We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“much needed rest” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“much needed rest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

spent two days and nights with much needed rest for my wife and me. first time we were able to have peace and quite in along timewith 3 grandsons at home plus our daughter. the cabin was great perfect for our time alone

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Jim Oliver's Smoke House and _Best Western _Smokehouse Lodge has 21 cabins for rest and relaxation. Most cabins have jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. Great food at _Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant, featuring family recipies from 4 generations. Perfect for family _Spring Breaks, _Easter Getaways.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    120
    72
    60
    56
See reviews for
152
154
30
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Enjoyed spending the night in one of the newer cabins. Very private and comfortable. Wish we'd had more time to spend there and perhaps chosen a weekend when it didn't rain so much. We would have enjoyed walking the grounds a bit. There was live music (free) at the Smokehouse (on property) Saturday night. The cabin was clean and neat. Dishes, pots, pans, linen all provided. The fireplace was very nice (it got a little smoky in the room - might have needed some adjustment - and be sure to take some paper, etc. to light the fire - wood provided but nothing to get it started). Indoor hot tub for two! Yay! The employee who took my reservation over the phone was very sweet, fast and professional. Check in/out went very well too. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Check online and look at all the cabin choices. We preferred the newer style cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingFromTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you so much for the review. For all of you who rent a cabin, we have FIRE STARTERS availiable at the front desk.

We appreciate your business, come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was a quick overnight getaway for us. It was closer than Gatlinburg and Atlanta. Just 45 min from Chattanooga. We stayed in a older cabin. The staff was friendly when we checked in. The cabin itself was one of the older cabins but it was clean and acceptable. Firewood was provided. We had to Fred's across the street to buy a firestarter log and lighter. The wood was green and didnt burn well, so the firestarter log really helped. Pet friendly. We went to the Smokehouse Restaurant for dinner. There was pleasant live music and a nice environment. The service was horrible. We had a difficult getting the server to bring drinks and refills or take our order. She tried to give us 2 other tables food. However, we weren't in a huge hurry and didn't complain. My husband ordered a rack of ribs which had a good flavor. I ordered a stuffed baked potatoe. The plate was made up of 2 small potatoes to look like one big one. Both potatoes were not fresh but it was edible. The restaurant was convenient ,everyone was friendly and the gift shop was interesting to look around. Even with the poor service and mediocre food, the visit was pleasant and we would go back again for the laid back environment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oxygen1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Jim Oliver's Smoke House and _Best Western _Smokehouse Lodge has 21 cabins for rest and relaxation. Most cabins have jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. Great food at _Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant, featuring family recipies from 4 generations. Perfect for family _Spring Breaks, _Easter Getaways. _Live Music every Friday and Sautrday night. _Monteagle Cabins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, TN
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Basic Very Clean Room in a convenient location. Pet friendly. Stayed upstairs facing road. No issues with noise. Very comfortable bed.
The Smokehouse Resturant was interesting to visit. We only had sausage and biscuits for breakfast. They were nothing special. We did enjoy looking around the store and purchased a few pints of jam to take home. We purchased a bag of mild pork skins and they didn't make it home. They were very tasty!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cookie1Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Jim Oliver's Smoke House and _Best Western _Smokehouse Lodge has 21 cabins for rest and relaxation. Most cabins have jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. Great food at _Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant, featuring family recipies from 4 generations. Perfect for family _Spring Breaks, _Easter Getaways. _Live Music every Friday and Sautrday night. _Monteagle Cabins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champlin, Minnesota
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a clean, safe, somewhat dated Best Western. Very nice staff, comfortable beds, clean but older carpets and furnishings. Be aware they have "cabins" and rooms, with the rooms being pretty basic. No refrig, no breakfast, rooms have outside doors. That means when your neighbors leave they go back and forth to their car right outside your door, so not particularly quiet, kind of hit and miss. The restaurant is attached to the motel, pretty good food with emphasis on regional fare. Oddly you can get bottled beer and pre-mixed cocktails there, but no wine.

When I travel I am looking for safe and clean first of all, and this was fine. Just nothing special, and a little on the expensive side for what you get.

Room Tip: The rooms are walk out to the parking lot right outside your door, If you don't mind the climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments, glad you had a good experience and that you will stop in again on your next visit over Monteagle Mountain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Not the cleanest or fanciest, but very nice for the money. I would stay again for sure.


I wish for water pressure was better, but again for for money no big deal. And if all I can complain about its water pressure, then you know its a good value.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank red97xj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Jim Oliver's Smoke House and _Best Western _Smokehouse Lodge has 21 cabins for rest and relaxation. Most cabins have jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. Great food at _Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant, featuring family recipies from 4 generations. Perfect for family _Spring Breaks, _Easter Getaways. _Live Music every Friday and Sautrday night. _Monteagle Cabins. _Old General Store _LouvinBrothersMuseum _MoonshineStill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteagle
4.0 mi away
The Sewanee Inn
The Sewanee Inn
#1 of 1 in Sewanee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
#1 of 6 in Monteagle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.6 mi away
Motel 6 Monteagle
Motel 6 Monteagle
#5 of 6 in Monteagle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kimball
Hampton Inn Kimball
#1 of 5 in Kimball
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
13.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn
BEST WESTERN Inn
#1 of 1 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
19.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites, Manchester, TN
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins

Property: The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
Address: 850 W Main St, P.O. Box 579, Monteagle, TN 37356-7027 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than your typical roadside motel, the World Famous Smoke House gives you more for your money. Since 1960 the Oliver family has been serving folks traveling over Monteagle Mountain; located just 300 yards off I-24 at Exit 134, 80 miles SE of Nashville, and 40 miles NW of Chattanooga. Still owned and operated by the Oliver family. Just recently completed a $2,000,000 renovation to all rooms and the property. The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins offers a variety of lodging accommodations for a one night stay as well as vacation getaways, family reunions, and meeting facilities. The Lodge has 80 rooms featuring King and Queen Beds, 21 cabins featuring one bed room cabins, two bed room, and a cabin with 6 king and queen beds, plus fold out couches. Most cabins have full kitchen facilities, Jacuzzi Tubs, Fireplaces, porches, leather sofas, all linens and kitchen cookware are provided by the Smoke House. Meeting facilities include conference facility up to 250 seats, outdoor covered shed seating 150, the Log Cabin Chapel seating 70, the Big Family Cabin seating 50, and over 20 acres of campus for a variety of outdoor activities. The Restaurant features its world famous Smoked Meats such as Pork Ribs, Beef Brisket, Pulled Pork Shoulder, Country Ham, Honey Baked Ham, and the largest selection of BBQ Sauces, Hot Sauces, Vinegars, Jams, Pickles, and Toppings you'll find anywhere. Full Menu from $2 to $18, large Buffet with hot vegetables, casseroles, and choice of meats, large fresh salad bar, homemade vegetable-beef stew, skillet cornbread and skillet bread pudding. Featuring fresh produce from local farmers in all the menu items and salad bar. Serving Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner; Open Everyday 6:30AM - 9:00PM, till 10:00PM Friday and Saturday. Live Singer/Songwriter Music every Friday and Saturday night starting at 7PM to 10PM, featuring a main act first, and a Songwriter Round of playing for the second act. Music features Blues, Country, Pop, Jazz, Bluegrass, and soft rock; solo, duos, and groups. The Trading Post Old General Store is a place you could spend the whole day looking around. Homemade candy, fried pies, Fudge, Ice Cream, Smoke House BBQ Sauces, Rubs, Hot sauces, Jams, Honey, Pickles, Antiques, 40 flavors of Glass Bottled Soft Drinks, Local Crafts, Old Country Store Merchantile Artifacts, Moonshine Still Exhibit area, and the Louvin Brothers Country Music Museum. A convenient place to stay for many area festivals and attractions. Bonnaroo Music Festival, River Bend Music Festival, Corn Bread Festival, Monteagle Arts & Crafts Festival, Beersheba Arts and Crafts Festival, South Cumberland State Park, Russel Cave National Monument, Sewanee Summer Music Festival, All Saints Festival of Lessons and Carrols, Tims Ford Lake, Nickajack Lake, Tennessee River, Tennessee Aquarium, The Discovery Museum, Chattanooga, Lookout Mountain, Country Music Association Fan Fair Nashville, Thunder on the Rock, the Collins River, the Elk River, University of the South Sewanee, Saint Andrews - Sewanee School. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Smokehouse Hotel Monteagle
Monteagle Smokehouse Lodge Hotel
Monteagle Best Western
Best Western Monteagle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing