We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“do not stay at mountain inn”
Review of Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mountain Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“do not stay at mountain inn”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

rented two rooms last minute on friday. both rooms in poor condition. one room with hole in the comforter and did not look clean. second room had hair on mattress from previous renter.
manager overslept so no coffee in morning also was supposed to be OJ but machine broke.
another renter was in lobby next morning and more complaints than i can list.
the day after i stay at mountain inn started getting phone calls from solicitors. DO Not leave phone # when asked

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gujr, Manager at Mountain Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. At Mountain Inn we strive every day to provide superior customer service. I am sorry we were not able to do that for you. We will use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the future.

Because we did not provide you with the service you deserve, I have authorized an immediate given you FULL CASH REFUND at the time of your checkout.
We have full house that night and we serve coffee from 5.00AM and last we never ever soliciting information of any guest, we strongly denied of false accusations.

I hope you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with exceptional service.

If I can provide any further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 931-924-2221.


Sincerely,

upu
Mountain Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    4
    5
    5
See reviews for
5
8
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2013

On our recent 2 day visit to Monteagle, while visiting the Foster falls, stone door and cumberland state park, we stayed at the inn. Rooms were nice, clean and spacious. TVs are still the old bulky once but they do have the remotes. so, we dint mind it. Considering the rate of $44 that we paid, it was well worht it. We had a lot of channels.
we checked other hotels in the area, they were all higher. They dont have pool but we dint care in November. But, they do have waffle house on side and subway on the other. we dont have to drive for our meals.
We dont plan to be in the area anytime soon, but if we will, we would stay here.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms saves $5
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigtimetraveler55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gujr, Manager at Mountain Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 931-924-2221.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

upu
Mountain Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron Mountain, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Needed a place at the last minute on a Saturday night, and this was the cheapest we could find, the closest to where we already were. But, at 60 bucks for the night, it wasn't worth it. We had a non-smoking room that reeked of stale cigarette smoke, and the bedspread was burned in multiple places. Old TV (couldn't read the score on the baseball game), and no remote. It did have a small fridge and microwave, but microwave barely worked (2 min on high to make 8 oz of water warm...not hot). That said, it was relatively clean, seemed safe, and staff were friendly. Not going to hurt you to stay here, but not really what I would call "pleasant," either.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monteagle hotels

Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel is ok if its a last minute thing. Pricey for what you get. Beds were very weak, soft - not firm at all. no bugs, clean, only coffee in the morning. could hear trucks go by, NO VIEW at all. and the best thing about this hotel is they dont rent to locals.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skelley1722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAVI G, General Manager at Mountain Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about our cleanliness and bug free hotel. We certainly appreciate it.

We are most reasonable priced hotel on the exit. Our rooms are also very spacious. On special event days, our prices are higher than usual rates as they are for the other hotels as well.

Our hotel has 2 sides. For light sleepers, we recommend that they request the other side rooms.

You are also correct that most of our guests are travelling up and down to and from Florida.

Our complimentary Breakfast is very limited, due to our budget prices, serving only Coffee, Orange Juice and Muffins from 6Am to 9Am. Most travelling guests are already on the road by then. However, we continue to serve the coffee until 10Am.

You are correct about the Views. However, we are on Monteagle Mountain. Guest enjoy the mountain breeze with open space and acreage of the hotel. There is also wildlife on the mountain and our guests have occasionally spotted deers from the hotel. The State Park is just 5 miles away and there are several lakes in the area. The Grounds at nearby University of the South in Sewanee is also worth visiting.

We invite you to come and stay with us again on non-special event day to get our usual low rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I would suggest you go down the road a little more. This place was overpriced for what ya got. Cause you got nothing but two beds, sink, tub and toilet. We had to blow dry our hair turned upside down over the air/heat unit. Paid 70.00, we went to Sweetwater Tn the next nite paid Less than that. I hope they take our money and buy things for the rooms!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pix H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAVI G, General Manager at Mountain Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
First, I would like to apologize since the hotel failed to meet your expectations. I also would like to thank you for your comments.

Secondly, we are now under new management.

Our prices are very reasonable starting at $34.95 in off season and $39.95 in season for a single person. There is a charge for additional persons and children under 12 are free. Our Jacuzzi rooms are higher priced. During the special events, like all other hotels in the area, our rates are higher.

Our Guests traveling up and down to and from Florida enjoy our clean and comfortable accommodations with 26 inch cable TV, Free ice, free parking, morning coffee with Juice and Muffins. We also have adequate parking for long vehicles pulling trailer or boats. Truck parking is also available.

You are correct that we do not have hair dryers in our rooms as we are a budget property.

We have Waffle house on one side and Subway on the other side. Additionally, there are 10 other restaurants within a mile. We are on Best Exit in 40 mile stretch from Manchester to Kimball.

We invite you to come and stay with us again, hopefully during the non-special event day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteagle
0.3 mi away
The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
0.0 mi away
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
#1 of 6 in Monteagle
454 reviews
1.5 mi away
Motel 6 Monteagle
Motel 6 Monteagle
#5 of 6 in Monteagle
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Sewanee Inn
The Sewanee Inn
#1 of 1 in Sewanee
628 reviews
22.4 mi away
Ambassador Inn & Luxury Suites
16.5 mi away
Super 8 Kimball
Super 8 Kimball
#4 of 5 in Kimball
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Inn

Property: Mountain Inn
Address: 715 W Main St, Monteagle, TN 37356-7020
Location: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Inn offers economy accommodation. The hotel offers Free WiFi, Free Long Distance, Free Coffee. Rooms recently updated in Spring 2011. Pets allowed only in designated rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing