We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OLD AN NON-SERVICABLE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Heater cut on and off every 2 minutes, door card failed to work 90% of time, and in general this place is past needing an overhaul. Just old and failed to be kept up as it should. Clerk was awear of our complaints and said we should recieve a refund of part of our bill---that never happened. This place had a great pass--poor present, but needs much repair. Once, shame on you--twice, never happen.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BudJ139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

This is an unusual compliant for our property. We apologize for the problems encountered by the guest, but the language used to describe our facility is overly dramatic. We are in the process of upgrading our facility, and all rooms, but overall all, the comments and reviews we recieve are very complimentary about our property. Once and a while we do not measere up to someone's expectations, can't please everyone. Sometimes people make up excuses about compliants when really they are upset about the price, or being on the 2nd floor. The Smoke House is not everyone's cup of tea, but those who like it, love it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 556 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

Be careful staying here! Upon arrival we were given a room that connected to one that was in the process of being renovated. Needless to say the smell from the paint and the workers smoking next door with the connecting doors OPEN was not a very welcoming sign. When I tried to close and lock the connecting room door there was no way to lock the door from my side of the room, the door
in the other room had a deadbolt on the inside that would keep me from getting into that room but any could have access to our room. The outside door to the room under construction did not lock so anyone could gain access to our room. When I brought this to the attention of the front desk they told me I did not know how to lock the door. Finally a "maintenance" man showed up and finally realized that I was correct and offered to get a lock from the hardware store and install it. Later He proceeded to turn the door handle around which simply put a kept the knob from turning. After return from dinner we got back to our room and found both connecting doors open! As far as we could determine nothing was taken but the front desk did not really seem to care and/or understand the problem. After being away for the entire day no inside lock, as promised was ever installed. When I mentioned this at checkout they apologized, but blamed it on somebody else. Also, the bathrooms were tiny, the shower head is about 5 feet high with low pressure. Uncomfortable beds and unreliable TV's made for a poor stay. The noise early in the morning (5am) of the staff moving equipment and shouting as if it were the middle of the day was to say the least annoying. With my son perhaps attending Sewanee for the next 4 years I will stay at the other hotels in the area and will relay this story to all of the other parents who are looking for a place to stay near the Univerity.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back maybe quieter as they do not face the road. All heat/AC units seemed to be new bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Dvsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you so much for your review and feedback about _Best Western _Smokehouse _JimOliverSmokehouse. We have been doing alot of upgrades on the property and in the rooms and they are looking really nice. Next time you come by try one of our _Monteagle _Cabins, all have fireplaces, jacuzzi tubs, front porches, kitchens great for _SpringBreak _Family _Getaways, and _Family _Reunions. You can order our porducts on line _TheSmokeHouseStore _OldGeneralStore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The room I had was quite nice and large. I got a call from the front desk after I had been there for a couple hours to check and make sure everything in my room was ok. The room was clean along with the common areas that I saw including the grounds. Would recommend this to anyone looking for a place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you so much for your review and feedback about _Best Western _Smokehouse _JimOliverSmokehouse. We have been doing alot of upgrades on the property and in the rooms and they are looking really nice. Next time you come by try one of our _Monteagle _Cabins, all have fireplaces, jacuzzi tubs, front porches, kitchens great for _SpringBreak _Family _Getaways, and _Family _Reunions. You can order our porducts on line _TheSmokeHouseStore _OldGeneralStore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed here on a return trip from Florida. The main reception area is charming with its giant fireplace and coffee. We were presented with a mini welcome basket upon check-in, which we totally did not expect. There are not many hotel options in this area, and I would not hesitate to stay here again. The rooms were a bit dated, but they were very clean. Very friendly staff too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrldtravelerfrommi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you so much for your great review of our _Best Western Smoke House Lodge in _Monteagle TN. Hope you will come back and try one of our 21 _Monteagle Cabins. _Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant is a great example of pure _Tennessee Southern Cooking. Recipes from generations of _Oliver family members are sure to please most appetites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My family & I stayed in one of the beautiful rental cabins. Our two sons enjoyed every minute of the outside activities including basketball & tennis; equipment was available at the lodge office. The cabin was extremely clean & comfortable with all the necessary amenities we needed! The beds were great & the staff was BEYOND NICE to our family. The restaurant was amazing & extremely family friendly; after hours live music was very entertaining & our sons were brought toys by the staff to play with!! Overall, our stay was nothing but wonderful!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Templetons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you so much for your great review of our _Monteagle _Cabins in _Monteagle TN. The _Smoke House Cabins and the whole property is _Family Friendly in every way, right down to the _Live Music every Friday and Saturday night in the _Music Room of the _Smokehouse. The _Old General Store is a great place for _Families to explor for free, lots of _Vintage and _Nostalgic things to look over. _Louvin Brothers Museum _Moonshine Still Exhibit. Hope you will come back and try one of our famous _Fried Pies. _Jim Oliver's _Smoke House Restaurant is a great example of pure _Tennessee Southern Cooking. Recipes from generations of _Oliver family members are sure to please most appetites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Second year in a row I've stayed here. Not impressed with the restaurant. Breakfast buffet was terrible. Staff was friendly and fireplace was warm and cozy. Room clean except for a used feminine hygiene product floating in the toilet.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you so much for your review of our _Best Western Smoke House Lodge in _Monteagle TN. Hope you will come back and try one of our 21 _Monteagle Cabins. _Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant is a great example of pure _Tennessee Southern Cooking. Recipes from generations of _Oliver family members are sure to please most appetites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

spent two days and nights with much needed rest for my wife and me. first time we were able to have peace and quite in along timewith 3 grandsons at home plus our daughter. the cabin was great perfect for our time alone

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Jim Oliver's Smoke House and _Best Western _Smokehouse Lodge has 21 cabins for rest and relaxation. Most cabins have jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. Great food at _Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant, featuring family recipies from 4 generations. Perfect for family _Spring Breaks, _Easter Getaways.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteagle
3.9 mi away
The Sewanee Inn
The Sewanee Inn
#1 of 1 in Sewanee
658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
#1 of 6 in Monteagle
508 reviews
1.7 mi away
Motel 6 Monteagle
Motel 6 Monteagle
#5 of 6 in Monteagle
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#1 of 1 in Winchester
203 reviews
18.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 17 in Manchester
286 reviews
16.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kimball
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins

Address: 850 W Main St, P.O. Box 579, Monteagle, TN 37356-7027 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Price Range: $55 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Vintage Nostalgic Authentic Since 1960, 80 miles SE of Nashville - 40 miles NW of Chattanooga Interstate 24 Exit 134. Still owned and operated by the Oliver family. Recent renovation to all rooms and the property. The Lodge has 80 rooms, 21 cabins featuring 1,2, 3 BR cabins; full kitchens Jacuzzis Fireplaces. Indoor meeting facilities up to 160, outdoor pavilion seating 150, 20 acres of outdoor activities. Restaurant features authentic Smoked Meats Ribs Brisket Chicken Full Menu from $2 to $18, sandwiches sides dinners & large Buffet, fresh salad bar, homemade stew, skillet cornbread and bread pudding; locally grown foods. Breakfast Lunch Dinner Open Everyday 6:30AM - 9:00PM, till 10:00PM Fri & Sat. Live Singer/Songwriter Music Friday and Saturday nights. Huge Old Trading Post General Store Gift shop. Area festivals and attractions Bonnaroo Festival River Bend Chattanooga Corn Bread Festival Monteagle Arts & Crafts Festival Beersheba Crafts Festival, South Cumberland State Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Smokehouse Hotel Monteagle
Monteagle Smokehouse Lodge Hotel
Monteagle Best Western
Best Western Monteagle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing