We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy at hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ibis Thornleigh
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thornleigh
A TripAdvisor Member
“Happy at hotel”
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Rooms are small, but servicable and comfortable. Bathroom is very small, and the exhaust fan is not effective. Service was good. Restaurant was excellent with good service and good food. It is located in a good area, with a good view if one is lucky enough to get a room on the front side.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    208
    108
    19
    13
See reviews for
78
147
62
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
canberra
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

overall I am happy with my stay.

service very good
the manager is very friendly and helpful
the location is though too far but this is
the best ibis that I have stayed in sydney
and one of the best ibis that I stayed in australia.

I am not sure with the food as I do not eat breakfast and lunch but it is value over money considering the cost of the food is not that expensive compared to the other ibis hotel.

I used the coupon / voucher to reduce the amount of the bill and apply for non prepaid accommodation. It is a pleasantly surprised that I still get discount as if the prepaid price.

I recommend those seeking accommodation that is clean, value for money and better than average .

If you wish to stay close to the city, this is not the accommodation for you as the location is very far eventhough you use the motorway or toll to reach the destination.

Since I did the travel during the holiday, this is not really a burden for us as the traffic is not as heavy during the holiday as they are during the workday

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Typical Ibis box room, in a very uninspiring location.
Great view of the main highway, traffic all day, and all night. Not to much noise though.
Nothing local to tempt you out of the place, just a place to rest your head for the night

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HITGM, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Thornleigh, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear Guest,


thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisr, we appreciate it.


Best regards


Carmen Marienberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Probably I would not return to this hotel but I do not intent to ruin anyone's business here.

Location: the most disappointed point. Prior booking online, I called in twice and the receptionist informed me, the hotel is near the train station (and TOOK ONLY 5min walk). It took me 20min and the path is not even the main street. Far and no secured at night.

He also said the train took about 30mins to the city - but oh no, the real time spending is 50mins (and he "forgot" to advise "train frequency - 20min waiting time).

Room: small but clean and cosy. Had a "noisy" neighbor next door but they could not arrange a different room coz the hotel is fully booked (bad luck I guess, no one fault).

Restaurant: didn't try.

Overall, the stay was ok, not that pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HITGM, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Thornleigh, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear Guest,


we appreciate your comments and thank you for taking the time to post them.


Best regards
Carmen Marienberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuncurry, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We didn't have a booking and just stopped on our way off the F3 after a drive from the mid north coast. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful! They made the process of booking quick and easy.

The room was smallish, although bigger than other Ibis's i've stayed. We got a room with 2 single beds. The only thing i'll say about the beds is they moved very easily when you sat or moved around on them. Apart from that they were fine.

The bathroom has a huge step up into it and is very small. There is barely enough room to get dressed, i hit my arm a number of times trying to do this simple task. The room and bathroom size remind me of a formula1 motel.

The food is expensive if you eat there, but then most hotel food is expensive.

Apart from those it was a nice place to stay! We would consider staying again on our next trip down.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pink_sar8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HITGM, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Thornleigh, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to write a review about Hotel Ibis Thornleigh, we appreciate it very much and we will find a solution for the moving beds!

We are looking forward welcoming you again,

Best regards
Carmen Marienberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornleigh
1.2 mi away
Pennant Hills Waldorf Apartment Hotel
4.0 mi away
Meriton Suites North Ryde
3.0 mi away
Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Norwest
Adina Apartment Hotel Norwest
#1 of 2 in Baulkham Hills
788 reviews
6.4 mi away
Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sydney Macquarie Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibis Thornleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Thornleigh

Property: Hotel Ibis Thornleigh
Address: 200 - 212 Pennant Hills Rd, Thornleigh, Hornsby, New South Wales 2120, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Hornsby > Thornleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thornleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Thornleigh 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Sydney Thornleigh is conveniently located in the northwest of Sydney, with easy access to major arterial roads in and out of Sydney. Only 35 minutes from the CBD and close to the train station, the Hotel Sydney Thornleigh is perfect for visiting Sydney whether forbusiness or leisure. The hotel features a bistro restaurant and outdoor parking. Our well appointed rooms include in house movies. Explore the Thornleigh area and Hornsby district, which offers cinemas, restaurants and leafy parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ibis Thornleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Thornleigh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing