We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
427 results
Traveler rating
158
191
53
18
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
191
53
18
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspacific highwaytrain stationroad noiselane coveroom servicethe ground floorgreat coffeecomfy bedcrows nestfree wifisecure parkingovernight stayterrace roombusiness tripstandard roomdefinitely stay here againnorth sydney
Filter
Updating list...
315 - 320 of 427 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This hotel is amazing. We stayed there a total of 17 nights and cannot fault it at any level. All of the staff are friendly and experienced. Decor is wonderfully contemporary and the standard of cleanliness is a joy. Our dining experience, be it breakfast, lunch or evening meal, was fantastic - the food was cooked to perfection and beautifully presented. Checking both in and out was very efficient. The hotel is on a bus route and the train station is a stroll away. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone. Thanks to all of you for making us feel so welcome.
A & H Davies

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowancreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Hi Alan D,

Wow thanks so much for your fabulous 5 star review, we are absolutely thrilled that you could not fault your stay. We really do love to hear that our guests have experienced a wonderful stay, it makes our hard work so much more worthwhile.

It's great to hear that you will be spreading the word about Hotel Urban to your friends and family, we would love to see them too. It would be the pleasure of our friendly staff to welcome you back again some time soon. Thanks again Alan D!

Kind regards,

Amanda Cottome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We found the reception and bar staff to be extremely friendly and helpful, although we did have some issues with my credit card not being recognised at first - this was however quickly sorted. The air conditioning didn't work at first but it was also quickly fixed. The location of the hotel is very convenient with regular buses outside on the main road taking you into the centre of town, Manly beach, or other destinations, and a major train station is quite close by too. below the hotel there is a charming creek with a small amount of preserved native bush which made for a lovely walk. I think the main drawback was that the room was a little smaller than we had hoped for in relation to the rate we paid. We had a toddler with us; they did provide a very good cot, but there was little space to spread our luggage around. The bathroom was a little small and therefore less comfortable, but clean, though the shower didn't drain fantastically. The room was also a little noisy because there is a busy road nearby. It was nice to receive a complimentary newspaper without having to pay though! and the cleaning staff were very kind and helpful when they saw we had a toddler with us..Also for us the strength of the australian dollar is an issue, making it seem quite expensive - but to be fair this is a general issue that is not the fault of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms that are away from the busy Pacific Highway
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Hi Michael L,

Thanks so much for your review, we're really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and loved our fabulous location, in convenient reach to all of Sydney's delights.

We're happy to hear that our friendly and helpful staff sorted out your minor hiccup with your air conditioning. It's a shame that you experienced some unexpected noise in your room rather than the usual peaceful stay experienced by our guests.

Where possible we always try to place guests in rooms best suited to their needs depending on how high our occupancy is. The free newspaper is always an added bonus, we often try to think of little ways to surprise our guests and make their stay more than the usual hotel experience.

Thanks again Michael L, we hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Amanda Cottome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

There is no pretense when it comes to Urban, St Leonards. Friendly staff who look like they enjoy their job, and treat you like a fellow human being. Simple, but with a contemporary style, where they haven't tried to hide a 3 star building behind a 4 star lick of paint. Great value at every level of room type... we stayed in the cheapest, smallest yet perfectly formed room. The resident cafe, 'Sure' is a much loved local entity unto itself, which carries the theme into the kitchen.

Simply, I wish I could live here :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Hi Hazmanda,

Thanks so much for your 5 star review – we're so glad to hear that you found our hotel to be just like home (if not better). Our friendly team really do try to go out of their way to make sure our guests feel welcome and special. It sounds like you really enjoyed the delicious food at Sure Café, you are certainly right about it being a local favourite. Our outdoor courtyard is the perfect place to relax with friends and enjoy a coffee or bite to eat or relax in the sun.

We hope to see you again at our home away from home Hazmanda.

Kind regards,
Amanada Cottome
General Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel was really good! stayed NYE 2012/13 for a few nights. The location is good for St Leonards Station and for driving into and out of the city.

Food was brilliant and really well priced (not rip off).

Rooms were good - refurbished recently with everything you need in the room. Balcony had good quiet views. There is not a pool but a golf green and gym make up for that.

All in all a great place to stay in the City.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the golf green - you will be away from the road.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ceej18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thanks for your lovely review, we're thrilled to hear that you your stay and our great location and we are delighted that you enjoyed our menu at Sure cafe, it sounds like your tastebuds really appreciated the treat.

Thanks again Ceej18, our team hope to see you next time you're in Sydney.

Kind regards,

Amanda Cottome

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I found hairs of previous guests on both towels provided. I ended up having to use my own. It
was late, so I didn't bother ringing reception.

Room in general looks clean, but the towels are a real let down. Such personal items should have been checked thoroughly by housekeepers.

Walking distance 15 mins to St leonards train station which takes you into CBD. Felt longer in the summer heat. I wish the hotel had provided shuttle to the CBD. Train ride takes about 15mins.

Positives:

The check in staff was very warm, courteous and informative. Thank you Lucy.

Breakfast has a nice selection of hot and cold meals. Service was prompt.

Would have rated this good to very good if not for the towels.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KHfromSydneyinEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Hi KhfromSydneyinEurope,

Thanks so much for posting your feedback

We're so sorry to hear that you experienced an issue with your towels. Our linen is inspected at the laundry and again supervised prior to being hung on a towel rack. I’d be grateful if you could kindly contact us on stay@hotelurban.com.au and let us know what name you booked under so that we can investigate this issue. We really do pride ourselves on cleanliness so it's disappointing to hear that you experienced this issue. We're so glad to hear that you had an otherwise positive stay and that our warm and friendly staff made you feel right at home.

We hope that we can see you again,

Kind regards,

Amanda Cottome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews