We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Mountain lodge” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
St Louis, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mountain lodge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Beautiful rustic hotel. Good accomodations, friendly attitude of staff. Close to the Smoky mountains. While no free breakfast, there is a discount and the quality of the adjacent restaurant is well worth it. I stay here whenever I travel south on I-24.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments, we appreciate your business and hope on your next travels our way that you will stop back in to see us again. On your next visit, try out one of our _family cabins with _jacuzzi tubs, and fireplaces. We have _cabins for couples, families, and groups. Look for _Monteagel Cabins on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    120
    72
    60
    56
See reviews for
152
154
30
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

After visiting Jim Olivers's Smokehouse and Lodge many times over the last 25 years I am writing my first review. Essentially this is a very fun place to visit in so many ways. First, the Lodge has very competitive room rates with excellent comfortable accommodations and the free standing cabins are especially delightful. The restaurant has an excellent menu of country style food with a fantastic all-you-can-eat buffet. In addition they have a very large gift shop with so many interesting gifts. If staying for a day or several days, they have many recreational opportunities for the entire family. On Friday and Saturday night they have a fun filled evening hosting country music performers. You cannot go wrong with this multi-faceted resort complex as a fun filled destination. I give it a superb rating.

Room Tip: Try the cabins with hot tubs and fireplaces for the most fun and pleasurable experience as they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you, Thank You, Thank You . . . for your comments and your review. Come back and see us every Friday and Saturday nights for our _MusicOnTheMountain _Live _Music, featuring the best of _Nashville _SongWriters and Music Artist. Stay in one of our 21 _Getaway _Cabins featuring Jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, front porches, and lots of privacy. We have been in business here since 1960, our dad was 21 years old when he started this business in a little drive in called "The Bee Hive". My sister Betsy is now responsible for keeping all our generation of _Family recipies together and true to measure; and she does a wonderful job managing all that. _SmokigManMike Bradford is our smoker man, keeping all the _Ribs, _Brisket, _SmokedChicken all up to speed and wonderfully tasty. We enjoy serving customers our food and seeing them in again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
158 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband and I have passed through Monteagle several times, on our way to Nashville. We always wondered what else was there so we decided to play a 2-night stay and find out. We stayed in the hotel portion instead of one of the cabins. It was a large room with comfortable beds. The first night, after supper, we sat on the back deck that overlooked the pool and the cabins. It was so peaceful and relaxing. Very friendly staff, clean room, and good service. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MARY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you, Thank You, Thank You . . . for your comments and your review. We have been in business here since 1960, our dad was 21 years old when he started this business in a little drive in called "The Bee Hive". My sister Betsy is now responsible for keeping all our generation of _Family recipies together and true to measure; and she does a wonderful job managing all that. _SmokigManMike Bradford is our smoker man, keeping all the _Ribs, _Brisket, _SmokedChicken all up to speed and wonderfully tasty. We enjoy serving customers our food and seeing them in again and again. Come back and see us every Friday and Saturday nights for our _MusicOnTheMountain _Live _Music, featuring the best of _Nashville _SongWriters and Music Artist. Stay in one of our 21 _Getaway _Cabins featuring Jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, front porches, and lots of privacy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

My Kids And I Had To Stop Because We Were Too Tired. I Must Say I Am Thankful We Did. We Will Most Definitely Be Back Our Next Trip. The Young Lady At The Front Desk Was Awesome.Cynthia I Believe. She Made Me Feel At Home. She Even Offered To Help Carry My Small Children To My Room Since It Was So Late And They Were Sleeping. Very Welcoming Staff And Our Room Was Great, Cozy Beds And Very Clean. We Were Well Rested When We Left. Also The Early Staff Were Helpful And So Nice With Direction. Keep It Up Because You All Are Wonderful !!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshinecity2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you so much for the Great comments about the staff, we will pass this on to them. Please come back and see us anytime you are passing over Monteagle Mountain. On your next visit you might want to upgrade to a _family _cabin featuring kitchen, front porches, jacuzzi tubs, and 2 bed rooms, we even have a 6 bed room cabin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed one night at motel, just an average room with wood floors. Bathroom sink is not in bathroom if that does not bother you. Did not go to breakfast there so i can't help you on that.
I made reservations over the phone and the woman was very friendly and helpful. Upon arrival the desk help was again the same way which was definite plus.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uniquefew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and comments. Glad you liked the new wood floors, we are updating all the rooms with fresh new clean wood floors, and everybody loves them. On your next trip check out our _Monteagle _Cabins featuring jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, full kitchens, front porches and plenty of privacy. Catch our _Live _Music show every Friday and Saturday night, family friendly and No cover charge, food and beverages are served during the show. This is a special surprise for our lodging guest, especially at no charge; featuring real _Nashville _Singers and _Songwriters, legends and up & coming artist. We've been told that the Smoke House music show is way better than all the songwirter shows in Nashville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, ON
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The staff were great. We were initially put up in a cabin but it was old and smelly so we asked to be put into a king room and it was great. There were newer cabins that were really nice, they just need to update the older cabins. The food at the wedding was delish.

Room Tip: Check out the cabin first before moving in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaleDHeidelberg_ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing _thesmokehouse for your wedding stay, we heard alot of great comments from the wedding party about their stay here. On your next trip check out our _Monteagle _Cabins featuring jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, full kitchens, front porches and plenty of privacy. Catch our _Live _Music show every Friday and Saturday night, family friendly and No cover charge, food and beverages are served during the show. This is a special surprise for our lodging guest, especially at no charge; featuring real _Nashville _Singers and _Songwriters, legends and up & coming artist. We've been told that the Smoke House music show is way better than all the songwirter shows in Nashville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I was quite impressed with my second stay at the Jim Oliver's Best Western. We stayed in a room on the back side, nearest the pond. The room was the cleanest hotel room I've been in for quite awhile. I loved the fact that there was "hard wood" laminate-very practical! The beds were comfy and the linens felt and smelled clean. All surfaces appeared to have been wiped down/clean and the bathroom and toilet area were also sanitized. The only drawback were the crazy birds at 4:30AM! Way to go Best Western for taking care of an older yet updated hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xylophone7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and comments; we appreciate your business. On your next trip check out our _Monteagle _Cabins featuring jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, full kitchens, front porches and plenty of privacy. Catch our _Live _Music show every Friday and Saturday night, family friendly and No cover charge, food and beverages are served during the show. This is a special surprise for our lodging guest, especially at no charge; featuring real _Nashville _Singers and _Songwriters, legends and up & coming artist. We've been told that the Smoke House music show is way better than all the songwirter shows in Nashville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteagle
4.0 mi away
The Sewanee Inn
The Sewanee Inn
#1 of 1 in Sewanee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
#1 of 6 in Monteagle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.6 mi away
Motel 6 Monteagle
Motel 6 Monteagle
#5 of 6 in Monteagle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kimball
Hampton Inn Kimball
#1 of 5 in Kimball
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
13.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn
BEST WESTERN Inn
#1 of 1 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
19.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites, Manchester, TN
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins

Property: The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
Address: 850 W Main St, P.O. Box 579, Monteagle, TN 37356-7027 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than your typical roadside motel, the World Famous Smoke House gives you more for your money. Since 1960 the Oliver family has been serving folks traveling over Monteagle Mountain; located just 300 yards off I-24 at Exit 134, 80 miles SE of Nashville, and 40 miles NW of Chattanooga. Still owned and operated by the Oliver family. Just recently completed a $2,000,000 renovation to all rooms and the property. The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins offers a variety of lodging accommodations for a one night stay as well as vacation getaways, family reunions, and meeting facilities. The Lodge has 80 rooms featuring King and Queen Beds, 21 cabins featuring one bed room cabins, two bed room, and a cabin with 6 king and queen beds, plus fold out couches. Most cabins have full kitchen facilities, Jacuzzi Tubs, Fireplaces, porches, leather sofas, all linens and kitchen cookware are provided by the Smoke House. Meeting facilities include conference facility up to 250 seats, outdoor covered shed seating 150, the Log Cabin Chapel seating 70, the Big Family Cabin seating 50, and over 20 acres of campus for a variety of outdoor activities. The Restaurant features its world famous Smoked Meats such as Pork Ribs, Beef Brisket, Pulled Pork Shoulder, Country Ham, Honey Baked Ham, and the largest selection of BBQ Sauces, Hot Sauces, Vinegars, Jams, Pickles, and Toppings you'll find anywhere. Full Menu from $2 to $18, large Buffet with hot vegetables, casseroles, and choice of meats, large fresh salad bar, homemade vegetable-beef stew, skillet cornbread and skillet bread pudding. Featuring fresh produce from local farmers in all the menu items and salad bar. Serving Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner; Open Everyday 6:30AM - 9:00PM, till 10:00PM Friday and Saturday. Live Singer/Songwriter Music every Friday and Saturday night starting at 7PM to 10PM, featuring a main act first, and a Songwriter Round of playing for the second act. Music features Blues, Country, Pop, Jazz, Bluegrass, and soft rock; solo, duos, and groups. The Trading Post Old General Store is a place you could spend the whole day looking around. Homemade candy, fried pies, Fudge, Ice Cream, Smoke House BBQ Sauces, Rubs, Hot sauces, Jams, Honey, Pickles, Antiques, 40 flavors of Glass Bottled Soft Drinks, Local Crafts, Old Country Store Merchantile Artifacts, Moonshine Still Exhibit area, and the Louvin Brothers Country Music Museum. A convenient place to stay for many area festivals and attractions. Bonnaroo Music Festival, River Bend Music Festival, Corn Bread Festival, Monteagle Arts & Crafts Festival, Beersheba Arts and Crafts Festival, South Cumberland State Park, Russel Cave National Monument, Sewanee Summer Music Festival, All Saints Festival of Lessons and Carrols, Tims Ford Lake, Nickajack Lake, Tennessee River, Tennessee Aquarium, The Discovery Museum, Chattanooga, Lookout Mountain, Country Music Association Fan Fair Nashville, Thunder on the Rock, the Collins River, the Elk River, University of the South Sewanee, Saint Andrews - Sewanee School. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Smokehouse Hotel Monteagle
Monteagle Smokehouse Lodge Hotel
Monteagle Best Western
Best Western Monteagle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing