We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (438)
Filter reviews
438 results
Traveler rating
163
194
55
18
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
194
55
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pacific highway train station lane cove road noise the ground floor room service main road great coffee free wifi terrace room overnight stay crows nest business trip bed was very comfortable standard room north sydney definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
323 - 328 of 438 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Urban is a lovely little funky hotel that if you book in advance can get a great deal on. (Better rate than some dingy motels in vicinity). Room was lovely and bijou with comfy comfy bed as advertised. Nice toiletries and some cutely designed labels brought a smile to our faces. Only minus would be the closed bathroom door rattled in its frame at any gust of air in the night.

Staff on check in were very nice while different staff on check out were not too engaging (not that she needed to be my bill was straightforward.) Didn't use coffee bar, which looked lovely, as after civilised 11am check out we needed to get going.

My husband thought the $20 parking was steep for a non CBD place. And we both thought the lack of a complimentary bottle of drinking water in the room was poor. ($6 medium bottles were available though).

We chose here because we used to live in the area and get invited to functions etc and we would definitely book it again.

Tip: Crows Nest (walk, bus, drive) up the hill is the place to go for food & shops but nearest train is St Leonard's.

Date of stay: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halfanidea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Hi Eire-ette,

Thanks so much for your review, we are really pleased to hear that as an ex-local to the area that you would choose to stay with us again.

We really do try to delight and surprise our guests with lots of little extras such as our complimentary Evo hair care products, Slow Down Slippers and not too mention our super comfy Urban Snorer beds.

Our friendly staff look forward to welcoming you back again next time Eire-ette.

Kind regards,
Amanda Cottome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed at the Urban for 2 nights in December over a w/e. Rooms were good (not huge), windows opened, which we like, beds very very comfy, rooms modern, clean and well equipped and given that it was 45C in Sydney the ac worked well. Some people have made comment about the road noise - we were on the 3rd floor and yes you can hear the traffic if you try hard but it was definitely not obtrusive. Car parking easy, staff very friendly and helpful and the cafe/restaurant/bar downstairs was good. Within walking distance there is a good area for dining, shopping etc, close to the city and easy to get to. All up it was a good place to stay and given a reasonable rate we would definitely go back again.

Room tip: 3rd floor was good
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RONA001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Hi CatsPremiers2007,

Thanks for posting such a great review, we're really pleased to hear that your stay ticked all of your boxes and that you enjoyed a great night's sleep thanks to our famous super comfy Urban Snorer beds. Our staff love to hear that our guests appreciate their warm and welcoming service.

Thanks again for your review CatsPremiers2007, we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Amanda Cottome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed while traveling for work, the room had 2 single beds, the one I used would skate around the room if you lent against it, the iron kept tripping the safety switch on the power pack, and there were ants in the bathroom.
The staff were lovely, and the restaurant was fabulous, and only a ten minute walk to the train station.

I wouldn't stay here by choice, I'm glad I wasn't paying for it.

Date of stay: January 2013
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Hi Julie S,

Thanks so much for your feedback, we're so glad to hear that you found our staff to be their usual cheerful and friendly selves and that you enjoyed our delicious menu at Sure Café.

We're really disappointed to hear that you experienced some issues with your room. If you would like to email us at stay@hotelurban.com.au and let us know what name you booked under we can investigate this further.

Thanks again Julie S,

Kind Regards,
Amanda Cottome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This hotel is amazing. We stayed there a total of 17 nights and cannot fault it at any level. All of the staff are friendly and experienced. Decor is wonderfully contemporary and the standard of cleanliness is a joy. Our dining experience, be it breakfast, lunch or evening meal, was fantastic - the food was cooked to perfection and beautifully presented. Checking both in and out was very efficient. The hotel is on a bus route and the train station is a stroll away. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone. Thanks to all of you for making us feel so welcome.
A & H Davies

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowancreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Hi Alan D,

Wow thanks so much for your fabulous 5 star review, we are absolutely thrilled that you could not fault your stay. We really do love to hear that our guests have experienced a wonderful stay, it makes our hard work so much more worthwhile.

It's great to hear that you will be spreading the word about Hotel Urban to your friends and family, we would love to see them too. It would be the pleasure of our friendly staff to welcome you back again some time soon. Thanks again Alan D!

Kind regards,

Amanda Cottome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We found the reception and bar staff to be extremely friendly and helpful, although we did have some issues with my credit card not being recognised at first - this was however quickly sorted. The air conditioning didn't work at first but it was also quickly fixed. The location of the hotel is very convenient with regular buses outside on the main road taking you into the centre of town, Manly beach, or other destinations, and a major train station is quite close by too. below the hotel there is a charming creek with a small amount of preserved native bush which made for a lovely walk. I think the main drawback was that the room was a little smaller than we had hoped for in relation to the rate we paid. We had a toddler with us; they did provide a very good cot, but there was little space to spread our luggage around. The bathroom was a little small and therefore less comfortable, but clean, though the shower didn't drain fantastically. The room was also a little noisy because there is a busy road nearby. It was nice to receive a complimentary newspaper without having to pay though! and the cleaning staff were very kind and helpful when they saw we had a toddler with us..Also for us the strength of the australian dollar is an issue, making it seem quite expensive - but to be fair this is a general issue that is not the fault of the hotel.

Room tip: Rooms that are away from the busy Pacific Highway
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Hi Michael L,

Thanks so much for your review, we're really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and loved our fabulous location, in convenient reach to all of Sydney's delights.

We're happy to hear that our friendly and helpful staff sorted out your minor hiccup with your air conditioning. It's a shame that you experienced some unexpected noise in your room rather than the usual peaceful stay experienced by our guests.

Where possible we always try to place guests in rooms best suited to their needs depending on how high our occupancy is. The free newspaper is always an added bonus, we often try to think of little ways to surprise our guests and make their stay more than the usual hotel experience.

Thanks again Michael L, we hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Amanda Cottome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews