We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center
Ranked #1 of 3 Monteagle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceeded our Expectations”
Reviewed July 8, 2011

The Inn and grounds are absolutely beautiful. We felt so comfortable and relaxed during our stay. The breakfast was delicious with many options for those with restrictive diets. The first night we were so taken with the Inn that we decided to stay in and share a fruit and cheese plate and a bottle of wine. The living room offers many sitting areas so you can find your own little spot or join in with other guests.

We are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeroToAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    14
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
74
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thompsons Station, TN
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

I highly recommend hosting your next company retreat/gathering at Monteagle Inn.
The service is exceptional, the food is delicious, and the accommodations are perfect in every way. Our 12 executives were so comfortable and relaxed, and requested a return visit.
Hosts Jim and Lee catered to our every need, and could not have been more delightful.
What a gem, and so close to Franklin!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Rucker, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2011

This is a wonderful B&B. Quiet, peaceful, beautiful, and accommodating. My husband and I stayed here for two nights after our wedding. We in our mid 20's and loved it! We weren't able to take a week long honeymoon right away because of work. As a result, this was the perfect location to stay for two nights! We chose to stay in the "bridal veil" room! It was wonderful! Nice bathroom and I believe our room was one of the only rooms with a TV. Wonderful king bed and my husband kept talking about the towels because they were great too. This place doesn't miss any sort of details. Breakfast is from 8 to 9am. We missed breakfast by a few minutes so my husband went downstairs to see if there was anymore food left. They delightfully said yes and made him a tray to take upstairs to me! Its small things like that in which make is place great! There is a room that has cokes, cookies, coffee etc. for anytime of the day or night. The only thing about this B&B that surprised me was that the Inn was right off the main road. I don't know what we were expecting but I guess I want expecting it to be right off the main road in Monteagle.

The town itself is very small but we found a near by trail and waterfalls! There are numerous trail options but we decided on a the 3 mile, 2 waterfall trail called the fiery gizzard. It was beautiful and wasn't strenuous. Perfect for an afternoon activity.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgolsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

My family and I stayed at the Monteagle Inn for attending a wedding held at Sewanee. The Inn was kept exceptionally clean and was very quiet. There is an incredible WINE CELLAR on location with reasonably priced wines. The outdoor gardens, courtyard, and hammocks were a great place to relax. The rooms were quiet and the beds were comfortable. The food was very good--------but my only critique is that you have to be there between 8 am and 8:50 am. The guest refreshment area is quite a treat. My only other critique is WATER PRESSURE (lack thereof) which I understand is a problem in the entire Sewanee/Monteagle area. However, the quality and service at the inn more than makes up for it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrMikePensacola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Boy did we choose well. Our daughter was staying on a college "overnight visit" nearby and we wanted soemthing more than a hotel. This is the first time we stayed at a B&B and Jim's place is top notch. Beautiful place, GREAT food, hot bath and a cozy warm fire as we watched the Packers win the Super Bowl on their big screen. So many wonderfule things to say.

They gave us a great referral for dinner and that too was magnificent. The only problem know is my wife wants to do this more often!! She of course curled up on one of the many couches in a warm blanket and proceded to fall asleep for a quick two hour power nap during the game.....she said it was the best couch she ever slept on too. :-)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woody2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2011

In my 15 years of sales meetings with colleagues (and we've stayed everywhere from Ritz Carlton properties to Hiltons & Marriotts) we have never felt more AT HOME and relaxed as our fall meeting that was held at the Monteagle Inn......the level of personal attention was unsurpassed.....I arrived early the evening before our meeting started with one of my colleagues and we were instantly greeted by Jim and Lee who made us feel at home from the start - like we were visiting dear friends.....we were able to relax in the morning with a cup of coffee in their dining room and started our day with a fabulous gourmet breakfast......we had noticed the lush herb gardens on the grounds, but never imagined that we'd be enjoying those herbs in each in every one of our delicious meals....no detail was overlooked....we even had a colleague that had some sudden dietary restrictions and Lee saw to it that her needs were quickly accomodated......the sheets are the beds were so wonderful that 4 of us ordered sets for our own homes! We were lucky enough to have rented the whole inn for our event and I HIGHLY recommend it for you group.....you will be thrilled.....all of our needs were anticipated and expectations were exceeded in every way.....each and every member of our sales team agreed that this meeting was the best we'd ever had, and cannot wait to go back! This jewel is NOT to be missed if you have to chance to visit!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monicashell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

We recently stayed at the Monteagle Inn for a weekend getaway from Nashville. The location was very convenient for us. Although it is not on the most picturesque street, the inn itself is beautiful and an inviting oasis away from everyday life. Our room was upgraded due to a slow weekend. The room was lovely and well-appointed with fabulous 600-thread count bedding. There were extensive common areas with seating from relaxing by the fireplace to reading a book on the porch (with reading lights!). There were multiple seating options in the dining room. Breakfast was delicious and filling, and we were offered seconds. We also partook of a wine dinner while there. The five-course dinner was wonderful, and the wine tasting was very educational. Additionally, there was an extensive wine cellar on site offering reasonably priced selections. The inn was within walking distance of a great local restaurant, Modern Dave's. It was also a great home base for lots of local day hikes in South Cumberland State Park. The staff was very gracious and accommodating, especially Jim Harmon who was extremely helpful in suggesting wine selections. It was a wonderful weekend away, and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corgibutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteagle
0.9 mi away
The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
4.8 mi away
The Sewanee Inn
The Sewanee Inn
#1 of 1 in Sewanee
642 reviews
0.7 mi away
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
#1 of 6 in Monteagle
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kimball
Hampton Inn Kimball
#1 of 5 in Kimball
382 reviews
15.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kimball
1.1 mi away
Motel 6 Monteagle
Motel 6 Monteagle
#5 of 6 in Monteagle
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center

Property: Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center
Address: 204 W Main St, Monteagle, TN 37356-3037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Monteagle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center provides the perfect escape you need. Relax and discover the peace you had nearly forgotten. Surround yourself in our luxury and hospitality. Mediterranean atmosphere, paintings & colors envelope you. Sit in a rocker on the front porch with a hot cup of specialty coffee or a glass of wine or maybe relax in one of our restful hammocks. Expansive flower, herb and vegetable gardens beckon you to wander and enjoy the kaleidoscope of colors and fragrances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteagle Inn And Retreat Center
Monteagle Inn & Retreat Hotel Monteagle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing