We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable service but shame about the very small serving sizes in the food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Scala on Jersey - CLOSED

La Scala on Jersey
Price range: $23 - $46
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: La Scala on Jersey has embarked on an exciting new chapter, with the talented Massimo Mele as Executive Chef. Massimo draws on his childhood influences from Naples to deliver both his modern take on the originals as well as traditional Italian dishes. La Scala on Jersey brings to life his ethos of Tutti A Tavola - 'everyone to the table'. It's a place for every occassion, to share food and wine with friends and family, for a casual dinner or for a special celebration. At La Scala on Jersey, the true Italian feasting and sharing style of dining is encouraged, but if you fancy a bowl of delicious pasta (or anything else for that matter) all to yourself - that's ok too. Temporarily closed - reopening April 2016
Sydney
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Reasonable service but shame about the very small serving sizes in the food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We attended this restaurant as a celebration dinner with my 87year old mother. Service was good and we were waited on quite nicely by both the guy who seemed to be the owner/head waiter and one of the waitresses. The food sizings however were very small. Even my elderly mother who doesn't eat much thought the serving sizes were small and certainly small for the big prices. Anyways overall view on this restaurant is all ok. We would go back but wouldn't rush to do so.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank acadaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    26
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Neighbourhood gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Great little Italian restaurant above the very popular Light Brigade. Food is always spot on, with big, bold flavours. I prefer this style of rustic Italian food to the more fancy places.The lamb is always a winner, and my wife always orders one of the specials, and they never fail to deliver.

The manager really takes care of you, and wine knowledge is sound. The wine is actually really well priced, especially some of the top end wines, and a drink and a nibble in the bar is always a great start to the night.

Hghly recommended!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chook_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great local place, very good value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Food is italian but as the other reviewers say, its not pasta/pizza. Food menu is short and full of things you would want to eat. The room is lovely and they make a great negroni. you get the feeling that the staff actually want to work there. Good for business and for couples and groups and a very nice wine list with some italian gems.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank suezzerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
166 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good neighbourhood tucker”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I dine here often. Food is innovative and Italian based but not pasta/pizza. Wine list is good. The restaurant in top of the Light Brigade Hotel but is separate and not noisy. Service is personable and informed.

Importantly they offer a full vegetarian menu.

Not a starred Michelin place but what I would term a neighborhood gem along with the other similar ones in the area - The Lord Dudley, The Imperial, The Bellevue each of which has a different charm

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlterK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasson, Minnesota
Level Contributor
107 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Dinner at La Scala”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We had a great dinner at La Scala on Jersey Road, Woollahra on a Saturday evening. The place is great- large, plenty of space. We had the kingfish for appetisers and they were excellent. The mains were good too. The service was friendly and attentive. We enjoyed our meal and would definitely good back again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KellyP1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Scala on Jersey also viewed

Bellevue Hill, Woollahra
 
Edgecliff, Woollahra
Double Bay, Woollahra
 
Edgecliff, Woollahra
Woollahra, Greater Sydney
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing