We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
Nearby Hotels
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 - Monteagle TN(Monteagle)(Great Value!)
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain Inn(Monteagle)
$60
$50
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Inn(Winchester)(Great Value!)
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (580)
Filter reviews
580 results
Traveler rating
210
148
89
70
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
210
148
89
70
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmokehouse restaurantbbq saucejacuzzi tubhardwood floorscable tvrocking chairsclean roomscracker barrelbedroom cabinstaff was friendlyfireplacetennesseeuniversitypetaccommodationsinterstateexit
Filter
Updating list...
366 - 371 of 580 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We rented a cabin as all the hotel rooms were full. Thank Goodness! The cabin was Awesome! Fireplace...Hot Tub...lots of room. Our dog was very happy too...walked right out the door to her grassy paradise. Would totally recommend this place to everyone! The staff was do friendly & helpful...can't say enough good about this place.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pcn46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for your review. Yes, the cabins are pretty awesome; too bad you weren't here 3 weeks ago, we had a winter wonderland with trees frosted over and 3" of snow on the ground, it too was beautiful. We are looking forward to spring, blooming flowers, and trees full of leaves, and the warmer weather that goes with it all. Come see us again soon. JD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Friendly staff, great rooms, great location. Overall, great experience. Accommodated to my family and pets needs. Restaurant has great food and a down to earth store that the whole family enjoyed. The winery is conveniently located right across the street. I will continue to stay with this Best Western due to the pleasant experiences I've encountered each and every time I've stayed at this location.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you so much Jennifer, we appreciate feed back and will be looking forward your next visit. JD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Lobby was dingy, depressing and smelled musty. Motel style rooms made it sound as if everyone entering an adjacent room was trying to come into your room. Car doors slamming at night right outside your room was disconcerting. Rooms were slightly better than lobby, but floors were filthy (thank God for Clorox wipes). Rooms were basically clean, but very small and bathrooms hardly had room to turn around in. Towels were so thin and small you might as well not had one. Beds were iffy at best and we slept with one eye open in case of intruders (human or otherwise). Aside from all the bashing of the room quality, the staff was very friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thank you for your comments. We apologize for the things you mentioned in your review. Want to let you know that we are under renovation of the whole property. New flooring, all the beds and linens are new, new TV's in every room. We are expanding the bath rooms, repainting, some of the problems you mentioned are related to exterior entrance to rooms. you may call me for any comments and discussion at 800-488-2091. We'd be glad to refund you what you think is fair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

The rooms are nice enough, although it should be noted that they are the sort of rooms I associate with a 1960s-1970s Motor Inn--the doors open directly to the outside. Check the security of your room--the first room I occupied had non-functioning door locks, and I had to move to another room. The restaurant food is good, but be sure to check the prices every day--the food bar prices were considerably higher Saturday/Sunday than they were Monday through Friday, even though the food selection was identical.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Debbie King S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with our door locks during your stay; this is a isolated incident, and not the norm. We have ordered enough door locks to completely replace all guest room locks on the property, and eliminate any problems with door locks.

As for the buffet prices, we do offer more meats and other choices on weekends, and charge a higher price than the week when business is slower. All restaurants have specials during slow times; our special is the buffet during weekdays, we charge a lower price than the weekends. Any questions you may have on these issues, you are welcome to call me at 800-489-2091 to discuss.

Call 800-489-2091.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Great Value, HELPFUL STAFF on the Plateau... When traveling the I-24 route the Smokehouse in Monteagle is a good safe place to stay. Great music on the weekends and the staff is extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you so much for taking time to submit your review. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return soon. We'll be doing the live music every Friday and Saturday nights.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews