We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Put off the hotel for our wedding stay after initial visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Watsons Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Myself and my fiancé went here to check out the hotel as we were looking to book out a number of the hotel rooms for our nearby wedding and did not think we would have a problem after viewing the website.

However, once there, our experience at the hotel quickly changed our minds.

Firstly pram and disabled access is very poor. We went in the main entrance and then found that we could not get down to the outside area as there was no ramp or lift(we had a pram and a person with a mobility issue).

When looking at the food menu, we thought that the selection was good although very pricey but thought we would give it a go.

We had the steak which at 32 dollars was bound to be good. First shock was that we were given a buzzer to collect our food. $32 dollars for a steak and it is not even served to you. seriously!!

The menu specifically states that their steaks are served medium rare and both came out well done which was pretty disappointing. The lack of service meant we could not even send them back so ended up just leaving.

Very poor experience. I can only imagine what the experience would be like on your wedding day. Luckily we won't need to find out after this test experience

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aceofl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
There are newer reviews for Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 464 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2014

Although this was booked with a discount voucher, the room we allocated had dirty carpets, see picture. The staff are good here, apart from the girl on breakfast, who must have thought everyone was invisible.

The bed was comfy, and the room was an average size. I would not call this a boutique hotel, but a dirty carpet in a room, there can be little excuse.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank undercoverelephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Front Office Manager at Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. Please accept my apologises for the lack of cleanliness of the carpet. We have recently had all the rooms steam cleaned so I am very sorry that this room did not meet normal standards. We place a high priority of the maintenance of our rooms are in the process of repainting all rooms and doing some bathroom projects.
We were glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and service. thanks you once again for your comments.

Judy Beardsell
Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I was initially pleased when I entered our lovely room and saw we were not above the noisy, bustling bar, until I realised that meant we were overlooking the bins, including the glass bottle bin into which bottles we're emptied every 40mins throughout afternoon and evening.
The restaurant had been recommended, unfortunately it was booked for a wedding function. I wonder how many weekends it is booked for a wedding function given location. There was no area of the bar reserved for hotel guests - I would have expected this as 'luxury boutique hotel' I think implies some exclusivity. Not keen to jostle for a chair in the packed bar, we ate at Doyle's next door. At 4.48am trucks arrived by the bins to deliver/ take away supplies. Not great for us as parents of young kids on a break away to recharge! I wouldn't come back here unless I was a guest at a wedding and happy to drink and dance the night away and BRING EARPLUGS!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sbentley181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Front Office Manager at Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and please accept our apologises for the noise you experienced. Please note that we have a new bottle collection system in place to eliminate this problem as we have had similar comments in the past. We are working hard to ensure this situation is rectified.
It should also be noted for other visitors that we do not have a restaurant as such. We are a casual dining venue which includes the Beach Club , Top Deck and Lower Deck. The Sunset Room which people may think is a restaurant is a function area which if not being used for a function is available for casual dining.
The venue is a busy and vibrant one especially in summer which can at times be noisy until about 10pm. Many of our guests enjoy this atmosphere however we do have Parkview Watson King rooms away from the Beachclub that offer a more serene alternatives.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

I had my birthday party here with a hotel room loft room booked up stairs for the night. I had 30 guests and the staff and service were superb. Could not find any fault, we stayed in the watsons loft room 215 and it was beautiful, spacious, upstairs and balcony. We had a few drinks before heading down stairs to the beach club where we were worried about getting a table for my birthday, we spoke to michael with blondish/reddish hair and was great with helping up organise us some tables to cater for my friends/family. I give this place a solid 10/10 for everything. I will definately be back! Thank you heaps for making my night spectacular!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Jordan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My daughter's wedding was at Dunbar House and we thought rather than travel home or back to the city we would stay at Hotel and what a good decision. There were 3 other groups from the Wedding how did the same.
The Hotel is in great location anyway. Rooms are large and of a very high standard with a wonderfully large and well equipped bathroom. We didn't have any noise problems. We would come back for a breakaway from our normal lives as the Hotel feels like it's a million miles from anywhere but so close to Sydney. The day-trippers add a bit of character to the location. Only problems were TV reception as some channels had the digital freeze occurring and parking can be a issue as they seem to cater for locals who park on-site when going to the Pub side of the business, other than that everything was good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

The location is incredible, the rooms were very nice, the public spaces are very nice and the food is great. This however is not a boutique hotel, the catering seems dedicates to the transient populataion ariving onmasse by ferry and the service in the hotel itself was far from the standard expected.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
4  Thank Andypandymacanandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I'm only going to comment on the terrace restaurant. Why play bad loud music at 6pm when people want to chill? Why do you employ chefs who can't cook? Why do you have a terrible wine list? Because you sit back after the refurb and think the view justifies the costs to the customer. In a word, rubbish.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
5  Thank woodywombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watsons Bay
Double Bay
Intercontinental Sydney Double Bay
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 178 in Sydney
1,318 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 178 in Sydney
4,422 reviews
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel

Address: 1 Military Road, Watsons Bay, Woollahra, New South Wales 2030, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Woollahra > Watsons Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Watsons Bay
Price Range: $159 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iconic and memorable, welcome to the world renowned Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel, Sydney's premier accommodation, event and dining destination. Escape to this exclusive seaside oasis and enjoy a relaxed Yacht Club ambiance with a million dollar view. Our beachside-chic hotel is directly grounded in the sandy shoreline of Watsons Bay atop unobstructed panoramic views of sparkling Sydney Harbour from a quiet, exclusive enclave. Boasting 31 light filled suites all appointed with timeless furnishings, king size beds, elegant marble bathrooms and floor to ceiling windows, each room enjoys impressive views ranging from the breathtaking Sydney Harbour to the lush greenery of Robertson Park. Each of our boutique rooms exude a relaxed beachside-chic aesthetic and are appointed with modern amenities including complimentary wi-fi, plasma TVs, air conditioning, plush bathrobes, tea and coffee making facilities and Peter Morrissey toiletries. A complimentary Australian continental breakfast is included daily with all rooms. We also offer variety of great dining options, incorporating fresh produce into our menus with a fun and contemporary list of wines, beers and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Watsons Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing