We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Urban St Leonards
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
McLaren Hotel(North Sydney)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Average 3/5
    Rydges North Sydney(North Sydney)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Reviews (416)
    Filter reviews
    416 results
    Traveler rating
    152
    190
    50
    17
    7
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    152
    190
    50
    17
    7
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewspacific highwaytrain stationlane coveroad noisethe ground floorroom servicecomfy bedcrows nestsecure parkingfree wifiovernight stayterrace roombusiness tripstandard roomnorth sydneydefinitely stay here againmini bar
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    262 - 267 of 416 reviews
    Reviewed November 19, 2013

    This hotel has potential but is very tired, it obviously has had mini "facelifts" but the rooms just didn't have that co-ordinated feel. Didn't try any of the food & beverage outlets, but I did think it was a bit off putting when a member of the housekeeping staff got into a lift fulled with guests and started grooming his hair in the mirror.
    There are no "service" lifts so most of the time you are sharing the lift with either the mini bar, housekeepers or any other member of staff.
    The quirkness of this hotel is wearing off and it needs a revamp.....

    Room Tip: If you boook a room try not to get a west facing room as they are like an oven when you get back in the evening after being baked by the sun all afternoon.
    • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Vanessa T
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

    Dear Tsosti,

    Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

    We don't often receive comments about our rooms looking tired, so I will look into which room you stayed in as it sounds like some maintenance is required. I also take it from your review that a bit too much maintenance was going on with that staff member and his hairdo! We do love to look as good as we can for our guests, but agree this is something that should happen out of sight and I will have a chat to the team.

    What a shame you didn't get a chance to try Sure Café! We get great comments on the tasty fare served in the café, along with the meals served in rooms.

    Thanks again for your honest comments and we hope we have the chance to welcome you at our hotel again.

    Kind Regards,

    Amanda Cottome
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 30, 2013

    This was our second stay at the Urban as our daughter required two operations at Royal North Shore Private. The hospital is only a five minute walk from the hotel. We parked our car at the hotel and just walked every where.
    The room is just your average hotel room but the bed was very comfortable. We had a room on the third floor overlooking the Pacific Highway but the traffic noise did not disturb us. We had breakfast one morning in the cafe and the service was efficient and the food very nice. My husband got several take away coffees and said it was the best in the area.
    Fortunately my daughter was discharged a day earlier than expected and even though we did not give the hotel 24 hours notice, they did not charge us for the extra day which was very much appreciated.
    If you need accommodation near the Royal North Shore hospitals, I would highly recommend the Urban Hotel.

    Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    2  Thank dajsNewcastle
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

    Hi dajsNewcastle,

    Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

    Even if we do say so ourselves, we think our Urban Snorer beds are pretty amazing! It's great to hear your husband took advantage of the delicious coffee from Sure Café and that you both enjoyed your breakfast along with the service.

    We look forward to welcoming you at our hotel again next visit.

    Kind Regards,

    Amanda Cottome
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 24, 2013

    While life can be hectic or even distressing for those involved with Royal North Shore Hospital, here we have a pleasant sanctuary just across the road.
    The Staff stand out the most, Their care, initiative, warmth & sincerity are outstanding.
    Rooms are brilliant, with leafy views down to the beautiful harbour.
    Meals are also renowned, delicious, well presented by friendly staff supplemented by a great choice in wines.
    We have booked here a few times but eat there whenever nearby.

    Room Tip: Aim for a rear room for harbour views & no traffic noise or distractions.
    • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank AlanGelder
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

    Hi AlanGelder,

    Thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel.

    We completely understand about being involved with the hospital so are really happy to hear our staff made you and your family feel so at ease and cared for during your stay.

    I must say we're pretty proud of Sure Café and our delicious meals. I hope you got a chance to try the Sure Café coffee too!

    Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you at our hotel again soon.

    Kind Regards,

    Amanda Cottome
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 22, 2013

    I stayed 3 nights and I loved it all.
    Leafy views from my balcony. Beautifully decorated. Comfortable bed.
    Great restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
    Friendly service.
    A gym called 'Jim' :)
    And a shuttle bus in the morning that takes you to the station.
    But the icing on the cake was the Milk toiletries!.. Beautiful, natural, gentle toiletries that are a pleasure to use instead of the usual stuff in hotels that is so strong you could clean the floor with it, not your skin and hair!
    I'm staying there again in a few weeks and I am really looking forward to it.
    Highly recommended.

    • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank caronbc
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

    Hi caronbc,

    We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed welcoming you.

    It's always such a pleasure for us to hear about our guests noticing and enjoying the Urban perks. We certainly agree with you about the Milk products! While we can't lay claim to the gorgeous views that leafy St Leonards provides, we can certainly say we really love our location and are happy to hear you did too.

    Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again in a few weeks.

    Kind Regards,

    Amanda Cottome
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 17, 2013

    Lovely balcony room with great view over Sydney booked and I thought I was in heaven but.... beware the functions outside on the back terrace downstairs as the noise of loud, partying, drinking ladies travels UP and into those rooms so much needed early night!
    Needed a quiet room to stay as spending days visiting sick relative in nearby hospital. Requested quiet room away from road noise and Terrace room on 7th floor duly upsold.
    Had to get up at 4 45am to catch a flight next morning so NOT impressed that they have drinkies downstairs for functions below these rooms!
    Staff NEED to mention this to clients requesting quiet room ...
    Food and coffee downstairs is great as is Room Service and short walk to hospitals is safe for solo travellers but this place is not cheap.

    Room Tip: Avoid the balcony rooms out the back if there is going to be a outdoor function happening that night as the noise travels right UP!!!
    • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank meercat05
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

    Hi meercat05,

    Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

    We do love our balcony rooms! It's always nice to stay in a room where you can step out into the fresh air. It sounds like that particular function group were having a bit too much fun and we're sorry to hear it was too loud for you. However, it's great to hear that you spoke to our friendly staff so we could move you to another room.

    Glad to hear you took advantage of the delicious coffee and food available at Sure Café, and room service is always a nice treat.

    Thanks again and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again.

    Kind Regards,

    Amanda Cottome
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews