We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Watsons Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We loved visiting this area, and the hotel was just right for us. Low key, friendly and relaxed. We had a room on the right hand side of the building (facing the bay) which unfortunately looked over the service area for the restaurants downstairs. This was noisy, especially with bottle disposal although the times refuse was dealt with was reasonable.
Our room was spacious and airy, reasonably well appointed.
The bed was made of 2 singles pushed together which resulted in quite a divide down the middle. A cover to reduce the feeling would be good.
Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Continental breakfast included with the room rate was excellent.
We enjoyed the breezy bay atmosphere of the bar downstairs.
We would stay again but choose a room on the other side.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 481 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

As many others have remarked, this is essentially a pub. We just turned up without a booking, asked what was available and got a good room on the first floor with a beautiful view over the bay looking straight towards the city. Wonderful, providing you were deaf. Unfortunately, as a pub, the bay side seating area has loud music pumping until at least 10pm even on a Sunday and you either need a stern constitution or ear defenders to sleep before then. That said, the bed was comfy and once the music had stopped, we could leave our balcony doors open all night to sleep with delicious fresh seaside air. Breakfast next morning was a basic continental buffet, a bit less than I'd have expected for the expensive price of the room, but tasty pastries nevertheless. All told, the experience was perfectly fine, but for the price. If they reduced this by between $50-100, I wouldn't think twice about coming again.

Room Tip: Get a room at the side or on the second floor if you're worried about noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed here as one of the bridesmaids of a wedding party that took place at Dunbar House (across the road). The family had booked at least 8 of the 32 rooms. For the price paid (not to mention that it was a special occasion), the service and other amenities were pretty poor, and had the bride over-stressed and in unnecessary tears on a few occasions.

Service
- Was not the service expected at a boutique hotel. Unhelpful staff, no assistance with bags, no help in solving challenges. For the price paid, it was quite unfortunate to have this experience.

Food
- continental breakfast was pretty poor, with cheap sugary ski yoghurts and pre-packed cereal boxes. A small selection of cut fruit and the bread was the highlight. Fine for a pub hotel but not adequate for a "boutique" hotel.

Loud music
- We struggled to sleep because of the music from the pub below (this should be expected due to location, so not the fault of the hotel - just something to be aware of).

The actual rooms were fine, lacking character but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DGtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We loved our stay here as hotel is perfectly situated, close to the ferry, walking tracks with nice restaurants close by.. We took the scenic ferry trip to the City and had lovely walks around South Head Peninsular and The Gap.
Excellent value as we used a Groupon deal and were very happy when we were able to book the Harbour View room which overlooked the beer garden, jetty and lovely views to the City. The hotel has been pleasantly renovated. Our room was nice, quiet and comfortable.

Room Tip: Harbour view room has excellent views towards the City and the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lamucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Although recently renovated, and somewhat stylish, the inescapable smell of deep fried fat reminds you that you're staying in a pub... Which is all well and good if you expect to be staying in a pub, but touted as a "boutique hotel" and charging as the name would suggest, leads to a certain expectation... One sadly not met.

Rooms are nicely done, and bed comfortable. The tv is digital, passed through a video on demand service - $12 per film. The tv reception is unstable with regular 10sec digital dropouts. Cleanliness is ok, the missus pointed out the lack of dusting, but overall certainly not dirty. No mini bar, instead guests are pointed to a vending machine, which just now ate my money, and prompted me to sit down and get this out of the system...

Continental breakfast is a very low budget affair - ski yoghurt tubs and mini cartons of corn flakes et al. Toast with limited toppings. No cheese, no meat, no eggs. Warm breakfast and barista coffee available only as a paid extra. Great location to have breakfast and you won't go hungry, but... meh. On the upside, you can learn of the inner workings of the hotel by partaking in the daily morning manager's meeting held at the same time in the restaurant (beware, it can get rowdy!)

Staff are pleasant and friendly, but one gets the impression that the current staff are all new, and don't know much, needing to delegate questions often, and not giving the impression of a slick, well oiled service.

My review really comes down to expectations. Expect a boutique hotel with the trimmings (as you might expect from the price and website) and you'll be let down. Expect a pub hotel in great condition in a great location, and swallow the cost, and you'll be fine.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank ed_jza80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last weekend for a girl's night and we had such a great time. The hotel is easily accessible via a ferry from the city, and a pretty traverse at that. We were upgraded to a Harbour View Suite which was incredibly well presented; clean and spacious. The venue itself is deceptively big. We started our night with some cocktails in the Top Deck bar overlooking the panoramic harbour view, the cocktails were quite strong and served in coconuts which was a nice touch. We also shared some salads and salt and pepper calamari - the portions were huge for side meals.

The venue was clean, professional and provided a really nice quiet break from the city. Will go again. GREAT vibe on a weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brookesimonea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Night buzzer didn't work.
Footprint on the doona cover.
Room not made up/serviced.
Breakfast with the cacophony of a high pressure hose and vacuum cleaner.
Ran out of all their cocktail specials by 6pm.
Lovely location, nicely renovated rooms but expensive hotel that is very poorly managed

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DubaiJanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watsons Bay
Double Bay
Intercontinental Sydney Double Bay
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Double Bay
The Savoy Double Bay Hotel
The Savoy Double Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Double Bay
178 reviews
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
730 reviews
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel

Address: 1 Military Road, Watsons Bay, Woollahra, New South Wales 2030, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Woollahra > Watsons Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Watsons Bay
Price Range: $192 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iconic and memorable, welcome to the world renowned Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel, Sydney's premier accommodation, event and dining destination. Escape to this exclusive seaside oasis and enjoy a relaxed Yacht Club ambiance with a million dollar view. Our beachside-chic hotel is directly grounded in the sandy shoreline of Watsons Bay atop unobstructed panoramic views of sparkling Sydney Harbour from a quiet, exclusive enclave. Boasting 31 light filled suites all appointed with timeless furnishings, king size beds, elegant marble bathrooms and floor to ceiling windows, each room enjoys impressive views ranging from the breathtaking Sydney Harbour to the lush greenery of Robertson Park. Each of our boutique rooms exude a relaxed beachside-chic aesthetic and are appointed with modern amenities including complimentary wi-fi, plasma TVs, air conditioning, plush bathrobes, tea and coffee making facilities and Peter Morrissey toiletries. A complimentary Australian continental breakfast is included daily with all rooms. We also offer variety of great dining options, incorporating fresh produce into our menus with a fun and contemporary list of wines, beers and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Watsons Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing