We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Urban St Leonards
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St Leonards
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Think again”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We booked a standard twin and got to our room to find it was configured as a double. We waited around for 15 minutes for the problem to be fixed. The housekeeper was courteous and apologetic. The room was underwhelming, considering the price (A$249): narrow, subject to considerable traffic noise, and rather drab. It seemed to have had a makeover within the past 5-10 years, but lacked attention to detail. The toilet hadn't been plumbed in properly, requiring the toilet lid up to be held up while peeing (it would not stay up otherwise). Although the hotel is across the road from Royal North Shore Hospital, and might expect guests coming straight from there, the rooms on our floor had a nasty little step immediately outside the door waiting to trap the unsuspecting. The hotel charges A$20 a day to park and internet is also charged. Even the bottled water in the room was A$6. There is a cafe downstairs that serves meals. Mains at $30/$35 were way over-priced for the taste and the decor (hard plastic seating and a wobble plastic table). With little else on offer in the vicinity, it can apparently get away with it.

Room Tip: Definitely avoid the Pacific Highway side if you can – and watch the tricky step outside your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRoadLeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi TheRoadLeast,

We're sorry that you experienced a small mix up with your room booking, but pleased that our friendly and helpful staff could sort this out quickly for you.

It's disappointing to hear that our modern room and restaurant décor did not live up to your expectations. As with all hotels, our rates do fluctuate according to peak periods and demand for accommodation in the area, we do offer some great specials from time to time, so it pays to keep an eye out for these.

Thanks for the feedback about the toilet lid, we will certainly look into this if you would like to send an email to: stay@hotelurbanstleonards.com.au and let me know which room you stayed in.

Thanks for your review TheRoadLeast,

Kind regards,
Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    174
    47
    15
    4
See reviews for
56
97
33
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed overnight for business meeting. Really friendly, slightly laid-back and welcoming from the reception to the dining staff. This is a small, clean & well run hotel with a decent menu. Great nights sleep. Views were good and room well laid out. Would definitely return if staying in North Sydney again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thanks for your fabulous review Pete B,

It sounds like our lovely, friendly staff made you feel right at home – just what you need when travelling for business.

We're thrilled to hear that your stay ticked all of the right boxes. We would love to welcome you back next time you are staying in the area.

Kind regards,
Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We chanced upon this hotel when booking our trip last minute and we're glad we booked it at a very affordable price. The room was spacious, clean, and well-designed. Special attention to detail and design really impressed us - from the toiletries, to the room decor. Location wise, it was about 10minutes walk to the St.Leonard's train station, pretty ok if you aren't carrying luggage. The service staff was most helpful and polite, making our stay an enjoyable one!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yeun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
What a fabulous 5 star review yeun!

Thank-you for your kind words, we're thrilled that you enjoyed our stylish design and the little 'extra touches' that make our guest's stay 'more than' your usual hotel experience.

It's always lovely to hear glowing feedback about our warm and helpful staff too – as they work very hard to deliver exceptional service.

Thanks again yuen, we hope to welcome you back next time you are staying in Sydney.

Kind regards,
Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We booked late in the day as we were heading towards Sydney, chancing upon Hotel Urban while searching for a place to stay on the north shore. A great find! It is reasonably priced compared to many of the other motels in the area. Similarly, parking and food is also reasonably priced. We had requested two rooms, and the staff ensured they were next door to each other. The rooms are spacious and inviting. The bed was super comfortable! The quality of products in the bathroom was noticed and appreciated! All of the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The location is handy. We will definitely add Hotel Urban to the list of preferred places to stay when in Sydney - and look forward to trying the associated hotels in St Kilda and Brisbane at some stage ...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hi Deb T,

Thanks for your fabulous 5 star review, we are always really chuffed to receive such glowing feedback! It's great to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful location and modern and comfortable rooms – not to mention our famously comfortable Urban Snorer bed. Our friendly staff at Hotel Urban St Kilda and Hotel Urban Brisbane would love to see you for a visit some time too.

Thanks again Deb T.

Kind regards,
Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend break in late May 2013.
As we stopped off for dinner with friends following an afternoon flight into Sydney, we advised the hotel of our anticipated late check-in. When we arrived, the check-in was smooth and effortless. Room was generously sized and well appointed. Bed was very comfortable and we slept very well.
We enjoyed a simple breakfast and coffee in the morning.
Prices were very reasonable and if you are looking for accomodation out of the CBD on the North Shore, this is a very good option.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi Foxetti,

Thanks so much for your review, we're really pleased that you enjoyed such a smooth running and enjoyable weekend stay at our hotel as well as a great night's sleep thanks to our super comfortable Urban Snorer bed.

We hope to see you next time you are staying in Sydney Foxetti.

Kind regards,
Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here overnight last week and was very impressed with this modern, hip hotel with great service! From the moment I checked in I was we'll looked after by the attentive, friendly staff, the room was mid sized , clean and well appointed with a very comfortable bed. I'm a sound sleeper so a bit of road noise from the street below didn't bother me, the menu in the restaurant/cafe was varied and first rate.
The hotel is very close to The Royal North Shore Hospital, Fox Sports TV centre and centrally located between North Sydney and Chatswood. All up I had a great experience at The Urban and would not hesitate to recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ularu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thanks for your fabulous review Ularu,

We love hearing that our guests thoroughly enjoyed their stay. Our staff really are a friendly bunch who love to help out, so it's great to hear that you received a dose of their warm and welcoming hospitality. We hope that we can see you again some time in the future.

Kind regards,
Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed at the Urban Hotel recently as we had appointments in the Sydney CBD. Hotel is about a 5-7 minute walk to St Leonard's Train Station. Rooms were comfortable and a good size. Had a room at road level and was surprised that it was quiet during the night. Got noisy in the morning but not a real issue. Shower noise from the room next door was deafening. Room was clean, comfortable and tidy. Breakfast at the SURE cafe was lovely and the staff were all very friendly. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hi Jackie G,

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our rooms ticked all the right boxes for you. We're sorry to hear you experienced some noise in the morning. Next time you stay with us, please don't hesitate to let our staff know if you have any problems at all and we will do our best to accommodate. Glad you enjoyed Sure Café (it's a bit of a local favourite)!

Thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Leonards
1.8 mi away
Meriton Suites North Sydney
Meriton Suites North Sydney
#1 of 9 in North Sydney
596 reviews
1.8 mi away
North Sydney Harbourview Hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Twin Towers Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
McLaren Hotel
McLaren Hotel
#4 of 9 in North Sydney
205 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rydges North Sydney
Rydges North Sydney
#6 of 9 in North Sydney
832 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn North Shore
Comfort Inn North Shore
#1 of 2 in Lane Cove
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urban St Leonards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urban St Leonards

Property: Hotel Urban St Leonards
Address: 194 Pacific Hwy, St Leonards, North Sydney, New South Wales 2065, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney > St Leonards
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St Leonards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Urban St Leonards 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Urban St Leonards. More than a hotel…Not your typical Sydney hotel – experience so much more than just a good night’s sleep! More comfort, more indulgence, more taste and more inspiration. Hotel Urban St Leonards is a special place with a focus on chic relaxation. At Urban we’re serious about helping you unwind, so we’ve designed a hotel space dedicated to your relaxation and gorgeous guest rooms which offer comfort so luxurious, it’s the next best thing to sleeping at home. Set on the abundantly leafy North Shore you’ll start to understand what defines Urban when you step into this inviting space, which is as relaxed and cosy as it is modern and effortlessly stylish. You’ll enjoy 100 ultra-comfy designer guest rooms, welcoming lobby and alluring Sure Café, professional putting green for golfing enthusiasts, and beautiful conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Urban St Leonards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor St Leonards
Hotel Urban St Leonards North Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing