We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic atmosphere and friendly service make Smokehouse Lodge a pleasant destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Monteagle, Tennessee, just a few miles from The University of the South, Sewanee, makes it the go to hotel when visiting the university. Rustic decor, a decent restaurant and bar (with a kitschy gift/food shoppe with one-of-a-kind items) and friendly staff make it a pleasant place to stay. Nothing fancy, but clean and well-maintained. We have stayed there at least three times in the past year, with no complaints.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank DavidRorick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

THANK YOU SO MUCH! Your comments will certainly be passed on to the staff who served you. We appreciate your business and hope you will continue to come up and visit us when you have time to come to the mountain. JD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 563 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

Seems like you are paying tourist prices for everything in the restaurant, but not sure why...is Monteagle really a tourist destination? For us it was just a convenient stop between Nashville and Chattanooga. Both of which offer better accommodations for the same price. Hotel rooms were fine, although our door lock didn't work correctly, and the shower head was fixed at my chin level (probably about 5'4" and taller wouldn't fit under the shower head). Water pressure is low. We got one of the "renovated" rooms, and I wouldn't want to stay in the not renovated ones. The cabins may be nice, I don't know. Service at the desk was fine, but we are extremely low maintenance customers. Probably 20 words exchanged with staff during our visit. Our bed was comfy, although the comforter was scratchy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Ven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you for your comments, we take pride in our facility and our service. Lots of good things going on at the property in the way of improvements inside and out. Being in business since 1960 has it's pluses and minuses. Good thing is that we have thousands of repeat customers who just love our style of business and keep coming back again and again. Bad thing about a vintage property is that we always have plenty of maintenance to do since our buildings are wood, and not a nondiscript box of concrete/plastic/and glass like most of the motels along the highway. Come back and see what we've done; and try out one of the cabins, you'll love them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Best total value we've encountered in years if you like upscale unexpected value combined with down home facilities, screened porches with rocking chairs, full kitchen and abundant wood for wood burning fireplaces. Go during winter months to enjoy extensive hiking and a European Cathedral at nearby Sewanee University. Overall a pleasant surrealistic anachronism.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you William, we are most grateful for your comments, thank you so much. I see you tried one of our rustic mountain cabins with fireplace and hot tub! Come back and see us soon, hiking season is upon us now!!!JD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This Smokehouse Lodge was the coolest "hotel" we have ever stayed at! It really gave us a genuine Tenn. experience and we will for sure stay here again. The cabins were amazing! Perfect for a romantic getaway weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Alexander R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you Alex, we appreciate your great comments about our little hideaway! Glad our staff accommodated your needs.On your next trip, try one of our rustic mountain cabins with fireplace and hot tub! JD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the SmokeHouse. The staff was kind and very curteous. The only problem I had was that the reservation I made was put in for the wrong month. I did not have a copy of my reservation and quoted price but the staff worked with me. It wasn't the price on the reservation but it wasn't full price either so at least I received some compensation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank You Robin, glad our staff accommodated your needs and gave you some compensatiion for juggling your reservation. On your next trip, try one of our rustic mountain cabins with fireplace and hot tub! JD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I loved the Best Western and the Smokehouse Restaurant. The food was great and the hotel was even better. I make trips back and forth between Maryland and Tennessee and I always stop here for the great service. I am renting a cabin again, fantastic and helpful housekeeping staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you so much for your reivew; we really read them and respond to all of them. Glad you liked the Smoke House and hope you will tell everyone. Look us up on your next trip thru Tennessee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

stayed here with my wife and two dogs on our return trip to our home in florida. i have stayed here three times before and have always stayed in a cabin, so i can not say anything about the regular rooms. at the lodge they have a good setup for you if you want to get on the internet. the cabin i stayed in was nicely decorated and reminded me of someones home. the area was very rustic and extremly quite. the only thing that i find a little fault with is that when you try to open the back door it hangs up on the door of the oven and makes it difficult to open. beside that, it is a great place to stay if you get a cabin.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beethoven810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you so much for your reivew; we really read them and respond to all of them. Glad you liked the Smoke House and hope you will tell everyone. Look us up on your next trip thru Tennessee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteagle
3.9 mi away
The Sewanee Inn
The Sewanee Inn
#1 of 1 in Sewanee
673 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
#1 of 6 in Monteagle
514 reviews
1.7 mi away
Motel 6 Monteagle
Motel 6 Monteagle
#5 of 6 in Monteagle
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kimball
13.9 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#1 of 1 in Winchester
205 reviews
19.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins

Address: 850 W Main St, P.O. Box 579, Monteagle, TN 37356-7027 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Price Range: $51 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Vintage Nostalgic Authentic Since 1960, 80 miles SE of Nashville - 40 miles NW of Chattanooga Interstate 24 Exit 134. Recent renovation to all rooms and the property. The Lodge has 80 rooms, 21 cabins featuring 1,2, 3 BR cabins; full kitchens Jacuzzi Tubs Fireplaces. Indoor meeting facilities up to 160, outdoor pavilion seating 150, 20 acres of outdoor activities. Restaurant features authentic Smoked Meats Ribs Brisket Chicken Full Menu from $2 to $18, sandwiches sides dinners & large Buffet, fresh salad bar, homemade stew, skillet cornbread and bread pudding; locally grown foods. Breakfast Lunch Dinner Open Everyday 6:30AM - 9:00PM, till 10:00PM Fri & Sat. Live Singer/Songwriter Music Friday and Saturday nights. Huge Old General Store Gift shop. Bonnaroo River Bend Chattanooga Manchester South Pittsburg Monteagle Arts & Crafts Festival, Beersheba Crafts Festival, South Cumberland State Park, Fall Creek Falls, Bluegrass Underground, Sewanee, Tim's Ford, Nickajack, The Caverns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Smokehouse Hotel Monteagle
Monteagle Smokehouse Lodge Hotel
Monteagle Best Western
Best Western Monteagle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing