We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Beautiful rustic hotel. Good accomodations, friendly attitude of staff. Close to the Smoky mountains. While no free breakfast, there is a discount and the quality of the adjacent restaurant is well worth it. I stay here whenever I travel south on I-24.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments, we appreciate your business and hope on your next travels our way that you will stop back in to see us again. On your next visit, try out one of our _family cabins with _jacuzzi tubs, and fireplaces. We have _cabins for couples, families, and groups. Look for _Monteagel Cabins on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 559 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

After visiting Jim Olivers's Smokehouse and Lodge many times over the last 25 years I am writing my first review. Essentially this is a very fun place to visit in so many ways. First, the Lodge has very competitive room rates with excellent comfortable accommodations and the free standing cabins are especially delightful. The restaurant has an excellent menu of country style food with a fantastic all-you-can-eat buffet. In addition they have a very large gift shop with so many interesting gifts. If staying for a day or several days, they have many recreational opportunities for the entire family. On Friday and Saturday night they have a fun filled evening hosting country music performers. You cannot go wrong with this multi-faceted resort complex as a fun filled destination. I give it a superb rating.

Room Tip: Try the cabins with hot tubs and fireplaces for the most fun and pleasurable experience as they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you, Thank You, Thank You . . . for your comments and your review. Come back and see us every Friday and Saturday nights for our _MusicOnTheMountain _Live _Music, featuring the best of _Nashville _SongWriters and Music Artist. Stay in one of our 21 _Getaway _Cabins featuring Jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, front porches, and lots of privacy. We have been in business here since 1960, our dad was 21 years old when he started this business in a little drive in called "The Bee Hive". My sister Betsy is now responsible for keeping all our generation of _Family recipies together and true to measure; and she does a wonderful job managing all that. _SmokigManMike Bradford is our smoker man, keeping all the _Ribs, _Brisket, _SmokedChicken all up to speed and wonderfully tasty. We enjoy serving customers our food and seeing them in again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband and I have passed through Monteagle several times, on our way to Nashville. We always wondered what else was there so we decided to play a 2-night stay and find out. We stayed in the hotel portion instead of one of the cabins. It was a large room with comfortable beds. The first night, after supper, we sat on the back deck that overlooked the pool and the cabins. It was so peaceful and relaxing. Very friendly staff, clean room, and good service. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you, Thank You, Thank You . . . for your comments and your review. We have been in business here since 1960, our dad was 21 years old when he started this business in a little drive in called "The Bee Hive". My sister Betsy is now responsible for keeping all our generation of _Family recipies together and true to measure; and she does a wonderful job managing all that. _SmokigManMike Bradford is our smoker man, keeping all the _Ribs, _Brisket, _SmokedChicken all up to speed and wonderfully tasty. We enjoy serving customers our food and seeing them in again and again. Come back and see us every Friday and Saturday nights for our _MusicOnTheMountain _Live _Music, featuring the best of _Nashville _SongWriters and Music Artist. Stay in one of our 21 _Getaway _Cabins featuring Jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, front porches, and lots of privacy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My Kids And I Had To Stop Because We Were Too Tired. I Must Say I Am Thankful We Did. We Will Most Definitely Be Back Our Next Trip. The Young Lady At The Front Desk Was Awesome.Cynthia I Believe. She Made Me Feel At Home. She Even Offered To Help Carry My Small Children To My Room Since It Was So Late And They Were Sleeping. Very Welcoming Staff And Our Room Was Great, Cozy Beds And Very Clean. We Were Well Rested When We Left. Also The Early Staff Were Helpful And So Nice With Direction. Keep It Up Because You All Are Wonderful !!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshinecity2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you so much for the Great comments about the staff, we will pass this on to them. Please come back and see us anytime you are passing over Monteagle Mountain. On your next visit you might want to upgrade to a _family _cabin featuring kitchen, front porches, jacuzzi tubs, and 2 bed rooms, we even have a 6 bed room cabin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed one night at motel, just an average room with wood floors. Bathroom sink is not in bathroom if that does not bother you. Did not go to breakfast there so i can't help you on that.
I made reservations over the phone and the woman was very friendly and helpful. Upon arrival the desk help was again the same way which was definite plus.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uniquefew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you so much for your review and comments. Glad you liked the new wood floors, we are updating all the rooms with fresh new clean wood floors, and everybody loves them. On your next trip check out our _Monteagle _Cabins featuring jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, full kitchens, front porches and plenty of privacy. Catch our _Live _Music show every Friday and Saturday night, family friendly and No cover charge, food and beverages are served during the show. This is a special surprise for our lodging guest, especially at no charge; featuring real _Nashville _Singers and _Songwriters, legends and up & coming artist. We've been told that the Smoke House music show is way better than all the songwirter shows in Nashville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The staff were great. We were initially put up in a cabin but it was old and smelly so we asked to be put into a king room and it was great. There were newer cabins that were really nice, they just need to update the older cabins. The food at the wedding was delish.

Room Tip: Check out the cabin first before moving in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaleDHeidelberg_ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for choosing _thesmokehouse for your wedding stay, we heard alot of great comments from the wedding party about their stay here. On your next trip check out our _Monteagle _Cabins featuring jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, full kitchens, front porches and plenty of privacy. Catch our _Live _Music show every Friday and Saturday night, family friendly and No cover charge, food and beverages are served during the show. This is a special surprise for our lodging guest, especially at no charge; featuring real _Nashville _Singers and _Songwriters, legends and up & coming artist. We've been told that the Smoke House music show is way better than all the songwirter shows in Nashville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I was quite impressed with my second stay at the Jim Oliver's Best Western. We stayed in a room on the back side, nearest the pond. The room was the cleanest hotel room I've been in for quite awhile. I loved the fact that there was "hard wood" laminate-very practical! The beds were comfy and the linens felt and smelled clean. All surfaces appeared to have been wiped down/clean and the bathroom and toilet area were also sanitized. The only drawback were the crazy birds at 4:30AM! Way to go Best Western for taking care of an older yet updated hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xylophone7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you so much for your review and comments; we appreciate your business. On your next trip check out our _Monteagle _Cabins featuring jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, full kitchens, front porches and plenty of privacy. Catch our _Live _Music show every Friday and Saturday night, family friendly and No cover charge, food and beverages are served during the show. This is a special surprise for our lodging guest, especially at no charge; featuring real _Nashville _Singers and _Songwriters, legends and up & coming artist. We've been told that the Smoke House music show is way better than all the songwirter shows in Nashville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteagle
3.9 mi away
The Sewanee Inn
The Sewanee Inn
#1 of 1 in Sewanee
666 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
#1 of 6 in Monteagle
513 reviews
1.7 mi away
Motel 6 Monteagle
Motel 6 Monteagle
#5 of 6 in Monteagle
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#1 of 1 in Winchester
205 reviews
18.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 17 in Manchester
290 reviews
19.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins

Address: 850 W Main St, P.O. Box 579, Monteagle, TN 37356-7027 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Price Range: $55 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Vintage Nostalgic Authentic Since 1960, 80 miles SE of Nashville - 40 miles NW of Chattanooga Interstate 24 Exit 134. Recent renovation to all rooms and the property. The Lodge has 80 rooms, 21 cabins featuring 1,2, 3 BR cabins; full kitchens Jacuzzi Tubs Fireplaces. Indoor meeting facilities up to 160, outdoor pavilion seating 150, 20 acres of outdoor activities. Restaurant features authentic Smoked Meats Ribs Brisket Chicken Full Menu from $2 to $18, sandwiches sides dinners & large Buffet, fresh salad bar, homemade stew, skillet cornbread and bread pudding; locally grown foods. Breakfast Lunch Dinner Open Everyday 6:30AM - 9:00PM, till 10:00PM Fri & Sat. Live Singer/Songwriter Music Friday and Saturday nights. Huge Old General Store Gift shop. Bonnaroo River Bend Chattanooga Manchester South Pittsburg Monteagle Arts & Crafts Festival, Beersheba Crafts Festival, South Cumberland State Park, Fall Creek Falls, Bluegrass Underground, Sewanee, Tim's Ford, Nickajack, The Caverns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Smokehouse Hotel Monteagle
Monteagle Smokehouse Lodge Hotel
Monteagle Best Western
Best Western Monteagle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing