We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where the locals go.”
Review of Monteage Diner - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Monteage Diner
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Where the locals go.”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Excellent breakfast! Absolutely the best western omelet I've ever had. Home fries were great as was the country ham. Very filling, good value.

Accidentally stumbled upon this place while traveling down I 24. So glad we tried it.

Atmosphere was just basic, biscuits were not as good as they could have been

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“If you are hungry and your car broke down, go here.”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Typical, breakfast/lunch gig, not that fancy, glad they stopped smoking in this place, it used to be constant. Food dumped out of cans and bags into fryers and steam tables, not the best, not the worst. Hamburgers are possibly the better deal. Not sure...

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nobodyhomenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Real Mashed Potatoes!!!!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Monteagle Diner reopened on September 11, 2012 we have good food and great service. Also we have had real.mashed potatoes since we reopened , hand patted burgers, fresh cut steaks, a daily buffet, a friday night seafood buffet , and a saturday and sunday breakfast bar. Also a full menu if u dont want to eat a buffet all at a reasonable price. Thanks and come again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aprilpelham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Tennessee
2 reviews
“Will not return”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Wife had a burger, not bad, but the fries were cold and about two spoon fulls of slaw in a small plastic cup. I got the buffet, should have got a burger also. Baked chicken, not too bad, but the vegetables were canned and the mashed potatoes were instant, and the cornbread hard as a rock. Very dissapointed with the buffet. Wife had the lemon cream pie and it was not good. I told the waitress and the lady at check out the pie was not good and she agreed but did not offer to take it off the check. After we left my wife who is reluctant to say anything said she should have sent it back after the first bite. And to top it off the manager or owner decided to have a staff meeting in the dining room where we were sitting only a couple of tables away. Could hear the good, bad, and the ugly about the staff and the restaurant. I had to get up and interupt our waitress to order the pie. Wife said the ladies room was dirty. I will not return!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gerald s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Instant Mashed Potatoes”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stopped here on our way home because we'd heard the food was fresh. I was psyched to see mashed taters on the buffet, only to get back to my seat, take a big bite and discover ... INSTANT. What?? Come on Tennessee, this is the south!! We can do mashed potatoes with blindfolds on.

S said the fried chicken was pretty good. He went back for seconds, but I can't overlook the fake taters. You can do better, Monteagle Diner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandBAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing