Hughenden Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 302 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

I've stayed at The Hughenden three times in the past year and I'll stay there again. It's conveniently located on the 378 and 333 buslines that take you directly to Bondi Beach and/or Circular Quay. A "cozy" room (queen bed + full bath) will cost around $150AUD and there is free Internet and free breakfast. I think this is a great price. The Paddington Markets are very close-by, and there are nice neighborhoods in which to take a long walk. Centennial Park is across the street.

The staff is very nice - very professional and accommodating.

If I had any criticisms, it would be that the hotel is older and so the floors squeak. I was worken up a few times by loud-stepping upstairs neighbors. Some of the front rooms are also noisy from street traffice. However, given it's location and room rate, I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back, away from Queen Street, which gets a lot of traffic.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolle Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hughenden14, Front Office Manager at Hughenden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Hi Nicole!
Thank you for your returned patronage to The Hughenden and we look forward to your next visit! You have highlighted many benefits of staying at The Hughenden such as our close proximity to Bondi Beach and Circular Quay where you can explore Sydney Harbour or get a ferry across to Taronga Zoo or Manly Beach! Given our hotel was built late 18th century you may experience some squeaky floors but it’s all part of The Hughenden experience! If you are a light sleeper, as you said I’d suggest a room upstairs at the back of the hotel. Some guests do enjoy staying at the front of the hotel overlooking Queen St so they can watch the many poodles wander past over the leafy outlook, or prefer a more quiet space at the back. I'm very happy to hear you found our staff very professional and accommodating, it's always nice to hear positive feedback on our team. Once again, thanks for your kind review and look forward to seeing you return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

After trying lots of accom for my weekly work trip to Sydney I was relieved to finally find the Hughenden. It has style, is close to everything, staff are friendly, has a great breakfast, a lovely evening bar and the rates won't break the bank. No it's not five star but I would choose the Hughenden over Sydney city accom any day.

Room Tip: The cosy room is like a bedroom at your grandma's house but it's good value and my choice fo...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NessCousins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hughenden14, Front Office Manager at Hughenden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Hi NessCousins,

Thank you for your returned patronage and kind words about The Hughenden. We do have many corporate travellers like you who utilise our location being so close to the CDB and enjoy our lower rates and unique facilities.

We are far from being a big chain hotel in the heart of the CDB however this is our selling point. We offer a personalised service and unique experience with our quaint rooms and common areas such as The Victorian Lounge and Reading Room. Our small establishment is a great place to relax after a busy day in the city, as you will no longer feel you are only a 5 minute drive away from the CDB but in a small Victorian Manor house. Let your imagination take over!

Thank you for your lovely recommendation NessCousins and we look forward to your next arrival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at this charming hotel in Sydney. Our room was over the parking area, but we were not bothered by noise except from the fountain, which the very helpful staff are happy to turn off at night. The room was on the small side, but clean and comfortable. Great varied hot breakfast in a breakfast room filled with antiques. Buses stop on the corner.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJ3115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hughenden14, Front Office Manager at Hughenden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Hi JJ3115,

Thank you for choosing The Hughenden Hotel for your 4 night stay in Sydney. As you mentioned, we do operate a 24 hour reception desk and if you experience any disruptions to your stay we are always happy to assist you. Given our location next to Oxford Street, you may experience some noise however I am delighted that this did not affect you. Tip for your next stay, request a room at the inner back of the hotel, you won't here a peep!

Our Cosy rooms are quite small, however for the economic traveller are a perfect place to wrest your head while you enjoy your own private ensuite, limited Foxtel channels, tea/coffee facilities and *air conditioning.

JJ3115, Thank you for your kind and fair review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Hughenden.

*Air conditioning not available in all Cosys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We booked this hotel through an external site for a good price - a little over $100 per night including breakfast. The hotel is in a great location especially as we were going to a concert at Allianz Stadium. The room was pretty small and on a loud side of the hotel (above a car park where what sounded like a rubbish truck visited one morning). The bathroom was also small and to be honest a little smelly. But it is a lovely old hotel with a great history and lovely staff. The reality is you can't get antique charm and an affordable price without accepting that it won't be the heights of luxury. Very comfy bed and much nicer than staying at a sterile chain hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hughenden14, General Manager at Hughenden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Anwin,

Thank for you taking the time to review our hotel and your stay. I am sorry your room was a little small for your liking, but appreciate your comments about our great location to the stadium, and also our staff. We try to help out as much as possible.

If you are in the area again, please do not hesitate to give us another go. We have 5 different room types, so perhaps a large suite would be more suited. We are also refurbishing the hotel so stop by and see the changes. Whilst we are not the height of luxury, we are maintaining the antique charm but making it all a little fresher.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Best hotel in travel across south-east Australia - and beat more expensive stays including near Circular Quays. Old-world charm and style with a large room with good range of facilities. Good breakfast. Great location with Centennial Park opposite and art galleries / local restaurants within minutes walk. Real sense of being part of Sydney's heritage. Helpful front-desk guided return journey to airport (taxi was as cheap as train plus short taxi on arrival - and just a few minutes from the airport).
On any future trip to Sydney, this is where I'll rebook.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnwardTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hughenden14, General Manager at Hughenden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear OnwardTraveller

Thank you so much for all your positive feedback and kind words. Our hotel is one of a kind, and we try to enhance the charm, the history and heritage - it is not a cookie cutter hotel and every room is different. As mentioned, our location is a huge selling point and we are very lucky in the sense.

We also pride ourselves on our service and its always a pleasure to hear kind words about our staff. We make sure to pass all feedback on.

Enjoy your travels and we look forward to welcoming you back one day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Location ideal to reach the ferry and onto many relaxing places in Sydney.
Accommodation very comfortable, with good service, all staff were very helpful.

Plenty of variety on foods for breakfasts including cooked.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woollahra
Double Bay
Intercontinental Sydney Double Bay
Paddington
Arts Hotel
Arts Hotel
#99 of 178 in Sydney
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner South
Meriton Suites Waterloo
Meriton Suites Waterloo
#23 of 178 in Sydney
2,073 reviews
Darlinghurst
Vibe Hotel Rushcutters Bay Sydney
Double Bay
The Savoy Double Bay Hotel
The Savoy Double Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Double Bay
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hughenden Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hughenden Boutique Hotel

Address: 14 Queen St, Woollahra, New South Wales 2025, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Woollahra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Woollahra
Price Range: $140 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hughenden Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Hughenden (circa 1870) is a gracious historic hotel at the gateway to the antiques and art galleries of Woollahra, in Sydney's Eastern Suburbs. Associated with Australia's first philosopher, The Hughenden experienced many changes from grand residence to Masonic Hall to Ladies College. In 1993, The Hughenden commenced a programme of extensive restoration, redeveloping it into a beautiful boutique hotel.Today, The Hughenden, known as Sydney's premier Art and Literary Hotel, features marble fireplaces, the original grand staircase, Victorian dining rooms, art exhibitions and literary events.Visitors are welcome to experience the warmth, charm and personal service offered by The Hughenden. With 32 Heritage Rooms, Pet Friendly Accommodation, Restaurant, Lounge Bar, Meeting, Event and Wedding facilities, The Hughenden has unique offerings for all to experience and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hughenden Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hughenden Boutique
Hughenden Boutique Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing