We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“much needed rest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Reviewed March 3, 2013

spent two days and nights with much needed rest for my wife and me. first time we were able to have peace and quite in along timewith 3 grandsons at home plus our daughter. the cabin was great perfect for our time alone

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Jim Oliver's Smoke House and _Best Western _Smokehouse Lodge has 21 cabins for rest and relaxation. Most cabins have jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. Great food at _Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant, featuring family recipies from 4 generations. Perfect for family _Spring Breaks, _Easter Getaways.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 550 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

Enjoyed spending the night in one of the newer cabins. Very private and comfortable. Wish we'd had more time to spend there and perhaps chosen a weekend when it didn't rain so much. We would have enjoyed walking the grounds a bit. There was live music (free) at the Smokehouse (on property) Saturday night. The cabin was clean and neat. Dishes, pots, pans, linen all provided. The fireplace was very nice (it got a little smoky in the room - might have needed some adjustment - and be sure to take some paper, etc. to light the fire - wood provided but nothing to get it started). Indoor hot tub for two! Yay! The employee who took my reservation over the phone was very sweet, fast and professional. Check in/out went very well too. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Check online and look at all the cabin choices. We preferred the newer style cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingFromTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you so much for the review. For all of you who rent a cabin, we have FIRE STARTERS availiable at the front desk.

We appreciate your business, come see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was a quick overnight getaway for us. It was closer than Gatlinburg and Atlanta. Just 45 min from Chattanooga. We stayed in a older cabin. The staff was friendly when we checked in. The cabin itself was one of the older cabins but it was clean and acceptable. Firewood was provided. We had to Fred's across the street to buy a firestarter log and lighter. The wood was green and didnt burn well, so the firestarter log really helped. Pet friendly. We went to the Smokehouse Restaurant for dinner. There was pleasant live music and a nice environment. The service was horrible. We had a difficult getting the server to bring drinks and refills or take our order. She tried to give us 2 other tables food. However, we weren't in a huge hurry and didn't complain. My husband ordered a rack of ribs which had a good flavor. I ordered a stuffed baked potatoe. The plate was made up of 2 small potatoes to look like one big one. Both potatoes were not fresh but it was edible. The restaurant was convenient ,everyone was friendly and the gift shop was interesting to look around. Even with the poor service and mediocre food, the visit was pleasant and we would go back again for the laid back environment.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oxygen1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Jim Oliver's Smoke House and _Best Western _Smokehouse Lodge has 21 cabins for rest and relaxation. Most cabins have jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. Great food at _Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant, featuring family recipies from 4 generations. Perfect for family _Spring Breaks, _Easter Getaways. _Live Music every Friday and Sautrday night. _Monteagle Cabins.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Basic Very Clean Room in a convenient location. Pet friendly. Stayed upstairs facing road. No issues with noise. Very comfortable bed.
The Smokehouse Resturant was interesting to visit. We only had sausage and biscuits for breakfast. They were nothing special. We did enjoy looking around the store and purchased a few pints of jam to take home. We purchased a bag of mild pork skins and they didn't make it home. They were very tasty!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cookie1Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Jim Oliver's Smoke House and _Best Western _Smokehouse Lodge has 21 cabins for rest and relaxation. Most cabins have jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. Great food at _Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant, featuring family recipies from 4 generations. Perfect for family _Spring Breaks, _Easter Getaways. _Live Music every Friday and Sautrday night. _Monteagle Cabins.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank SHELAGH G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a clean, safe, somewhat dated Best Western. Very nice staff, comfortable beds, clean but older carpets and furnishings. Be aware they have "cabins" and rooms, with the rooms being pretty basic. No refrig, no breakfast, rooms have outside doors. That means when your neighbors leave they go back and forth to their car right outside your door, so not particularly quiet, kind of hit and miss. The restaurant is attached to the motel, pretty good food with emphasis on regional fare. Oddly you can get bottled beer and pre-mixed cocktails there, but no wine.

When I travel I am looking for safe and clean first of all, and this was fine. Just nothing special, and a little on the expensive side for what you get.

Room Tip: The rooms are walk out to the parking lot right outside your door, If you don't mind the climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for your comments, glad you had a good experience and that you will stop in again on your next visit over Monteagle Mountain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Not the cleanest or fanciest, but very nice for the money. I would stay again for sure.


I wish for water pressure was better, but again for for money no big deal. And if all I can complain about its water pressure, then you know its a good value.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank red97xj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Jim Oliver's Smoke House and _Best Western _Smokehouse Lodge has 21 cabins for rest and relaxation. Most cabins have jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. Great food at _Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant, featuring family recipies from 4 generations. Perfect for family _Spring Breaks, _Easter Getaways. _Live Music every Friday and Sautrday night. _Monteagle Cabins. _Old General Store _LouvinBrothersMuseum _MoonshineStill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteagle
3.9 mi away
The Sewanee Inn
The Sewanee Inn
#1 of 1 in Sewanee
655 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
#1 of 6 in Monteagle
505 reviews
1.7 mi away
Motel 6 Monteagle
Motel 6 Monteagle
#5 of 6 in Monteagle
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 17 in Manchester
282 reviews
13.9 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#1 of 1 in Winchester
201 reviews
19.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins

Address: 850 W Main St, P.O. Box 579, Monteagle, TN 37356-7027 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Price Range: $70 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Vintage Nostalgic Authentic Since 1960, 80 miles SE of Nashville - 40 miles NW of Chattanooga Interstate 24 Exit 134. Still owned and operated by the Oliver family. Recent renovation to all rooms and the property. The Lodge has 80 rooms, 21 cabins featuring 1,2, 3 BR cabins; full kitchens Jacuzzis Fireplaces. Indoor meeting facilities up to 160, outdoor pavilion seating 150, 20 acres of outdoor activities. Restaurant features authentic Smoked Meats Ribs Brisket Chicken Full Menu from $2 to $18, sandwiches sides dinners & large Buffet, fresh salad bar, homemade stew, skillet cornbread and bread pudding; locally grown foods. Breakfast Lunch Dinner Open Everyday 6:30AM - 9:00PM, till 10:00PM Fri & Sat. Live Singer/Songwriter Music Friday and Saturday nights. Huge Old Trading Post General Store Gift shop. Area festivals and attractions Bonnaroo Festival River Bend Chattanooga Corn Bread Festival Monteagle Arts & Crafts Festival Beersheba Crafts Festival, South Cumberland State Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Smokehouse Hotel Monteagle
Monteagle Smokehouse Lodge Hotel
Monteagle Best Western
Best Western Monteagle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing