We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sydney”

Doyles on the Beach
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Watsons Bay
Price range: $15 - $151
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Chorley
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Sydney”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

There can not be a better place to have lunch than looking out across Sydney, and the beauty of Watsons Bay.
Fresh fish is of course top of the menu, but there are choices for every taste, the ambiance makes Doyles one of those places that sticks in the mind for ever.
The restaurant prices are far from cheap and the food is perhaps not top class but the whole experience makes it worth a visit.
A cheaper option is to buy take away fish and chips and eat them on the wharf on along the bay.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glenrobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    746
    558
    282
    159
    99
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
284 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Tourist Food (or High Quality Pub Food) in a Wonderful International Location”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Food lacks garnish, oils, and dressings.

Entrees’ were good but main meals let it down. The Barramundi was dry, the Whole Snapper while dressed with Thai spices, was also dry, the Snapper fillets had a a nice light batter but lacked flavour and sauces.

A clear summer skies, a balmy evening, Sydney Harbour beachfront, sunset and Sydney CBD city lights coming on in the distance. Romance and an international position could make this one of the great restaurant venues in the world; it's a shame about the food. Four of us dined and we can’t understand how fish in Sydney could lack flavour and /or be dry. Where do Doyles get the fish from and how long do they keep it? This position deserves more. If only the chef’s enjoyed dressings, spices, sauces, “flavour”, we could have had a truly memorable meal.

Oh and the prcies are not cheap at all. Mains are plus or minus US $40. You are obviously paying for the location and not the food.

Wine selection is limited and their indifference to the wine is highlighted by not printing the year of the wines on the wine list, the wait staff not knowing the vintage, and believe it or not, not having all the wines on the wine list at 6.30pm on a Saturday night.

There was plenty of staff around and in general they were very attentive.

I am aware that Doyles have been around for decades but with the current food preparation they do not warrant “local” support. It is a quality pub restaurant. Sadly, leave it to the tourists’.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaleenXTRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sippy Downs, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Make sure you try the stuffed prawns”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have been to Doyles many times and have had mixed experiences but mostly good. I'm actually not much into seafood but their stuffed prawns are devine. Friends tell me that the fish is pretty good too. The atmosphere is nice though last time I went we had a really stuffy waiter. Not much fun at all compared to other hosts I have had there in the past.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ManeStreetHair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great location disappointing food”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Looked forward to this after touring Bodi and other beaches and the surroundings and view from our table were great. The four of us ordered the John Dorey fish and chips which duly arrived with two large fillets each and a big portion of chips, too big for the girls who would have happily shared one plate. We were then disappointed to find the fish was slightly overcooked and a litlle dry. At £35 each with a couple of small beers this was also very pricey!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Day at the BAy..”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Very easy to take Ferry from Circular Quay to Watson Bay. Worth the Fish and Chips!! Great Food, Great Views. Very Relaxing check out the great views around the corner up the Hill for some fantastic Photo shots. Very easy from there to take the Bus to Bondi Beach so Easy to Do. Great little trip. just by a one way ferry Ticket. Plan spending the whole day out, it makes for a long day but so worth it..!!!! I would love to have lunch there Everyday...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doyles on the Beach also viewed

Watsons Bay, Woollahra
Watsons Bay, Woollahra
 

Been to Doyles on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing