We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monteagle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center
Ranked #1 of 3 Monteagle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our wedding anniversary in June. The owners went above and beyond to make it work with our schedule. The room was nicely appointed, the staff extremely friendly, and the breakfast was incredible. They even sent us home with fresh vegetables from their garden. I highly recommend this to anyone wanting to stay up on the mountain.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NashvilleTNtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    14
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
72
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

Had reservation at the Edgeworth Inn across street. Found facilities at Edgeworth to be substandard. Went without reservation to Monteagle Inn and found very nice facilities and staff, especially Jim, the owner. Clean, quiet, nice wine selection, good breakfast, very concerned and courteous service. Would definitely stay there again if in area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjm35645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

The Inn and grounds are absolutely beautiful. We felt so comfortable and relaxed during our stay. The breakfast was delicious with many options for those with restrictive diets. The first night we were so taken with the Inn that we decided to stay in and share a fruit and cheese plate and a bottle of wine. The living room offers many sitting areas so you can find your own little spot or join in with other guests.

We are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VeroToAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompsons Station, TN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

I highly recommend hosting your next company retreat/gathering at Monteagle Inn.
The service is exceptional, the food is delicious, and the accommodations are perfect in every way. Our 12 executives were so comfortable and relaxed, and requested a return visit.
Hosts Jim and Lee catered to our every need, and could not have been more delightful.
What a gem, and so close to Franklin!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Rucker, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

This is a wonderful B&B. Quiet, peaceful, beautiful, and accommodating. My husband and I stayed here for two nights after our wedding. We in our mid 20's and loved it! We weren't able to take a week long honeymoon right away because of work. As a result, this was the perfect location to stay for two nights! We chose to stay in the "bridal veil" room! It was wonderful! Nice bathroom and I believe our room was one of the only rooms with a TV. Wonderful king bed and my husband kept talking about the towels because they were great too. This place doesn't miss any sort of details. Breakfast is from 8 to 9am. We missed breakfast by a few minutes so my husband went downstairs to see if there was anymore food left. They delightfully said yes and made him a tray to take upstairs to me! Its small things like that in which make is place great! There is a room that has cokes, cookies, coffee etc. for anytime of the day or night. The only thing about this B&B that surprised me was that the Inn was right off the main road. I don't know what we were expecting but I guess I want expecting it to be right off the main road in Monteagle.

The town itself is very small but we found a near by trail and waterfalls! There are numerous trail options but we decided on a the 3 mile, 2 waterfall trail called the fiery gizzard. It was beautiful and wasn't strenuous. Perfect for an afternoon activity.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgolsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

My family and I stayed at the Monteagle Inn for attending a wedding held at Sewanee. The Inn was kept exceptionally clean and was very quiet. There is an incredible WINE CELLAR on location with reasonably priced wines. The outdoor gardens, courtyard, and hammocks were a great place to relax. The rooms were quiet and the beds were comfortable. The food was very good--------but my only critique is that you have to be there between 8 am and 8:50 am. The guest refreshment area is quite a treat. My only other critique is WATER PRESSURE (lack thereof) which I understand is a problem in the entire Sewanee/Monteagle area. However, the quality and service at the inn more than makes up for it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrMikePensacola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

Boy did we choose well. Our daughter was staying on a college "overnight visit" nearby and we wanted soemthing more than a hotel. This is the first time we stayed at a B&B and Jim's place is top notch. Beautiful place, GREAT food, hot bath and a cozy warm fire as we watched the Packers win the Super Bowl on their big screen. So many wonderfule things to say.

They gave us a great referral for dinner and that too was magnificent. The only problem know is my wife wants to do this more often!! She of course curled up on one of the many couches in a warm blanket and proceded to fall asleep for a quick two hour power nap during the game.....she said it was the best couch she ever slept on too. :-)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woody2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteagle
0.8 mi away
The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
4.8 mi away
The Sewanee Inn
The Sewanee Inn
#1 of 1 in Sewanee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.6 mi away
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
#1 of 6 in Monteagle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
1.1 mi away
Motel 6 Monteagle
Motel 6 Monteagle
#5 of 6 in Monteagle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
14.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn
BEST WESTERN Inn
#1 of 1 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center

Property: Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center
Address: 204 West Main Street, Monteagle, TN 37356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Monteagle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center provides the perfect escape you need. Relax and discover the peace you had nearly forgotten. Surround yourself in our luxury and hospitality. Mediterranean atmosphere, paintings & colors envelope you. Sit in a rocker on the front porch with a hot cup of specialty coffee or a glass of wine or maybe relax in one of our restful hammocks. Expansive flower, herb and vegetable gardens beckon you to wander and enjoy the kaleidoscope of colors and fragrances. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monteagle Inn And Retreat Center
Monteagle Inn & Retreat Hotel Monteagle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing