We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much bigger property than you'd expect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This location is just off the interstate, easy to get to but also very quiet. There is a big green space and cabins behind the main building. The front desk staff was wonderful and the room was clean and comfortable. We stayed several nights when the hotel was completely full but still it was very quiet. The exterior is somewhat run down but not unsafe. There are nice deck chairs on the back porch for sitting if you want to enjoy the view. The SmokeHouse is going for a "rustic" look but in some places the look was more "worn out" than "down home log cabin." We loved the sterile TV remote but the internet service was spotty. Another drawback was a shortage of electric outlets, especially around the nightstand. There weren't enough places for the two of us to recharge our devices without unplugging the alarm clock or a lamp. The cabin locations extend a long way past the main building and is pretty to walk around. If you are interested in a cabin they have kitchens and hot tubs in most of them and one is very large to sleep a lot of people. The main buildings are two story with exterior corridors. Summary - the staff is great but the hotel is starting to show its age. I do recommend it for a stay in the area or overnight but can't give them a 100% satisfied because of the cosmetic wear.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back have a view of the grassy area and cabins, ones in the front will allow you to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldlchloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for all the positive comments about our property!

In regards to the 'worn out' features, we are currently replacing features used & or touched by customers around the property that apperar worn out; with over 20 acres, 85 rooms, 21 cabins, and the restaurant & old country store of over 20,000sf, it takes a while to get around to all the fixtures that need attention. For example, last time we counted, we had 9,500 light fixtures alone around the whole property, and most of these fixtures have more than one bulb; almost all bulbs have been replaced with energy efficient florcent bulbs. So as you can see, all the features represent several thousand items thay may or may not need attention. Good news, we are making alot of headway on these items. We want our facility to be rustic, not run down, so hopefully the old wagons or plows around the property will continue to welcome customers, but some of the old fixtures will not.

We have been focused inside the rooms all year, but we wil be moving outside in a few days, and you will start to see these on your next trip.

Thank you for your comments, and come see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 563 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

First off, we didn't stay in the hotel, but I wanted to review the Barbecue restaurant located there. First thing you notice is the aroma of smoking meat in the parking lot. When you go in you are greeted with country store full of country kitsch and cooking sauces / accessories. On the way to the dining room we were offered tastes of smoked ribs, a whole gamut of sauces one could sample, flavored pork skins in flavors I had never seen. We checked out the buffet, but since we were continuing our trip decided we would eat too much to drive aftter stuffing ourselves. It was a good choice, the pork plates we received were more that we could finish. We took a to go box and had the leftovers for supper. Great pork, wonderful cornbread, and sides that just made you moan in appreciation. They offer music on Saturday nights, and we plan to take a weekend trip back to eat and hear some tunes. The staff was great, friendly, informative and helpful. We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for your comments, glad you had a good experience and that you will stop in again on your next visit over Monteagle Mountain. It's great to have feedback from our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Always leave wishing we had more time to spend here. The grounds are lovely, the room, while older, has been painstakingly maintained. A/C worked great and had it's own remote. Speaking of which, they have "clean remotes" for the TV :-). The beds were comfortable with fluffy pillows and nice linens; shower had plenty of hot water and great water pressure. Wifi signal was adequate to check the weather but not to stream netflix. The rooms with fridge and micro were not available at the late hour of our check in and they haven't upgraded to flat screen tvs yet. But it's such a pretty site that it's not the kind of place you want to spend in your room watching television anyway! Comes with 10% discount for the restaurant next door which serves great food.

Room Tip: The rooms with the best views are on the back side but if you want to park in front of your room you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LINDA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Perfect getaway for a few nights, down home atmosphere when you need a break, staff pleasant and able to help with needs, not a new hotel, however the location, customer service, and atmosphere made my experience. Pleasant compared to the normal almost robotic service seen in the central Florida area. Nice getaway option.

Room Tip: You have the choice of a hotel room or a cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Floridareesecup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The room was excellent - everything was fresh and pleasant - the beds were very comfortable and cozy - it is so nice to stay in a nicely remodeled room with cozy beds and wonderful "rain" shower heads..........i was also so happy that the coffee for the room was organic and yummy!

The breakfeast was wonderful - i ordered off the menu - they had the best sausage and bacon this side of the Mississippi- the jelly was wondermous and i was impressed that the jellies and barbeque sauce were for sale - taste tests available. Yum!

This is a great place with a wonderful family atmosphere- i will definately be back again, again, and again..................................

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We ended up with a last minute stay here due to bad weather. The first room we were given had a very powerful chemical odor - strong enough to make my eyes water, and I'm not particularly sensitive to smell. My guess at the time was that it was either an insecticide or an attempt to cover a worse odor. I requested a change, and was given a room on the second floor that was distinctly musty, but tolerable, especially compared to the first room. Apart from the smells, the rooms were okay. The desk clerk didn't seem surprised or concerned by my complaint about the odor in the first room. Today I checked the Bedbug Registry and found a recent report on bedbugs in the first room, so I suspect the odor was insecticide. While I realize that every hotel has to treat for bedbugs sometimes, they shouldn't be renting out the rooms until the fumes clear.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littorea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

We sincerely apologize for this inconvience, the room may have had the carpet cleaned earlier in the day, and still had odor from that cleaning. We are currently replacing the carpets in the rooms with wood floors, and this problem is eliminated as we complete this installation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

The motel area of the SmokeHouse is really run down. The metal stairway by the office is rusted out and dangerous, the desk clerk was aware. We came to the SmokeHhouse in 1989-93 when our daughter was at Sewanee,so I expected that this visit would be more pleasant with Best Western taking it on.
We had to change rooms (no questions asked) as the lights over the vanity were out. A small fridge and microwave would have been nice after driving all the way from Charleston, SC.
Desk clerk Portia seemed inexperienced and not very welcoming.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JosetteG200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteagle
3.9 mi away
The Sewanee Inn
The Sewanee Inn
#1 of 1 in Sewanee
675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
#1 of 6 in Monteagle
514 reviews
13.9 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#1 of 1 in Winchester
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Motel 6 Monteagle
Motel 6 Monteagle
#5 of 6 in Monteagle
43 reviews
18.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 17 in Manchester
216 reviews
16.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kimball
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins

Address: 850 W Main St, P.O. Box 579, Monteagle, TN 37356-7027 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Price Range: $51 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Vintage Nostalgic Authentic Since 1960, 80 miles SE of Nashville - 40 miles NW of Chattanooga Interstate 24 Exit 134. Recent renovation to all rooms and the property. The Lodge has 80 rooms, 21 cabins featuring 1,2, 3 BR cabins; full kitchens Jacuzzi Tubs Fireplaces. Indoor meeting facilities up to 160, outdoor pavilion seating 150, 20 acres of outdoor activities. Restaurant features authentic Smoked Meats Ribs Brisket Chicken Full Menu from $2 to $18, sandwiches sides dinners & large Buffet, fresh salad bar, homemade stew, skillet cornbread and bread pudding; locally grown foods. Breakfast Lunch Dinner Open Everyday 6:30AM - 9:00PM, till 10:00PM Fri & Sat. Live Singer/Songwriter Music Friday and Saturday nights. Huge Old General Store Gift shop. Bonnaroo River Bend Chattanooga Manchester South Pittsburg Monteagle Arts & Crafts Festival, Beersheba Crafts Festival, South Cumberland State Park, Fall Creek Falls, Bluegrass Underground, Sewanee, Tim's Ford, Nickajack, The Caverns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Smokehouse Hotel Monteagle
Monteagle Smokehouse Lodge Hotel
Monteagle Best Western
Best Western Monteagle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing