We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (428)
Filter reviews
428 results
Traveler rating
159
191
53
18
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
191
53
18
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspacific highwaytrain stationroad noiselane coveroom servicethe ground floorgreat coffeecomfy bedcrows nestfree wifiovernight staysecure parkingterrace roombusiness tripstandard roomdefinitely stay here againnorth sydney
Filter
Updating list...
318 - 323 of 428 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

There is no pretense when it comes to Urban, St Leonards. Friendly staff who look like they enjoy their job, and treat you like a fellow human being. Simple, but with a contemporary style, where they haven't tried to hide a 3 star building behind a 4 star lick of paint. Great value at every level of room type... we stayed in the cheapest, smallest yet perfectly formed room. The resident cafe, 'Sure' is a much loved local entity unto itself, which carries the theme into the kitchen.

Simply, I wish I could live here :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Hi Hazmanda,

Thanks so much for your 5 star review – we're so glad to hear that you found our hotel to be just like home (if not better). Our friendly team really do try to go out of their way to make sure our guests feel welcome and special. It sounds like you really enjoyed the delicious food at Sure Café, you are certainly right about it being a local favourite. Our outdoor courtyard is the perfect place to relax with friends and enjoy a coffee or bite to eat or relax in the sun.

We hope to see you again at our home away from home Hazmanda.

Kind regards,
Amanada Cottome
General Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel was really good! stayed NYE 2012/13 for a few nights. The location is good for St Leonards Station and for driving into and out of the city.

Food was brilliant and really well priced (not rip off).

Rooms were good - refurbished recently with everything you need in the room. Balcony had good quiet views. There is not a pool but a golf green and gym make up for that.

All in all a great place to stay in the City.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the golf green - you will be away from the road.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ceej18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thanks for your lovely review, we're thrilled to hear that you your stay and our great location and we are delighted that you enjoyed our menu at Sure cafe, it sounds like your tastebuds really appreciated the treat.

Thanks again Ceej18, our team hope to see you next time you're in Sydney.

Kind regards,

Amanda Cottome

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I found hairs of previous guests on both towels provided. I ended up having to use my own. It
was late, so I didn't bother ringing reception.

Room in general looks clean, but the towels are a real let down. Such personal items should have been checked thoroughly by housekeepers.

Walking distance 15 mins to St leonards train station which takes you into CBD. Felt longer in the summer heat. I wish the hotel had provided shuttle to the CBD. Train ride takes about 15mins.

Positives:

The check in staff was very warm, courteous and informative. Thank you Lucy.

Breakfast has a nice selection of hot and cold meals. Service was prompt.

Would have rated this good to very good if not for the towels.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KHfromSydneyinEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Hi KhfromSydneyinEurope,

Thanks so much for posting your feedback

We're so sorry to hear that you experienced an issue with your towels. Our linen is inspected at the laundry and again supervised prior to being hung on a towel rack. I’d be grateful if you could kindly contact us on stay@hotelurban.com.au and let us know what name you booked under so that we can investigate this issue. We really do pride ourselves on cleanliness so it's disappointing to hear that you experienced this issue. We're so glad to hear that you had an otherwise positive stay and that our warm and friendly staff made you feel right at home.

We hope that we can see you again,

Kind regards,

Amanda Cottome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I spend almost every week staying in Sydney for business, and after trying all the other local hotels, from North Sydney to Upper North Shore, its great to find a hotel that is really offerring a damn good experience.

1. Staff - From Victoria and the guys at the front desk to the room maintenance, everyone is from another world compared with most of Sydney, at any price. Well done to all.
2. Value - Again hard to fault to have a reasonable size room, lovely bed and good bathroom for the price.
3. Very comfortable bed - After all this is the prime thing you need away from home. Lovely cotton sheets, various pillows supplied, and large (king?) soft bed.
4. Restaurant - Looks VERY inviting, great selection of good products, I'll try it next time, other reviews are similar.
5. Quirky notes and forms - almost feels like the're hand written, or written like conversation. Neat touch.
6. If I had to be picky - the TV's dont allow viewing of the HD Freeview channels, but perhaps Foxtel is a benefit to those that like cable.

Thanks Hotel Urban - you've won my business.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms at rear of hotel, distant views of the harbour, and away from highway - couldn't hear a thing.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Hi xoz,

Wow what a fabulous review, we certainly feel all warm and fuzzy now, it's so nice to hear that our super friendly team's efforts do not go unnoticed.

We're thrilled to hear that your stay was a superb experience and that you will be back to see us again.We really do try to make our hotel feel like a home away from home (sometimes even better than home!), so it's nice to hear that you felt welcome and comfortable (our cloud like Urban Snorer king beds certainly help too) during your time with us.

Thanks so much for your review xoz, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
Amanda Cottome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here for an 8 night stay after seeing reviews on here. First impressions were good as staff welcoming and a lovely clean modern reception area, also the corridors and gym of the same standard. Rooms were ok, pleasant enough and always cleaned well by house keeping staff daily. We were very tired as just arrived from a long flight from the UK so wanted to rest but the walls are very thin and you can hear everything, especially if someone is having a shower or using plumbing in another room and would sometimes wake you up in the mornings as its so loud! Another negative like everyone else says is that there is no free wifi and having to pay for it daily soon added to our final bill upon departure.

After a few nights we settled in to the hotel and again and again the staff were always friendly and gave a great service to their guests. We ate most mornings in the sure cafe which serves great food and coffee's! Another positive is the really comfy beds! We stayed here as convenient to where we were visiting but also great value for money compared to other hotels in Sydney.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lauren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Hi Lauren O,

Thanks so much for choosing to stay at Urban during your trip to Oz – Sydney really is a beautiful spot isn't it?

We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our friendly service made your time with us even more pleasant. It sounds like you managed to try a selection of our delicious Sure Café menu – not only popular with our guests but locals too! It's disappointing to hear that you experienced some noise issues, we're really sorry about that. It's a shame that our helpful team didn't have the opportunity to move you to a more peaceful room. We generally get great feedback from guests about how our rooms a welcoming oasis, so it's unfortunate that you didn't experience this too.

Thanks for your review, and we hope to see you 'down under' again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Amanda Cottome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews