We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Ole Country Hospitality!”

Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant Trading post
Ranked #3 of 26 Restaurants in Monteagle
Price range: $2 - $18
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Since 1960 Family owned & operated Authentic Unique Vintage Nostalgic Restaurant, Gift Shop, Meeting Center, Mountain Lodge, & Cabins. Farm to Table Local Foods. Regional Authentic Menu & Cooking. Smoked Meats BBQ Ribs Brisket Chicken Hams Bacon Turkey. Full Menu & Generous Buffet w/Salad Bar + Skillet Corn Bread & Bread Pudding. Family & Group Friendly. Meetings Reunions Weddings Receptions Groups Indoor & Outdoor 20 acre campus. Large portions fair prices children's pricing. Live Music Fri & Sat nights, no admission, food & beverages served during show, family friendly & room for groups. Vacation Cabins for Couples Families & Groups on 20 acres of recreation. Close to Bluegrass Underground, The Caverns, Fall Creek Falls, South Cumberland State Park, Sewanee, Tim's Ford, Nickajack, Manchester, South Pittsburgh, Jack Daniels, Chattanooga, Nissan, Decherd, Winchester, Fiery Gizzard Trail, Savage Gulf, Stone Door. As seen in Southern Living, Tennessee Crossroads, Tennessee Magazine.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I have eaten at the Smoke House maybe 5 other times while up in the area & it is always good home cooking food. The biscuits & grave are delicious, You must also have the ham, brisket & smoked ribs. The sides are in abundance with potatoes, vegetables, fried apples etc. There are way too many delicious choices. I ordered the fried chix livers as an appetizer with more than enough to share…delicious. AFTER YOU HAVE ENJOYED A DELICIOUS MEAL GO INTO THE COUNTRY STORE & SHOP. THERE ARE SAUCES & BBQ SAUCES EVERYWHERE!!! Shipping can be done for any food items. Enjoy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FloridaTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant Trading post, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU.
Thank you so much for your comments, it makes us want to get out there and keep doing our best. Please stop in and see us again on your next trip over Monteagle Mountain. JD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

475 - 479 of 640 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

I came across this place while looking for a southern food restaurant with my visiting relatives on the way back from Rock City. We could not have possibly found a better place! We had their dinner buffet. It was superb! I tried the fried catfish, stew, mashed potatoes and gravy, mac n cheese, yellow squash, pinto beans, jalapeno cornbread, and bread pudding. It was all SO GOOD!!!!! Though I live about an hour and a half from this place, I will definitely be coming back, multiple times hopefully! I sampled the Butterfinger fudge, which was excellent! I also took home an apple fried pie to have with vanilla ice cream. Very good! The atmosphere was really cool and I enjoyed shopping in the country store. There wasn't live music yet when we were there. I also haven't been in their motel rooms. I'll have to check that out on another visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hungry4travel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant Trading post, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

It is so nice to respond to your review. Thank you so much for your comments, it makes us want to get out there and keep doing our best. Please stop in and see us again on your next trip over Monteagle Mountain. JD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

loved the nostalgic energy, the view, the quietness...food great, atmosphere excellent woodsy feel, the gift shop was packed with great little memorabilia.

Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant Trading post, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments, hope you come back to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We have stopped here several times now with different experiences each time and after this past Sun they are progressively getting worse. Being seated is a crap shoot, seen how the hostess appeared to be handling it by going down a list she was keeping and giving tables to waitress' in order not by table availability. Luckily we walked in with no line a were seated fairly quickly compared to others I saw in line. While we were sitting there waiting for our waitress for ever, one couple became irate because of a long wait and left, another couple left for the same reason while we were eating, couple behind us had to go searching for their own utensils so they could start eating. Took them an hour to get us in and out of the place and we ordered 2 cheeseburgers and 2 teas which were just alright, they have been better in the past. Seems like when they get a little busy and no one is ordering the buffet a Chinese fire drill breaks out. Place is starting to strike me as a little too touristy and that's how the apparently do business.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Justracn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant Trading post, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for your review; however, It appears that you are making comments about what you saw going on in the dining room, not necessarly what happened to you. Sunday we were extreamly busy and I'm sure we had some people waiting in line on tables and silverware at times; this happens in any restaurant, its not unusual. Also, every restaurant I know uses a hostess and she directs the customers to the next availiable server, this again is business as usual; customers are not seated at any empty table just because it's empty, there is a reason for not seating customers at just any table availiable.
We've been in business since 1960 and currently have over 300,000 customers in the restaurant every year; our numbers have steadly grown by 10-15% over the last 5 years since the depression; which tells me that we are doing something right, numbers of repeat customers are rising. We just do the best we can everyday, when we're busy it gets hectic and frustrating; thats just the way it is. If a restaurant is blown out with customers, there is a good reason for it, usually means that they are doing something right; especially in Monteagle, our local population in Monteagle is only 1200 people, not enough people to support our restaurant. According to our survey reports, our customers are coming from all over Tennessee as well as 20 other states, so I guess that you could say that we do cater to traveling tourist as well as local.
Thanks for visiting the Smoke House and please come back in and see whats going on.
Come See us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had a great meal at the Smoke House restaurant. Upon entering we went through a large gift shop (think Cracker Barrel) and through a tasting room where a friendly gentleman let us try ribs, port brisket, bbq and sample the wide variety of house made sauces and rubs on the meats. This was a great idea as it resulted in a sale of their Peach BBQ Sauce which was delicious. When we got to the restaurant side, we were friendly seated and we had the hot/cold buffet that had a good variety. Our favorites was the beef stew, pork bbq, dressing and the bread pudding. We are already looking for a reason to get back to that restaurant. Great visit!

Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant Trading post, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments, hope you come back to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant Trading post also viewed

 

Been to Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant Trading post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing