We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long, relaxing delicious lunch with fabulous view”
Review of Dunbar House

Dunbar House
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Watsons Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Dunbar House operates a chic daytime café for alfresco a la carte breakfast and lunch or high tea on Friday, Saturday and Sunday, as well as an exclusive venue for private celebrations and corporate events Monday – Sunday.
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Nice old style building. Great location. A ferry ride away from Circular Quay (Wharf 3) or Barangaroo (Wharf 2). Not far to walk from the ferry wharf. Fabulous view. Blue sky, water, sand, green park, big trees. Watching people and the day goes by... while enjoying delicious lunch and beautiful wine. Friendly staff and service. They didn’t rush us at all. From pre drinks, entree, wine, main, dessert, to coffee... Hot temp with nice breeze. Highly recommend to impress people from overseas or for a special occasion.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank liland10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 281 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2018

My parent have eaten at Dunbar House many times and we made a reservation here for a joint birthday celebration. Apart for the lovely setting the restaurant was terrible. The staff were completely incompetent, slow and unhelpful. They did not top up drinks, bring the food at the same time so one dish was almost cold before everyone else was served. My parents agreed they would never go back again. The food was also a big disappointment. The medium steak was very rare and the medium well steak was well done and the presentation of the meal was terrible. I've had better at a steak house. Not what you would expect from that type of restaurant. Give it a miss, Sydney has much better restaurants!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2018

We arrived at this restaurant, with out a booking, and were advised that as there was a wedding later that day they would close in 40 minutes. We agreed to stay and the service was prompt, friendly and spot on. Nice spot for a quick bit to eat, but would be even better for a long relaxing lunch...will be back.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gerardmW7699SY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2018 via mobile

We stopped for coffee only. A beautiful building in a lovely location. Excellent coffee and service. Those eating around us seemed to be really enjoying their meals. We travelled by ferry from Circular Quay which makes for a very good outing from Sydney. Very reasonable. Had we more time we would certainly have eaten there. A beautiful heritage building.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Reynard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2018 via mobile

We only had drinks at the the Dunbar house inside on a Sunday afternoon since there were no available outside tables. Nice atmosphere and friendly staff. Menu looked very good.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank suzeY7302IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunbar House also viewed

Watsons Bay, Woollahra
 
Rose Bay, Greater Sydney
Mosman, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Dunbar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing