We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hits your pocketbook hard”

Doyles on the Beach
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Watsons Bay
Price range: $15 - $151
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
200 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Hits your pocketbook hard”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Expensive for what you get. We had the Seafood Chowder, which was excellent but the problem with the chowder is that they give you crab legs that have not been shelled and nothing to crack the shell with. The service was slow and the view was lovely, but the $5 surcharge per person because you were eating at the restaurant on a weekend was a real surprise. We have never encountered a surcharge like this before and now understand why you do not tip. What we really would have liked to know, is who gets the $5 surcharge per person? The waiter/waitress or the staff working at the restaurant for the day, or do the owners benefit from the surcharge.
It would be nice if the restaurant had posted its menu and the surcharge outside so that unsuspecting tourists don't get caught.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CndnGuider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    746
    558
    282
    159
    99
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food in a stunning location”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Is there anything better than enjoying the view of blue water, blue sky, yachts, people having fun while eating terrific seafood? We had a great meal at Doyle's sharing the seafood platter for two. Perfectly cooked and presented. We could not have asked for more

Helpful?
Thank Simla_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Over rated”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We went to Doyles at the quay, Sydney, with my sister-in-law travelling on the QM2. We had not seen her for 12 years so wanted somewhere special. Yes the stuffed prawns were amazing, wish I had them as a main! Fish & chips - I chose salad instead of chips at $42 was less than average. My local club does it better at less than half the price. The salmon & eye fillet was really good. The view is awesome but does not warrant the inflated wine list.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SydneyFranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“terrible”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

THE DIYLE INSIDE THE FISH MARKET SELF SERVE HAVE FISH THAT IS LIKE PLASTIC TOYS MADE IN CHINA, TERRIBLE TESTE THE LOBSTER Called marnier is made with some kind of cheese that is not cheese but is some plastic stuff , walking inside is like to walk in a dump rubbish table full of peoples dishes used and caups avoid it

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mario50_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moe, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I always try and have a dinner at doyles”
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

A group of ten of us from Victoria headed off from circular quay by water taxi and had a slap up meal at Doyles.
The staff were attentive and helpful and prices whist not cheap were reasonable for the amount and quality of the food.
One couple complained their crayfish was tasteless and over cooked. Everything else was great and I'd recommend it for a great location, great food and a view of Sydney at night and sunset you couldn't pay for.

Helpful?
Thank Rosco513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doyles on the Beach also viewed

Watsons Bay, Woollahra
Watsons Bay, Woollahra
 

Been to Doyles on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing