We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain Air”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Reviewed November 17, 2011

This is a great place. I've had the pleasure of spending time at this establishment all four seasons. The place is great, but the area and grounds are even better and a little different each time. I love seeing a picture of the same location during all four seasons, and this place is no different. Supper accomidations, clean, and priced right. "Mountain Air" makes you feel alive and great any time of the year.
I'll be back!

Room Tip: Rooms or cabins. There's no wrong place. I perfer the country view of the back rooms and I'v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

490 - 496 of 558 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2011

After having reservations for a cabin for a year and having confirmed everything the week before, we were disappointed to find a large party had booked and some how our cabin reservations became single room reservations. Not what we had found to work best for us having stayed here in the past. Front desk personal apologies were heartfelt but did not help. We ended up cutting the trip short by three days as the older rooms with limited and dysfunctional kitchen accommodations were annoying. The upside is the attached restaurant has good basic fare served well by very nice and attentive staff. Will think twice about booking again....don't like surprises at the end of a long trip and there are limited hotel rooms in the area from which to choose if you want to "vote with your feet". Internet was not accessible except in the lobby. The bathrooms are limited and were not the highest quality when installed many years ago. But the grounds are clean and the area has basic amenities including a Piggly Wiggly, liquor store, Fred's, and some fast food places.

Room Tip: Do not know that it matters as management seems to shuffle to accommodate... Which is either the goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laneotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Have stayed here many times over the years, always with our dog. The grounds are great, plenty of space for them to run around. The rooms are somewhat standard although there are some with upgrades like a fireplace or jacuzzi. The cabins are more rustic for the price, especially on the weekends. AAA discount helps but price is more in line with quality if you can book a weekday stay. There are some newer cabins available so they may provide a different experience. Cabin #427 was an older one,spacious for a one bedroom and furniture was comfortable. Only real issue was with the smoke smell. We booked a nonsmoking cabin so I'm not sure if we got a smoking one or it's just due to the fireplace. There is a small open field behind that cabin and had a little more seperate feel than some of the others, so we had one happy doggy.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing pool side if possible or one of the newer cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TNDayTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We stayed at one of the cabins in October 2011. The cabin was pretty nice, but it had some faults. Please review the photos posted. The main room and bed were very nice. The kitchen was functional but very ugly and most of the cabinets/drawers did not open! The hot tub worked, although its controls were hard to spot. The bathroom, however, was an abrupt change , as it looked horrible - just the cheapest units and with no-excuse peeling paint.
The fireplace was a very nice touch, but it turned out that it smoked - it did not draw correctly. The grate was missing the middle, so it was quite an effort to get a fire started. When we did get it going, the smoke went into the room, although the flue was wide open. We had to put it out.
The screened porch was also a nice feature, but it was rendered useless because the screen on the door was not attached, so our dogs could push out w/o any trouble.
Good points: Cabin was fairly attractive, bed was comfortable, hot tub worked, good location. Very good restaurant attached - the Smoke House. Great 'country-style' store and good country cooking! Eat here, even if you don't stay the night. Another great point in favor is that they allow pets.
Bad points: many things were not functional, price was rather high for this, customer service was non-existent when these problems were pointed out.
Summary: If you are not looking for luxury and don't mind some non-functioning elements, you will have a fairly comfortable night or two. Not recommended for a long-term stay.

Room Tip: Check with the front desk for a cabin. Also, ensure that the elements mentioned above are functiona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nashvillecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Larger than average, older Best Western. Rooms were spacious and clean. Temperature control was fine. Pillows were hard as a rock; small but tall. Bed was fine and the linens were too. Bathroom was clean and the shower very basic, but OK. In room coffee maker had pretty fair coffee packs. Internet was abysmal - essentially useless. The live music on Friday night was a trip. The band consisted of ZZ Top's less talented, but otherwise identical twin cousins. Reputedly "all the way from Nashville". We didn't feel a part of the crowd, or particularly welcome, but it was fun nonetheless.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff3545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

I was impressed with the quality of the customer service at this hotel. Great spot for someone traveling with pets, lots of room for them to walk and play. Good value with a military discount. Bed was very hard but the room was spacious. Love the Country Store next door and the breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjaussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Smokehouse Lodge. Now I get it-smokehouse refers to the line of housekeeping staff perched on a log (sounds like a country song to me) smoking and texting as guests check in. Like its Best Western cousin down the mountain in Winchester, TN, this property has seen many, many better days. No deadbolt on room door, only a flimsy slding chain lock. Hotel choices in Monteagle appear to be $$$$ b&bs or $$less than best.
Desk staff was helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eB0LD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteagle
3.9 mi away
The Sewanee Inn
The Sewanee Inn
#1 of 1 in Sewanee
665 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
#1 of 6 in Monteagle
513 reviews
1.7 mi away
Motel 6 Monteagle
Motel 6 Monteagle
#5 of 6 in Monteagle
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#1 of 1 in Winchester
205 reviews
18.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 17 in Manchester
290 reviews
19.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins

Address: 850 W Main St, P.O. Box 579, Monteagle, TN 37356-7027 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Price Range: $55 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Vintage Nostalgic Authentic Since 1960, 80 miles SE of Nashville - 40 miles NW of Chattanooga Interstate 24 Exit 134. Recent renovation to all rooms and the property. The Lodge has 80 rooms, 21 cabins featuring 1,2, 3 BR cabins; full kitchens Jacuzzi Tubs Fireplaces. Indoor meeting facilities up to 160, outdoor pavilion seating 150, 20 acres of outdoor activities. Restaurant features authentic Smoked Meats Ribs Brisket Chicken Full Menu from $2 to $18, sandwiches sides dinners & large Buffet, fresh salad bar, homemade stew, skillet cornbread and bread pudding; locally grown foods. Breakfast Lunch Dinner Open Everyday 6:30AM - 9:00PM, till 10:00PM Fri & Sat. Live Singer/Songwriter Music Friday and Saturday nights. Huge Old General Store Gift shop. Bonnaroo River Bend Chattanooga Manchester South Pittsburg Monteagle Arts & Crafts Festival, Beersheba Crafts Festival, South Cumberland State Park, Fall Creek Falls, Bluegrass Underground, Sewanee, Tim's Ford, Nickajack, The Caverns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Smokehouse Hotel Monteagle
Monteagle Smokehouse Lodge Hotel
Monteagle Best Western
Best Western Monteagle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing