We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“summer brunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunbar House

Dunbar House
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Watsons Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“summer brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We were a party of 7 including two children who really enjoyed the pancakes. We would have liked a table on the balcony but this is not possible for more than 4 people but we had a reasonable view from inside.

The food is excellent and the decor delightfully old-fashioned to suit the house, but as other reviewers have said, the service is oh so slow, and the prices are on the high side. However, it is a delightful spot, particularly if entertaining overseas visitors.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jackson2560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    70
    15
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wentworth Falls, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We had the pleasure of having lunch at Dunbar House today. The service was very good, the waitress was very helpful with local information as this was our first visit to Watson Bay. The food was excellent, all fresh ingredience. Look forward to our return visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank megann28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
286 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Great place in all aspects...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Very nice, actually great place of an excellent style, with an excellent location not far from the sea and a beautiful view if sitting outside. Prices here are a bit higher, but everywhere in Australia is pretty expensive so this is worth the price. The food was cooked, prepared and served in way that one feels really satisfied with everything. I was with the friends (pretty wealthy) who knew the place and the waiter, so I cannot judge what the treatment would be without them, but in these circumstances it was really a pleasure to spend some time there, both in terms of general atmosphere and culinary experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dimitrije56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“MY FAVOURITE PLACE IN WATSONS BAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Dunbar House is right on the water at Watsons Bay - you need to book as they sometimes have functions there. Breakfast and lunch are always fantastic - we go at least once a week. Sitting on the verandah - so close to the water - its just divine. Scrambled eggs in the morning or their baked salmon with roast vegetable salad are my favourites. Deserts and equally fantastic. High tea is also delicious served in beautiful fine china. I LOVE THIS PLACE

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DCW790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I ate here today with a group of friends and we enjoyed ourselves. I think next time we might request a better table, as we were put in a table in the corner with no views of Watsons Bay at all, unfortunately. The food was very good and the staff was generally quite pleasant. We all had meals from the breakfast menu and weren't disappointed. It did take over 20 minutes for our coffee to arrive after ordering it after eating, but were told they had fifteen orders for coffee.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Darcy684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunbar House also viewed

 
Watsons Bay, Woollahra
 

Been to Dunbar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing