We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great..Relaxing night!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
1 review
“Great..Relaxing night!”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We rented a cabin as all the hotel rooms were full. Thank Goodness! The cabin was Awesome! Fireplace...Hot Tub...lots of room. Our dog was very happy too...walked right out the door to her grassy paradise. Would totally recommend this place to everyone! The staff was do friendly & helpful...can't say enough good about this place.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pcn46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. Yes, the cabins are pretty awesome; too bad you weren't here 3 weeks ago, we had a winter wonderland with trees frosted over and 3" of snow on the ground, it too was beautiful. We are looking forward to spring, blooming flowers, and trees full of leaves, and the warmer weather that goes with it all. Come see us again soon. JD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    131
    79
    68
    59
See reviews for
167
168
31
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Friendly staff, great rooms, great location. Overall, great experience. Accommodated to my family and pets needs. Restaurant has great food and a down to earth store that the whole family enjoyed. The winery is conveniently located right across the street. I will continue to stay with this Best Western due to the pleasant experiences I've encountered each and every time I've stayed at this location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you so much Jennifer, we appreciate feed back and will be looking forward your next visit. JD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Lobby was dingy, depressing and smelled musty. Motel style rooms made it sound as if everyone entering an adjacent room was trying to come into your room. Car doors slamming at night right outside your room was disconcerting. Rooms were slightly better than lobby, but floors were filthy (thank God for Clorox wipes). Rooms were basically clean, but very small and bathrooms hardly had room to turn around in. Towels were so thin and small you might as well not had one. Beds were iffy at best and we slept with one eye open in case of intruders (human or otherwise). Aside from all the bashing of the room quality, the staff was very friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We apologize for the things you mentioned in your review. Want to let you know that we are under renovation of the whole property. New flooring, all the beds and linens are new, new TV's in every room. We are expanding the bath rooms, repainting, some of the problems you mentioned are related to exterior entrance to rooms. you may call me for any comments and discussion at 800-488-2091. We'd be glad to refund you what you think is fair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monteagle hotels

Chattanooga, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2014

The rooms are nice enough, although it should be noted that they are the sort of rooms I associate with a 1960s-1970s Motor Inn--the doors open directly to the outside. Check the security of your room--the first room I occupied had non-functioning door locks, and I had to move to another room. The restaurant food is good, but be sure to check the prices every day--the food bar prices were considerably higher Saturday/Sunday than they were Monday through Friday, even though the food selection was identical.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Debbie King S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with our door locks during your stay; this is a isolated incident, and not the norm. We have ordered enough door locks to completely replace all guest room locks on the property, and eliminate any problems with door locks.

As for the buffet prices, we do offer more meats and other choices on weekends, and charge a higher price than the week when business is slower. All restaurants have specials during slow times; our special is the buffet during weekdays, we charge a lower price than the weekends. Any questions you may have on these issues, you are welcome to call me at 800-489-2091 to discuss.

Call 800-489-2091.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Great Value, HELPFUL STAFF on the Plateau... When traveling the I-24 route the Smokehouse in Monteagle is a good safe place to stay. Great music on the weekends and the staff is extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to submit your review. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return soon. We'll be doing the live music every Friday and Saturday nights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I loved the rustic atmosphere. The lobby had a roaring fireplace and comfortable furniture. Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The Smokehouse smelled wonderful, and the food was great. After driving all day, it was nice to have room service. The smoked turkey was delicious. I would recommend this lodge to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to submit your review. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return soon. We'll keep the fire burning in the lobby!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

this hotel offers romantic cabins and are sure to give you the privacy you are seeking. There are many deer and othe wildlife in the surrounding woods. A hot tub and a large fireplace make for a very romantic setting. You will not be disappointed here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank dpseever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Always great to hear good comments about our property, we really have something unique here, quite a bit different from anything else on the highway, we're more like a state resort park, but a family business. Please stop in and see us whenever you are traveling over Monteagle Mountain. Thank you so much for taking time to submit your review. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return soon. We'll be doing the live music every Friday and Saturday nights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteagle
4.0 mi away
The Sewanee Inn
The Sewanee Inn
#1 of 1 in Sewanee
634 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
#1 of 6 in Monteagle
463 reviews
1.6 mi away
Motel 6 Monteagle
Motel 6 Monteagle
#5 of 6 in Monteagle
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
No photo provided
Hampton Inn Kimball
#1 of 5 in Kimball
378 reviews
19.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manchester
16.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kimball
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins

Property: The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
Address: 850 W Main St, P.O. Box 579, Monteagle, TN 37356-7027 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than your typical roadside motel, the World Famous Smoke House gives you more for your money. Since 1960 the Oliver family has been serving folks traveling over Monteagle Mountain; located just 300 yards off I-24 at Exit 134, 80 miles SE of Nashville, and 40 miles NW of Chattanooga. Still owned and operated by the Oliver family. Just recently completed a $2,000,000 renovation to all rooms and the property. The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins offers a variety of lodging accommodations for a one night stay as well as vacation getaways, family reunions, and meeting facilities. The Lodge has 80 rooms featuring King and Queen Beds, 21 cabins featuring one bed room cabins, two bed room, and a cabin with 6 king and queen beds, plus fold out couches. Most cabins have full kitchen facilities, Jacuzzi Tubs, Fireplaces, porches, leather sofas, all linens and kitchen cookware are provided by the Smoke House. Meeting facilities include conference facility up to 250 seats, outdoor covered shed seating 150, the Log Cabin Chapel seating 70, the Big Family Cabin seating 50, and over 20 acres of campus for a variety of outdoor activities. The Restaurant features its world famous Smoked Meats such as Pork Ribs, Beef Brisket, Pulled Pork Shoulder, Country Ham, Honey Baked Ham, and the largest selection of BBQ Sauces, Hot Sauces, Vinegars, Jams, Pickles, and Toppings you'll find anywhere. Full Menu from $2 to $18, large Buffet with hot vegetables, casseroles, and choice of meats, large fresh salad bar, homemade vegetable-beef stew, skillet cornbread and skillet bread pudding. Featuring fresh produce from local farmers in all the menu items and salad bar. Serving Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner; Open Everyday 6:30AM - 9:00PM, till 10:00PM Friday and Saturday. Live Singer/Songwriter Music every Friday and Saturday night starting at 7PM to 10PM, featuring a main act first, and a Songwriter Round of playing for the second act. Music features Blues, Country, Pop, Jazz, Bluegrass, and soft rock; solo, duos, and groups. The Trading Post Old General Store is a place you could spend the whole day looking around. Homemade candy, fried pies, Fudge, Ice Cream, Smoke House BBQ Sauces, Rubs, Hot sauces, Jams, Honey, Pickles, Antiques, 40 flavors of Glass Bottled Soft Drinks, Local Crafts, Old Country Store Merchantile Artifacts, Moonshine Still Exhibit area, and the Louvin Brothers Country Music Museum. A convenient place to stay for many area festivals and attractions. Bonnaroo Music Festival, River Bend Music Festival, Corn Bread Festival, Monteagle Arts & Crafts Festival, Beersheba Arts and Crafts Festival, South Cumberland State Park, Russel Cave National Monument, Sewanee Summer Music Festival, All Saints Festival of Lessons and Carrols, Tims Ford Lake, Nickajack Lake, Tennessee River, Tennessee Aquarium, The Discovery Museum, Chattanooga, Lookout Mountain, Country Music Association Fan Fair Nashville, Thunder on the Rock, the Collins River, the Elk River, University of the South Sewanee, Saint Andrews - Sewanee School. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Smokehouse Hotel Monteagle
Monteagle Smokehouse Lodge Hotel
Monteagle Best Western
Best Western Monteagle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing