We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stopped on our way back from Talledega Race in Alabama and seen Best Western sign so we pulled off exit and was pleasanlt suprised. Very quiet and rustic. Ate at Smoke House Restaurant and the food was great. My husband and friend were greeted by the ownwer who was passing out ribs with special rub and sauce...WOW I'm not meat eater but it was fantastic. It had a trading post for shopping with discount on meals for staying at lodge and when checking out sample of homemade fudge.......

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sassy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Everybody _Happy _Happy _Happy! Glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon. On your next trip Catch our _Live _Music show every Friday and Saturday night, family friendly and No cover charge, food and beverages are served during the show. This is a special surprise for our lodging guest, especially at no charge; featuring real _Nashville _Singers and _Songwriters, legends and up & coming artist. We've been told that the Smoke House music show is way better than all the songwirter shows in Nashville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    108
    71
    54
    49
See reviews for
142
137
29
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blountville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I work in construction and needed a quiet place to stay during the week. After spending a dreadful week at the Days Inn at the next exit, we were advised to check this place out. Boy what a difference. We stay in a cabin and its nice to have room to move and a full size kitchen!!( fast food gets old fast) The cabin is like home away from home. Staff was very friendly and very helpful. The owner is the best. The cabin we are in is quiet,clean, and very functional. Air/heat work great and quiet, water pressure is good also. The cabins are furnished and supplied with all your kitchen dishes. So glad to have found this place. Would be a great place to bring the whole family. Like I said, clean, quiet, and home away from home. Just want to say, many thanks to the entire staff!!! Mike Olden

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Great, Thank you for your expression and comments. Hope you will visit us again very soon. On your next trip check out our _Monteagle _Cabins featuring jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, full kitchens, front porches and plenty of privacy. Catch our _Live _Music show every Friday and Saturday night, family friendly and No cover charge, food and beverages are served during the show. This is a special surprise for our lodging guest, especially at no charge; featuring real _Nashville _Singers and _Songwriters, legends and up & coming artist. We've been told that the Smoke House music show is way better than all the songwirter shows in Nashville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conover, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed here with our voucher for a free room. They upgraded us to a cabin with a hot tub. What a pleasant surprise. It was very clean, quaint, and quiet. We then ate dinner at the Smokehouse Restaurant. Smokin "Man Mike" gave us free samples of his bbq sauce and jams along with samples of this ribs. They were delicious, fall off the bone. His rubs are delicious. He has sauces from mild all the way to super hot and they were great. If you need a place to stay, Monteagle, Tennessee Best Western is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Smokin Man Mike sez to say Hi to ya'll!
Thank you for your great comments about our soon to be famous _Monteagle _Cabins at _TheSmokeHouse in Monteagle. We are looking foward to your return soon. Come see us again. Next time we'll give you a tour of our _Moonshine Exhibit area in the _TradingPost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My fiance and I were pleased to find such a cute little property. (Not to mention very pleased to see it was owned and run by a local family. BIG plus!) After working 56 hour weeks for almost a month, we were in need of a short vacation to just relax, and the Smokehouse Lodge did just that for us when we got one of their cozy cabins for two days.

We were there to visit Lookout Mountain and Chattanooga, so the hotel was kind of a drive out (about 45 miles), but you just can't beat the view while driving the hills and mountains of Tennessee. The hotel is right off the exit on I-24, so you can get back on the road very quickly.

The cabins may look small from the outside, but be rest assured that the open floor plan really makes the lodge quite comfortable. I was surprised in how quiet the cabin was (I barely heard a large storm that hit the area our first night there). The internet was kind of spotty with strength, but we kind of expected that being out in the cabin area. Besides, we were there to relax & get away from all that kind of stuff. Though we didn't engage much with the staff, what times we did spend in the main hotel were pleasant and inviting.

The facade of main hotel may not look "modern", but the room did not lack in amenities: flat screen TV, nice little kitchen, well working A/C heater wall unit, furniture in good shape, clean linens, etc. Not to mention, the look kept up with the fact that it is a small cozy hotel up in the mountains. I wouldn't hope for any different.

The hotel also has a cute mom & pop version of Cracker Barrel right next door if you want some tasty country cooking during your stay. There is a cute little winery right across the street that is open to visitors. Also, it is also conveniently located next to a grocery and Fred's stores if you are in need of anything you might have forgotten at home or suddenly need.

If you're looking for couples or family getaway in the Chattanooga, Tennessee area, I strongly suggest this property and even emphasize to pay the extra money and get the cabin. You won't regret it! We are already making plans to come back ourselves in the future!

Room Tip: The cabins are well worth the cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our _Mountain _Cabins here at _TheSmokeHouse in _Monteagle _Tennessee. We appreciate your comments and will pass them on to our staff. The _BestWestern _SmokeHouseLodge is proud to please our customers. Come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The room was fine until we were woken up at 1:30am by the people upstairs and it went on for 2-3 hours. Called the front desk to get them to stop the noise but it continued. We had to get the staff to give us another room at 3:30 in the morning. With our long driving ahead this stay was terrible. The woman at the desk didn't even apologize for the inconvenience. I had to ask them to compensate us and she said see would tell her manager. When we booked out in the morning the new staff didn't know anything about our problem but did say this would be taken care of immediately. She apologized several times.
The late night staff needs to have better training for these types of issues.

I did receive an email from the owner asking if there was anything he could do but this was from my Best Western feedback letter.

Room Tip: Stay in the top floor and at he back if you stay here at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ken567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
So sorry for your unplesant stay, I am following up on this and will give you a credit to your credit card. We don't expect guest to have to pay for this. We will follow up on the 3rd shift staff and do more training. At this time, we do not give cash refunds, but we will certainly refund your card as soon as possible. This is not the norm for a stay at the Smoke House, and hope you will come back to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monteagle hotels

Chattanooga
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I spent the weekend at the Smokehouse Lodge in Monteagle TN. We stayed in one of the cabins on the property and thouroughly enjoyed our visit.

The cabin was well furnished, a Queen sized bed, sofa, small kitchen, flat screen TV, free wi-fi, fire place and a jacuzzi tub in addition to the bathroom. Everything in the room was in good shape, although some of the higher areas could have used a little more dusting. The property has a pool (shaped like a ham) tennis court, basketball court, shuffleboard and a pond. The staff were very friendly, and seemed genuinely happy that we were there.

The weather was gorgeous, and we took advantage by hiking a little in nearby Sewanee and enjoying the beautiful mountain views.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mutumbojimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and looking foward to you coming back up for another fun weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Heater cut on and off every 2 minutes, door card failed to work 90% of time, and in general this place is past needing an overhaul. Just old and failed to be kept up as it should. Clerk was awear of our complaints and said we should recieve a refund of part of our bill---that never happened. This place had a great pass--poor present, but needs much repair. Once, shame on you--twice, never happen.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BudJ139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
This is an unusual compliant for our property. We apologize for the problems encountered by the guest, but the language used to describe our facility is overly dramatic. We are in the process of upgrading our facility, and all rooms, but overall all, the comments and reviews we recieve are very complimentary about our property. Once and a while we do not measere up to someone's expectations, can't please everyone. Sometimes people make up excuses about compliants when really they are upset about the price, or being on the 2nd floor. The Smoke House is not everyone's cup of tea, but those who like it, love it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteagle
0.3 mi away
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
#1 of 6 in Monteagle
4.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Sewanee Inn
The Sewanee Inn
#1 of 1 in Sewanee
5.0 of 5 stars 555 reviews
1.6 mi away
Motel 6 Monteagle
Motel 6 Monteagle
#5 of 6 in Monteagle
3.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kimball
Hampton Inn Kimball
#1 of 5 in Kimball
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
13.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn
BEST WESTERN Inn
#1 of 1 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
16.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kimball
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins

Property: The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
Address: 850 W Main St, P.O. Box 579, Monteagle, TN 37356-7027 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than your typical roadside motel, the World Famous Smoke House gives you more for your money. Since 1960 the Oliver family has been serving folks traveling over Monteagle Mountain; located just 300 yards off I-24 at Exit 134, 80 miles SE of Nashville, and 40 miles NW of Chattanooga. Still owned and operated by the Oliver family. Just recently completed a $2,000,000 renovation to all rooms and the property. The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins offers a variety of lodging accommodations for a one night stay as well as vacation getaways, family reunions, and meeting facilities. The Lodge has 80 rooms featuring King and Queen Beds, 21 cabins featuring one bed room cabins, two bed room, and a cabin with 6 king and queen beds, plus fold out couches. Most cabins have full kitchen facilities, Jacuzzi Tubs, Fireplaces, porches, leather sofas, all linens and kitchen cookware are provided by the Smoke House. Meeting facilities include conference facility up to 250 seats, outdoor covered shed seating 150, the Log Cabin Chapel seating 70, the Big Family Cabin seating 50, and over 20 acres of campus for a variety of outdoor activities. The Restaurant features its world famous Smoked Meats such as Pork Ribs, Beef Brisket, Pulled Pork Shoulder, Country Ham, Honey Baked Ham, and the largest selection of BBQ Sauces, Hot Sauces, Vinegars, Jams, Pickles, and Toppings you'll find anywhere. Full Menu from $2 to $18, large Buffet with hot vegetables, casseroles, and choice of meats, large fresh salad bar, homemade vegetable-beef stew, skillet cornbread and skillet bread pudding. Featuring fresh produce from local farmers in all the menu items and salad bar. Serving Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner; Open Everyday 6:30AM - 9:00PM, till 10:00PM Friday and Saturday. Live Singer/Songwriter Music every Friday and Saturday night starting at 7PM to 10PM, featuring a main act first, and a Songwriter Round of playing for the second act. Music features Blues, Country, Pop, Jazz, Bluegrass, and soft rock; solo, duos, and groups. The Trading Post Old General Store is a place you could spend the whole day looking around. Homemade candy, fried pies, Fudge, Ice Cream, Smoke House BBQ Sauces, Rubs, Hot sauces, Jams, Honey, Pickles, Antiques, 40 flavors of Glass Bottled Soft Drinks, Local Crafts, Old Country Store Merchantile Artifacts, Moonshine Still Exhibit area, and the Louvin Brothers Country Music Museum. A convenient place to stay for many area festivals and attractions. Bonnaroo Music Festival, River Bend Music Festival, Corn Bread Festival, Monteagle Arts & Crafts Festival, Beersheba Arts and Crafts Festival, South Cumberland State Park, Russel Cave National Monument, Sewanee Summer Music Festival, All Saints Festival of Lessons and Carrols, Tims Ford Lake, Nickajack Lake, Tennessee River, Tennessee Aquarium, The Discovery Museum, Chattanooga, Lookout Mountain, Country Music Association Fan Fair Nashville, Thunder on the Rock, the Collins River, the Elk River, University of the South Sewanee, Saint Andrews - Sewanee School. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Smokehouse Hotel Monteagle
Monteagle Smokehouse Lodge Hotel
Monteagle Best Western
Best Western Monteagle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing