We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not again.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of American Eagle Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monteagle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
American Eagle Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
New Albany, Indiana
1 review
“Not again.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

First time staying here. We didn't want to travel through the mountains at night so we stopped here. Close proximity to interstate with nice big front room. The rooms were plain but clean. Front desk clerk was nice. Not many people staying the night. We did not eat the breakfast. Had an almost scalding moment when turning on the shower. The hot water was way to hot. I love a hot shower but the water temp was above what was safe. Being a business owner myself I can see a savings by turning down the water heating system. The front entry has two signs on the door that pets are not allowed but our room (120) had a bad pet odor. It became more noticeable the longer we stayed in the room. We have many pets of my own but really couldn't take the smell of this room again. Couldn't recommend staying here for this reason.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david_b31659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
13
7
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Was stranded on the mountaintop by fog so stayed at the American eagle inn. The lobby has a soaring fireplace and is decorated in antiques making it the perfect place to hang out and socialize. The staff was super friendly. Really enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashem74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

We had a very pleasant experience at this establishment. The room was large and very well maintained. Everything was clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff was most gracious and accommodating. A good continental breakfast was included in the price of thew room. The establishment was very quiet; there were not very many guests there on the night we stayed. It might be a little bit noisier when filled with guests. It is easily accessible, being located a short block from the interstate interchange.
A great place to stay, especially when visiting the University of the South.

Room Tip: Room with king sized bed had lots of space to spare. Included refrigerator and microwave oven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldBob26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

Comfortable with interesting antique and flea market items in lobby and breakfast area

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank potterygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

This business isn't listed in the AAA Tour Book, nor on orbitz.com; the only way I found it was on tripadvisor, thanks to earlier reviewers. Also, you can't book online, you have to call the 800 number. But it is a fine motel. The location is definitely "just off the interstate," our view was of the back of the liquor store in front of the motel. But no big deal.

The rooms were bigger than some, quite clean and the bathroom was more spacious than some. It was quiet.

I thought the continental breakfast was just fair, but a table of 4 kids and their grandmother had just cleaned out the offerings.

I asked the front desk person about not being listed on other motel sites, and she said that the owner was OK with doing it his way, that most of their business was from Sewanee (a university 6 miles away), and that they were happy relying on word of mouth.

I recommend it, a good value for the money, a throwback to a well-run motel before the days of ubiquitous chain lodgings. We had supper at Modern Dave's, and my rainbow trout was excellent. The place looks like a garage from the outside, but it's got good food, and a large selection of beer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rrsrichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loganville
Level Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

we was on our way back to atlanta,was very tired and decided to stay some place new. stop at american eagle inn and wow,this place is very clean,the staff was very nice and the price was very good.if you get the chance stop and see these folks you will be surprised!!!!! thank you again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cvcocktails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

The people at the American Eagle could not have been any nicer! The location is so great and the rooms are nice. An earlier reviewer indicated that the room has no shampoo or conditioner, but we were supplied with nice toiletries. The breakfast was fine as well. I would definitely stay there again and I would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ljcraddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteagle
0.6 mi away
The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
0.3 mi away
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
#1 of 6 in Monteagle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Sewanee Inn
The Sewanee Inn
#1 of 1 in Sewanee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Motel 6 Monteagle
Motel 6 Monteagle
#5 of 6 in Monteagle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Kimball
Hampton Inn Kimball
#1 of 5 in Kimball
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
14.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn
BEST WESTERN Inn
#1 of 1 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Eagle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Eagle Inn

Property: American Eagle Inn
Address: 509 W Main St, Monteagle, TN 37356-7023
Location: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
American Eagle Hotel Monteagle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing