We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food $ great atmosphere”

Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant and Old General Store
Ranked #3 of 24 Restaurants in Monteagle
Price range: $2 - $18
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Open Everyday, 6:30 AM - 9:PM, 10 PM on Fri & Sat. Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner. Since 1960, family owned and operated World Famous Jim Oliver’s Smoke House has been serving up delicious and fun Southern Hospitality at the _Restaurant and _shopping at the Old General Store. Menu Featuring Everything Homemade from scrach Famous Smoked Meats such as Pork BBQ Ribs, Beef Brisket, Smoked Chicken, Hand Pulled Pork Shoulder, Country Ham, Honey Baked Ham, Smoked Bacon, Catfish, Frog Legs, Fried Chicken Livers, and all the BBQ and Hot Sauces to go with it; worlds largest selection of sauces all free to taste. Jams, Pickles, Vinegars, Sauces, Desert Toppings, Local Honey, Homemade candy & Fudge, Homemade Fried Pies & Ice Cream, Fresh local farmer Hand Picked Produce featured in all dishes, big all you can eat Buffet & Fresh Salad Bar with homemade Beef-Vegetable Stew and Cast Iron Skillet Cornbread & Bread Pudding. Cast Iron Cooking for many of our items featured. Fresh Hot Biscuits, Cornbread, and desserts. Childrens' menu. Large Beer Selection. _Live Music every weekend by special Nashville Music Artists, No Cover Charge, Bring the Family, food and beverages served during show. Regional Southern cookin’ offering three generations of family recipes on the menu and the daily buffet & Salad Bar, Homemade everyday! The Old General Store has Vintage and Nostalgic merchandise_old fashioned _candies_antiques_homemade fudge_Ice Cream_ Moonshine Museum Attraction, and the_Louvin Brothers _Country Music _Museum. /live music/shopping/lodging/cabins/Sewanee/Winchester/ Cowan/Manchester/South Pittsburg/Tullahoma/AEDC/Nissan/Chattanooga/ Lookout Mountain/McMinville/Murfreesboro/Desserts/Coffee/Full Service_Childrens Menu_Family_Regional_BBQ_Breakfast_Lunch_Dinner
Collierville, Tennessee
2 reviews
“Great Food $ great atmosphere”
Reviewed February 28, 2011

We had a wonderful time at the restaurant and store several times during our stay. Excellent breakfast, lunch and dinner! The people was very nice and friendly, treated us just like family. We will definely go back!

  • Visited October 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eddietigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    158
    72
    59
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
“I was very disappointed and will not go back”
Reviewed January 6, 2011

I had heard about the Smoke House Restaurant for years and finally visited it in Oct 2010, actually making the trip to Crossville from the Nashville area centered around the restaurant and lodge. The dinner buffet was poorly presented. It did not look fresh and you could look at some of the choices and not be sure of what it was. The food quality was no better than it looked. Service was fair but nothing to write home about. The breakfast buffet the following morning was the same. I will not return or recommend this restaurant to anyone. The Lodge was fine; we had a nice room on the back overlooking the pool area and there were a lot of trees. I would recommend the Lodge.

  • Visited October 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phyllisclose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant and Old General Store, responded to this review, November 13, 2011
We are a service oriented business, and if you are not getting the service you deserve, ask for it. Employees are not machines, they have problems, and some times are thinking about alot of other things other than work, mo matter how much training they have, so please don't be afraid to ask for service here, the customer has rights, so ask for them. Same goes for the food, if it's not what it should be, send it back and ask for a redo or sometning else. We are here to serve you, so please let us know you comments while you are at the table, where we can take care of you, right then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Homemade Buffet and also Homemade Fried Pies”
Reviewed December 25, 2010

The buffet was great. They had the best Chicken and pulled pork. All the vegetables and a great salad bar/homemade veg soup. And for dessert, a fresh homemade fried pie or just get some of the good ole' bread pudding that is on the bar. A great place to come and eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimmypooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunlap, Tennessee
1 review
“BEST BBQ Ribs EVER!!”
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Best ribs I have ever tasted. They also have a great selection of country ham and bacon for sale in the gift shop and both are equally fantastic. I also love their jellies...the strawberry and peach are two of my favorites. Great dining experience and lots of items in the gift shop to take home. You will love it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdman0414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy City, Tennessee
2 reviews
“Best ribs and fried chicken on the mountain”
Reviewed October 29, 2010

I have eaten at the Smoke House for several years. My favorite items are the ribs and the fried chicken. I have never been disappointed!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wandag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant and Old General Store also viewed

 

Been to Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant and Old General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing