We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax at this tranquil haven on the Hawkesbury”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Albans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bandusia Country Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St. Albans
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relax at this tranquil haven on the Hawkesbury”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The location is wonderfully peaceful and remote, despite the proximity to Sydney. Once you cross the Hawkesbury River at Wiseman's Ferry you can already feel yourself relaxing into a slower pace.

On arrival, Geoffrey made sure we felt at home with a roaring fire in the hearth and coffee, cheese and biscuits before serving a home cooked evening meal.

We stayed in the Honeymoon suite for 2 nights and made full use of the suite's wonderful spa bath with bush views.

If you don't mountain bike, horse ride or 4x4 there is still lots to do around St Albans. We did a 2 hour walk up Jack's Track to take in the stunning views from the top of the escarpment, down into the valley below. Afterwards, the Settlers Arms was the perfect spot to enjoy a beer in the spring sunshine.

The owners are building an amazing sustainable garden on the property, and Bandusia would definitely appeal to anyone with green fingers who is looking to get far away from the city on the weekend.

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Suite has an amazing spa with bush views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derekcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We went to the Forgotten Valley for 4WD Driving, got stuck in MacDonald River and after a long day in the wilderness, decided to stay overnight in the Bandusia Country Retreat. The owners were lovely and caring in every possible respect and even took their time the next morning to assist us in pulling the car out of the river. We had an unforgettable chat with them near the log fire and they cooked us a delicious dinner together with cheese and red wine. The room was lovely and the bed very comfortable. We’re very lucky we found this place by coincidence and will certainly come back for hiking or 4WD Driving. Go there people, this place is simply one of a kind. You’ll feel very comfortable in a beautiful luxurious big country style house with owners who treat you amazingly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed there as a bridal party to be held on a friends property nearby. So quiet and tranquil. The pool is a real bonus. No phone reception but it's what you need! Bring a large group of friends and it will feel like your own place when you hang out and play pool.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kalinarabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We took a weekend out of our busy Sydney lives and after a long lazy lunch at the Settlers Arms, St Albans we headed to Bandusia Retreat. The warm welcome we received was the start to a lovely evening by the log fire, with friends and red wine and the boys enjoyed the pool table.
Breakfast was delicious and the surrounds so calm and peaceful.
And the rooms, lovely spacious and very comfortable beds.
We will be back, its a really lovely calm and tranquil spot so close to Sydney.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank EmmaVic77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Felt like visiting a friends place that had a beautiful big house in the country. Even though it rained the whole time, you could do your own thing or hang out in the common areas, by the fire, playing pool or reading in a comfy armchair. Great to have the option of eating in too. Looking forward to heading back and seeing he vegie garden!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robytan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Cannot fault the room, had everything you need and want. Set in beautiful grounds. Didn't use pool or sauna etc as middle of winter but liked the communal space and ability to borrow DVDs and books. The food was excellent and a great idea to be delivered to your room - very cosy. The service was friendly. Would go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabrara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

We needed a relaxing short break away and Bandusia was perfect! Our hostess Kerry delivered our beautiful Friday night tapas, morning breakfasts and Saturday night dinner to our room in an insulated box with a discrete tap on our door. We were so relaxed we could barely bring ourselves to venture out to the Settlers Arms hotel at St Albans for lunch on Saturday before returning to our cosy room for more relaxing. Our room had an enormous bathroom with spa set into the floor, with views to surrounding bush to enjoy while relaxing and bathing. Little notes in our room and reception drew our attention to the owners views on responsibility for the welfare of anilmals that produce our food, and to sourcing food from farms that took animal welfare seriously. I highly recommend Bandusia.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emdeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Albans
7.5 mi away
Retreat at Wisemans
Retreat at Wisemans
#1 of 2 in Wisemans Ferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
1.6 mi away
Yanada
Yanada
#2 of 3 in St. Albans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
8.4 mi away
Del Rio Riverside Resort
Del Rio Riverside Resort
#1 of 4 in Wisemans Ferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Ferndale Retreat
Ferndale Retreat
#2 of 3 in Lower Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
1.8 mi away
St. Josephs Guest House
St. Josephs Guest House
#3 of 3 in St. Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bandusia Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bandusia Country Retreat

Property: Bandusia Country Retreat
Address: 1055 Upper MacDonald Road, St. Albans, New South Wales 2775, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Hawkesbury Valley > St. Albans
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St. Albans
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing