We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliably very good”
Review of The Wooden Whisk

The Wooden Whisk
Ranked #1 of 51 Restaurants in St Leonards
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Reliably very good”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Just down the street from my new digs, The Wooden Whisk has proven a convenient and very reliable spot for breakfast or lunch. The food is very good, the house blend coffees are excellent and the service is always quick and attentive.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    18
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Vlissingen, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Consistently delicious!”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

My favourite lunchtime cafe for the tastiest salads and great coffee. The menu is varied with other tasty choices and breakfast is also worth a try at the Wooden Whisk, you will not be disappointed! Shaun and his staff are efficient and friendly in their service!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cdenn62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Company Lunch”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Attended The Wooden Whisk for lunch with work colleagues today and was not disappointed.

Even though the venue was busy, meals were delivered fairly quickly and ingredients used quite fresh. Pricing was fair for the portion size. Great coffee too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morgan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So good we got them to cater our wedding”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I've enjoyed every meal I've ever had at the Wooden Whisk and I say that as someone who loves going out for brunch (so anticipation and expectations are always high). The food is delicious with classy nuances to classic dishes for very reasonable prices.

On this particular occasion I had their Bircher muesli with fresh apple and strawberries and all I can say is that afterwards it felt as though all my sins had been forgiven. It was just YUM.

My partner and I are such big fans of this place, including owner Sean and his friendly team, that we asked them to cater our wedding.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellerPippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tasty breakfast”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We had a tasty breakfast. It was good. Staff were accommodating to our requests. Service was prompt. Chairs look nice but a little too deep - no back support. Cushions would have been nice. It's family friendly which is a bother because there was a crying child when we arrived. They left shortly after.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EricEricViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wooden Whisk also viewed

St Leonards, North Sydney
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Artarmon, Willoughby
 

Been to The Wooden Whisk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing