We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Anniverary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center
Ranked #1 of 3 Monteagle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our nineth wedding anniversary at Monteagle Inn. We wished we could have stayed longer. Peace and quiet, the perfect setting. We had an rear door with access to the patio with our own patio furniture. Perfect for your morning coffee and read in a comfortable robe. The breakfast was delicious. Well done!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonteagleInnAdvisor, Owner at Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to have you spend your anniversary with us and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
There are newer reviews for Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 146 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

We just returned home from another perfect escape at Monteagle Inn. We have stayed at the Inn many times and always feel renewed after our visits here. The gardens, patio, and porch are wonderful places to relax, read, chat, or even nap enjoying the mountain breeze. Yes, there is a breeze on the mountain this summer while other parts of TN are sweltering. The beautiful gathering room inside offers another option for total escapism with a vast selection of books and magazines and lovely pieces of art to admire. This trip we ate our delicious breakfast on the patio surrounded by the gorgeous cobalt blue containers filled with an abundance of colorful blooms. The gracious and welcoming owners and staff consistently go out of their way to ensure that our stay is a top notch experience. We always leave wishing we could have stayed a bit longer. Thank you Monteagle Inn friends for providing us with another much needed and enjoyable escape to your beautiful and tranquil oasis. We're already looking forward to our next visit.

William and Carol
Hendersonville

Room Tip: ATTENTION--There is no pool and for some reason after checking this in error, we could not remove it...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toujours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We decided to splurge for a one-night getaway from our teenagers. The Monteagle Inn is a nice Inn/B&B. The gentleman who greeted us (Mark?) was very cordial and provided us with an indoor and outdoor tour of the premises. The community living room was quite large with four distinct, large sitting areas, and was very comfortable and relaxing. Our room and all of the Inn's facilities were clean and well-kept. Our room (Foster Falls, Room #1) was nice, of adequate size, and had a larger than usual bathroom. Temperature control worked perfectly during the unusual heat wave we were experiencing this summer. The innkeepers seem to have an affinity for Italy and for wine, as there were an abundance of Italian paintings throughout the inn, and they had a very extensive wine list.

Breakfast was okay, but nothing to write home about. I guess you would call it a gourmet breakfast, but then again I am a standard "bacon, eggs & biscuits" kind of guy, so you need to consider the source when evaluating my review. The Inn had a good variety of breakfast items (cereals, oatmeal, bagels, toast, muffins, fresh fruit, etc...), and they served frittatas as the main breakfast item. However, after asking for the mushrooms, tomatoes, peppers, and onions to be left off, I was basically left with a cheese omelette. Again, I'm a bacon & eggs kind of guy.

The only other two things that took away from a perfect experience were pillows that were too thin, and some outside road noise through the night. We were able to stack two pillows in an attempt to make for a thicker pillow, but it still left us wanting. The Inn sits beside a major highway, so there were a handful of times through the night when truck noise was heard, and there is an adjacent market where you could hear car doors and related noise into the evening.

Monteagle Inn is a little more upscale and "frou-frou" than a redneck like me is accustomed to, but overall, it was a relaxing evening and morning away from our teenagers, which was the goal in the first place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiddleTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had a dinner for 65 to 70 people at the Monteagle Inn last Thursday evening. It was a perfect setting, with the front porch, dining room, and back courtyard flowing one into the other. Lee and Jim Harmon are very gracious and took care of every detail. The Inn is charming and welcoming, just as their website promises. The food was delicious, well-suited for this event, and plentiful. We relied on Lee's direction in many areas, and she and Jim handled all parts of this dinner with no conflicts that we could detect. The staff was extremely considerate and capable. The bar was set up in the courtyard, where there were dining tables as well. Each guest had a place to sit, with tables inside and out, which made for wonderful conversations. We could not have been more pleased with the Monteagle Inn and I would recommend it for any event. My son and daughter-in-law also spent a night there and truly enjoyed their comfortable, beautiful room and an omelette breakfast on Sunday morning. We look forward to staying there again when in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonteagleInnAdvisor, Owner at Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

We very much enjoyed hosting your special event! What a delight to meet all your guests. Hopefully your travels will find you back in Monteagle. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Lee and Jim Harmon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

the monteagle nn was so comfortable and spotlessly clean!! Well thought out for your creature comforts. The managment goes out of its way to accommodate even your smallest needs....there is an ironing station for last minute touch ups and always coffee, tea and snacks for mid afternoon or late night munchies would highly recommend for my family and friends

Room Tip: there are rooms available with more than one bed if traveling with children or nanny etc
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonteagleInnAdvisor, Owner at Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

We are so glad you had the opportunity to stay with us. Thank you for the kind words. Hopefully we will see you back soon, with Nashville being only 90 miles from us. Warm Regards, Lee and Jim Harmon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Wonderful place to spend your anniversary. Cozy and spacious, and the food is amazing!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HGISalesManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We chose this inn for a two day stay on our little get a way trip and were delighted. The access to Suwanee, Monteagle Assembly, and hiking we're perfect. Staff were all welcoming an friendly. Went out of their way to help. Loved the carefully cared for grounds and gardens. Loved the porches and various sitting nooks. Just a relaxing place to be.

Yes, the location is not perfect but don't be put off as the attributes of the inn and grounds overwhelm any possible problems from the highway.

We would seek out and stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mac3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteagle
0.9 mi away
The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
4.8 mi away
The Sewanee Inn
The Sewanee Inn
#1 of 1 in Sewanee
644 reviews
0.7 mi away
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
#1 of 6 in Monteagle
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Motel 6 Monteagle
Motel 6 Monteagle
#5 of 6 in Monteagle
40 reviews
16.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kimball
Hampton Inn Kimball
#1 of 5 in Kimball
387 reviews
15.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kimball
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center

Address: 204 W Main St, Monteagle, TN 37356-3037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Monteagle
Price Range: $160 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center provides the perfect escape you need. Relax and discover the peace you had nearly forgotten. Surround yourself in our luxury and hospitality. Mediterranean atmosphere, paintings & colors envelope you. Sit in a rocker on the front porch with a hot cup of specialty coffee or a glass of wine or maybe relax in one of our restful hammocks. Expansive flower, herb and vegetable gardens beckon you to wander and enjoy the kaleidoscope of colors and fragrances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteagle Inn And Retreat Center
Monteagle Inn & Retreat Hotel Monteagle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing