We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make the stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Pleasant surprise at the "top of the mountain". Large rooms, nicely furnished, very comfortable beds. Attached SmokeHouse restaurant had excellent BBQ, nice buffet. Live local music. Staff was great... that warm, friendly, "down home" welcome you'll only find in Tennessee, USA.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank whistleguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Thank you so much for your review, we appriciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 559 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2014

Checked in a 3:45 pm. No towels in room - actually, a couple of left over towels (assume clean?) from the last guest. I mean 1 bath towel and 1 wash cloth was it (for 2 adults). Called from desk. They were OUT/apparently full house night before (lots of excuses but no towels). Left, did some errands, 1-1/2 hours later, still no towels. Two more trips to the office to finally get towels. (And another trip because the door card quit working.) That night, 10:30 p.m. turned in for the night - guess what? DAMP SHEETS!!! Apparently, a problem with laundry. It was COMPLETELY DISGUSTING. I slept on top of the towels (that I finally stood in the office and waited to receive). The hotel is being remodeled. No chain or slide lock on the interior door (so if you are inside, the staff can still come on in with a key...). The room was decent and appeared to be clean - so no issues there but it was SO noisy. There is a laminated floor and apparently the person above me paced, clomped and dropped things - literally all night long (12, 1, 2, 3 - yes all night). There was a glass plate of chicken bones and a take out cup on one of the railings outside that was there when we arrived, and no one cleaned it up (still there when we left the next day). I'm still at a loss over the towels and sheets. Even if a hotel is full, there's no way that every towel in the place (do they not have any extras?) could be dirty at the same time. I assume they rushed through the sheets (why they were still damp to get to the towels). We were on the front side of the hotel (don't do it). The back side looked nicer and seemed to have a bit of a view. But, unless there is a major announcement of a management change, I will never stay there again. I've never been happier to leave a hotel. And, when I checked out, the staff never asked about my stay (though they did ask another person who checked out at the same time). I guess with my three appearances in the lobby the day before, they already knew my answer, however, I sure would have liked to tell them about those funky sheets! But, I guess that's what Trip Advisor is all about. I'm very sure they will provide a rebuttal, but please read "EXCUSES" into what they say. There is NO excuse for this other than they need a staff/management change. Don't do it people. There are other hotels in there area - check them out.

Room Tip: Don't do it! But, if you choose not to listen, then stay in the back side or one of the newer ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank TravelingFromTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

You are right, there is no excuse for most of these problems, we dropped the ball and our management did not follow up checking the room as should be, and the laundry should have had the laundry done, period. We have plenty of linens, but evidently they didn't follow up on their job. We are very sorry for your experience and are following up on correcting these issues. Thanks for your review and comments, it's customers like you that help us to make correctioins and make for a better property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We had a small gathering of buddies on the mountain and quite enjoyed the rooms and back porch at the Best Western. They had very comfy 2-person gliders looking over the beautiful property and we had a great visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Henry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thank you so much for your comments, we appriciate your review and your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Don't let the beautiful surroundings or inflated room prices fool you. If you stay here, then you're apt to have a really bad experience, we did for sure. The room looked really nice with its hardwood floors. That should have been an omen to us, because the upstairs has hardwood floors too. Igor above us must have worn spiked shoes as he traversed his room every 90 seconds until about 2:00 AM the first night. The air conditioning made huge noises every time it turned on or off. It also spewed huge amounts of moisture into the room, leaving a musky smell in the room. Lysol spray couldn't overcome the smell. The wet air ended up giving me a cold, and I'm ill even as I write this review. The Smokehouse Restaurant's signature food wasn't very good. I got pulled pork, and it looked like it had been put into a blender and chewed up. It had almost no smoked flavor. I suspect the blender might have contributed to that. I sent it back, regretfully because I enjoy pulled pork that's properly cooked over wood.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
6  Thank Gerald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thank you Gerald for your comments and review, we apologize for your less than desirable experiences. We are working on making major renovation changes to the whole property and hope to correct many of these issues you brought up. In the restaurant you did the right thing by sending it back, we do not expect anyone to consume food thay are not satisfied with. We have good food, sometimes it needs to be refreshed or discarded, and obviously someone dropped the ball on your order. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed here when our son came to accepted students and also when we dropped him off at college as a freshman. He loves the Smokehouse Restaurant -- and the big portions! The hotel is very convenient -- only 5 miles from Sewanee, with lots of parking. It is the hotel we always stay at when visiting the college. However, this time the in-room wifi didn't work, and it's somewhat inconvenient that they don't offer breakfast in the restaurant and they were doing a lot of construction which lent the hotel a messy look.. The hotel is very reasonably priced and nice and quiet, offering a good sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank havepassportready2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thank you, we appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

The maid try to steal my iPad had to call police and it was found in between the mattresses ! The police said it never left the room so it wasn't theft and we could have put it there! REALLY DONT STAY Best western is apparently not always the best. Be very aware of this place. Corporate said they would do an investigation and weeks later I still have not been contacted!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

We have investigated this incident and found no wrong doing here. We have already addressed this comment in previous responses. The suspicisions about the maid are not valid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

All of the staff were so kind and helpful really couldn't have asked for better . The room appeared clean until I had to wipe up some water from the floor holy molly your white towel from bathroom turned black ! I am not over stating this, it was completely filthy black! It really was a shame, up until that point everything seemed well cared for and clean. I understand the need in having dark wood floors placed in the rooms but seriously mop your floors daily . The only reason I am giving 2 stars is the filth of those floors . Everything else was great .

Room Tip: check for clean floors. oh and also no elevators so if you need a main floor request such when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rain6171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thank you for your comments and review. I will check into this issue and find out why you experienced this problem. We appreciate your comments, they help us improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteagle
3.9 mi away
The Sewanee Inn
The Sewanee Inn
#1 of 1 in Sewanee
666 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
#1 of 6 in Monteagle
513 reviews
1.7 mi away
Motel 6 Monteagle
Motel 6 Monteagle
#5 of 6 in Monteagle
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#1 of 1 in Winchester
205 reviews
18.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 17 in Manchester
290 reviews
19.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins

Address: 850 W Main St, P.O. Box 579, Monteagle, TN 37356-7027 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Price Range: $55 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Vintage Nostalgic Authentic Since 1960, 80 miles SE of Nashville - 40 miles NW of Chattanooga Interstate 24 Exit 134. Recent renovation to all rooms and the property. The Lodge has 80 rooms, 21 cabins featuring 1,2, 3 BR cabins; full kitchens Jacuzzi Tubs Fireplaces. Indoor meeting facilities up to 160, outdoor pavilion seating 150, 20 acres of outdoor activities. Restaurant features authentic Smoked Meats Ribs Brisket Chicken Full Menu from $2 to $18, sandwiches sides dinners & large Buffet, fresh salad bar, homemade stew, skillet cornbread and bread pudding; locally grown foods. Breakfast Lunch Dinner Open Everyday 6:30AM - 9:00PM, till 10:00PM Fri & Sat. Live Singer/Songwriter Music Friday and Saturday nights. Huge Old General Store Gift shop. Bonnaroo River Bend Chattanooga Manchester South Pittsburg Monteagle Arts & Crafts Festival, Beersheba Crafts Festival, South Cumberland State Park, Fall Creek Falls, Bluegrass Underground, Sewanee, Tim's Ford, Nickajack, The Caverns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Smokehouse Hotel Monteagle
Monteagle Smokehouse Lodge Hotel
Monteagle Best Western
Best Western Monteagle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing