We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Thank-you! :-)”

Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant and Old General Store
Ranked #3 of 24 Restaurants in Monteagle
Price range: $2 - $18
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Open Everyday, 6:30 AM - 9:PM, 10 PM on Fri & Sat. Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner. Since 1960, family owned and operated World Famous Jim Oliver’s Smoke House has been serving up delicious and fun Southern Hospitality at the _Restaurant and _shopping at the Old General Store. Menu Featuring Everything Homemade from scrach Famous Smoked Meats such as Pork BBQ Ribs, Beef Brisket, Smoked Chicken, Hand Pulled Pork Shoulder, Country Ham, Honey Baked Ham, Smoked Bacon, Catfish, Frog Legs, Fried Chicken Livers, and all the BBQ and Hot Sauces to go with it; worlds largest selection of sauces all free to taste. Jams, Pickles, Vinegars, Sauces, Desert Toppings, Local Honey, Homemade candy & Fudge, Homemade Fried Pies & Ice Cream, Fresh local farmer Hand Picked Produce featured in all dishes, big all you can eat Buffet & Fresh Salad Bar with homemade Beef-Vegetable Stew and Cast Iron Skillet Cornbread & Bread Pudding. Cast Iron Cooking for many of our items featured. Fresh Hot Biscuits, Cornbread, and desserts. Childrens' menu. Large Beer Selection. _Live Music every weekend by special Nashville Music Artists, No Cover Charge, Bring the Family, food and beverages served during show. Regional Southern cookin’ offering three generations of family recipes on the menu and the daily buffet & Salad Bar, Homemade everyday! The Old General Store has Vintage and Nostalgic merchandise_old fashioned _candies_antiques_homemade fudge_Ice Cream_ Moonshine Museum Attraction, and the_Louvin Brothers _Country Music _Museum. /live music/shopping/lodging/cabins/Sewanee/Winchester/ Cowan/Manchester/South Pittsburg/Tullahoma/AEDC/Nissan/Chattanooga/ Lookout Mountain/McMinville/Murfreesboro/Desserts/Coffee/Full Service_Childrens Menu_Family_Regional_BBQ_Breakfast_Lunch_Dinner
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Happened to see your sign on the highway (I-24) from Wisconsin to Florida so I looked you up quick on the internet and we decided to stop in for a late lunch.

Very good and the individuals you have representing you were great!
Kristen was our server but everyone was just as great.

Thank you for a very pleasant and “stuffing” stop. :-)
(Full rack of ribs - leftovers and steak. Both with soup and salad. - - yum! and of course our choice of fudge - double and triple yum!)

J&J Sterr

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank J and J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant and Old General Store, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to send in your review, we appreciate your comments. Come see us again on your next trip over Monteagle Mountain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (589)
There are newer reviews for Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant and Old General Store
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

482 - 486 of 589 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

The ratings belie this restaurant. Looks great on the inside and outside but I found the food lacking. I got a brisket sandwich which was fatty and chewy. Should have slow cooked it longer and sliced it thinner. Cole slaw was average, fries were really good. Place looked inviting and fun, maybe I made a bad choice and should of had a burger. BBQ in Nashville is much better. Sorry Smoke House.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chienee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant and Old General Store, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

So sorry you were dissapointed in our food. We pride ourselves on keeping consistency up for over 53 years now. You know, we can't prepare every single meal to be excellent, some just don't measure up, over 300,000 meals served every year. However, day in and day out, we do it right most of the time.
Hope you will stop in and give us another try next time you are passing over Monteagle Mountain. Thanks for your comments and reviews, we appreciate the input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

If you like southern, backwoods cooking then this is your place. Other people complained about the salad bar not looking fresh but I do not agree. More selection at the bar would have been nice though. The store is huge and if you like sauces, you will be in heaven. There are also homemade soaps for sale so that really excited me!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lpstephy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant and Old General Store, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you so much for the positive review, we will pass this around to the staff. Come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had the ribs, brisket, pulled pork, soup, salad, and fried pies. All of it was good! They have a huge selection of bbq sauces to choose from, and some of the "hot" ones are not all that hot. As you walk through the store (with tons of cool items for kids of all ages) and enter the restaurant, we were stopped by a "master griller" who offered up some fresh pulled pork to sample with some of their many sauces. It was wonderful!

Then, we were seated, and chose to get a variety of bbq to share with our table, and purchased the salad bar to go along with it. While the salad bar, itself, was a bit lacking (we didn't go there for the salad bar) it was still nice to have. We also tried the soup, which could have been a meal in and of itself! Lots of good flavor. The sides were really good, too, with many options. We were all impressed with our meat selection and would definitely go back.

We had to order some fried pies. We chose the peaches and the apple caramel pies. We really liked what we ordered, but found out that we had actually been served the coconut pie instead of the apple caramel. This was a little bonus, although they wouldn't let us keep the partially eaten coconut pie. We had ordered 2 for the 6 of us to share, and ended up with about 2.5 for the 6 of us. As 2 of the 6 of us were small children, this was fine for us, although I'm certain I could have put 2 away, myself!

Their homemade fudge was a great treat to take on the road with us, and they had a lot of options there, too! We tried the mint choco, the praline, the peanut butter, the chocolate pecan, and two others. As far as I know, no one was disappointed.

This find was especially nice as I do some camping and backpacking in the area, too - great stop for the guys, afterwards!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jeffowentn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant and Old General Store, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!!!!
We appreciate your positive review of our restaurant and hope you will come see us again on your next trip to Monteagle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is attached to the motel and at least half of the space is taken by a general store with lots of quaint offerings. Think "cracker barrel" on a much larger scale. Food is quite good. It is advertised as a tavern also, but you can only get bottled beer or pre-mixed drinks (like Mike's lemonade). If you want wine there is none available (!) which was disappointing to my wife and seemed a little odd. Very nice staff, large portions for the price.

Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant and Old General Store also viewed

 

Been to Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant and Old General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing