We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthy of making it a destination!”

Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant and Old General Store
Ranked #3 of 24 Restaurants in Monteagle
Price range: $2 - $18
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Open Everyday, 6:30 AM - 9:PM, 10 PM on Fri & Sat. Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner. Since 1960, family owned and operated World Famous Jim Oliver’s Smoke House has been serving up delicious and fun Southern Hospitality at the _Restaurant and _shopping at the Old General Store. Menu Featuring Everything Homemade from scrach Famous Smoked Meats such as Pork BBQ Ribs, Beef Brisket, Smoked Chicken, Hand Pulled Pork Shoulder, Country Ham, Honey Baked Ham, Smoked Bacon, Catfish, Frog Legs, Fried Chicken Livers, and all the BBQ and Hot Sauces to go with it; worlds largest selection of sauces all free to taste. Jams, Pickles, Vinegars, Sauces, Desert Toppings, Local Honey, Homemade candy & Fudge, Homemade Fried Pies & Ice Cream, Fresh local farmer Hand Picked Produce featured in all dishes, big all you can eat Buffet & Fresh Salad Bar with homemade Beef-Vegetable Stew and Cast Iron Skillet Cornbread & Bread Pudding. Cast Iron Cooking for many of our items featured. Fresh Hot Biscuits, Cornbread, and desserts. Childrens' menu. Large Beer Selection. _Live Music every weekend by special Nashville Music Artists, No Cover Charge, Bring the Family, food and beverages served during show. Regional Southern cookin’ offering three generations of family recipes on the menu and the daily buffet & Salad Bar, Homemade everyday! The Old General Store has Vintage and Nostalgic merchandise_old fashioned _candies_antiques_homemade fudge_Ice Cream_ Moonshine Museum Attraction, and the_Louvin Brothers _Country Music _Museum. /live music/shopping/lodging/cabins/Sewanee/Winchester/ Cowan/Manchester/South Pittsburg/Tullahoma/AEDC/Nissan/Chattanooga/ Lookout Mountain/McMinville/Murfreesboro/Desserts/Coffee/Full Service_Childrens Menu_Family_Regional_BBQ_Breakfast_Lunch_Dinner
Midland, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worthy of making it a destination!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

From the billboard on I-24, we didn't know what to expect, but we were hungry for BBQ so we went for it. What a FANTASTIC surprise!!!
First , we were grateful for enough room to park our van and trailer, then from the moment we walked through the door we knew we had found a true Tennessee family smokehouse restaurant complete with southern hospitality and all that goes with it !
We each ordered a half rack of ribs and got enough food is ready each to feed 2 people. The dry rub St Louis style ribs were tender and meaty, and slap yo mamma good!! The sides were homemade and authentic, right down to the corn bread in the skillet. Delish!

You could easily spend an hour or more in the general store ( none of that Chinese import junk here!) and we left there full to the brim with great food is ready, talking about renting one of their lovely cabins for a weekend getaway, and wanting a nap ;-).

This is a family friendly, family owned place, worthy of being a vacation destination.
We'll be back for sure!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Veetogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant and Old General Store, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR YOUR COMMENTS! Since 1960 our family has been serving travelers driving over _MonteagleMountainTennessee, and now _JimOliver's _Smokehouse has become the premier stopover for _Monteagle Restaurants and _TennesseeLodging. _Monteagle Cabins are part of the Smoke House now with over 21 cabins, so the _Smokehouse is truly a destination. _BestWesternSmokehouse is a rustic lodge featuring updated and renovated lodging for travelers, _FamilyReunionsinTennessee, and _MeetingGroups.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    158
    72
    59
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dinner buffet”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

dinner buffet was ok not a great selection pulled pork was good only about 3 other customers on wednesday night cornbread was aweful but breakfast carryout next was great

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant and Old General Store, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
_Smoke House is a family owned business operated by the Olivers since 1960 when it started out in _Monteagle Tennessee. The _Old General Store features nostalgic and vintage goodies, homemade fudge, homemade fried pies, and the best _restaurant in _Monteagle. Now the _Best Western Smoke House features _Monteagle Cabins with fireplaces and jacuzzi tubs, _Live Music every Friday and Saturday night. Close to _Sewanee and the _University of the South.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stop by for lunch if you are in Monteagle!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I decided to try the half rack of ribs which came with 2 sides, as well as soup & salad from the buffet. The ribs were soo good! They came out piping hot and the meat was falling off the bone. They had a variety of 4 sauces to choose at our table, I chose the spicy raspberry BBQ sauce because I was curious...it was surprisingly delicious and complimented the ribs nicely. Just keep in mind that portions are large when you order your meal. I ended up taking most of my meal home with me. Following our meal, my boyfriend and I decided to look around the country store and found lots of interesting stuff such as jams, BBQ sauces, hot sauces, smoked ham, cook books, canned possum meat (sick!), and a variety of little souveneirs. We decided to purchase some peanut butter fudge on our way out and it was amazing also. Stop by if you are ever in the area!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dijon59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant and Old General Store, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Since 1960 the Oliver Family _Monteagle Restaurant has been serving hundreds of thousands of customers every year great _BBQ Ribs and _Fried Pies and the _Shopping is great in the _Old General Store. now the _Smoke House has over 21 _Monteagle Cabins for nightly rental, featurning jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. Close to _Sewanee and the _University of the South.

Thank you so much for stopping in and come see us anytime you are passing over _Monteagle Mountain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Go elsewhere for breakfast”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

It was 7:30 am on Saturday morning and there were few cars in the parking lot (that should have been the first clue). There were only two other people in the dining area and we had to wait five minutes for a table (the waitress was also serving as the "bus boy"). The biscuits were doughy and the pancakes were crunchy. All in all, it was not very tasty and I was not impressed. Simply stated, you cannot teach anyone to cook a southern breakfast.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant and Old General Store, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
The Smoke House has been around since our dad started the business in 1960, and we have over 150,000 repeat customers every year, year in and year out. Thank you for stopping and hope you will come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Delicious ribs”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The ribs...man...they were so good! And, fried pies! So yummy. Leave your diet behind for a day and go enjoy!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFromTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant and Old General Store, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you so much! Hope you will get to stop in again on your next trip over Monteagle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant and Old General Store also viewed

 

Been to Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant and Old General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing