We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
427 results
Traveler rating
158
191
53
18
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
191
53
18
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspacific highwaytrain stationroad noiselane coveroom servicethe ground floorgreat coffeecomfy bedcrows nestfree wifisecure parkingovernight stayterrace roombusiness tripstandard roomdefinitely stay here againnorth sydney
Filter
Updating list...
339 - 344 of 427 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel did not have our Wotif booking and did not have my details on file, even though I have stayed there at least half a dozen times. But this was all sorted and we were offered free parking for our trouble.
The only gripe I have about this excellent hotel is the toilet flush is weak and needs to be fixed so it actually flushes. This may put me off staying again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsMooMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Hi MrsMooMoo,

Thanks for taking the time to post your comments, we love welcoming back regular customers like yourself! Sorry to hear that your check-in had a few hiccups. It sounds like our friendly staff sorted this out nice and quickly, so you could focus on enjoying your stay. Could you please send us an email at stay@hotelurbanstleonards.com.au with your details and we will find out what room you stayed in and have that toilet investigated. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Amanda Cottome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed for six comfortable weeks here in a fourth floor room that faces the back which has a great view.

It's walk able to the St Leonard's train station (12 minutes) or just two bus stops away. It's also pretty close by bus to the next urban hub called the Chatswood which has large shopping centres, cinemas and many restaurants. It's right next to main room so I'll recommend the road facing the quiet neighborhood although these will be slightly pricier.

A hotel that is quite close to North Sydney by half a dozen bus stops and provides comfortable bed and room, good on site cafe that caters to all three meals and snacks.

The hotel cafe serves very good food and because of my long stay, I have tried everything and most more than thrice. My only gripe is that the menu is lighted (just four to five main course choices) and its probably from a stock menu of 8 items that they try to vary each week. but it's just a minor issue especially if you don't stay more than a week or two or you venture out for most meals.

I had stayed here a second trip in July for 10 days in a front-next-to-road room and it's noisier because of traffic but I can sleep but I'll recommend rooms facing the back because of the view.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Hi Newwit,

Thanks for your comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed the comfort and style of Hotel Urban St Leonards while enjoying lush views of Lane Cove for six whole weeks! We certainly are in a great spot aren't we – tucked away in the serene leafy North Shore but just a hop, skip and jump away from central Sydney's action. Sure Café often refreshes their delicious menu with a more extensive seasonal update. We'd love to hear what you think of our new menu selection next time you stay. We love to keep things interesting, especially for our regular guests and locals who frequent the café. Thank you so much for your feedback and we look forward to your next stay.

Kind Regards,

Amanda Cottome
General Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I haven't stayed in the hotel however the restaurant on the ground floor has become a great place for meeting people - for coffee or for lunch. It's bright and airy and the food is very good. Staff are pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank AussieTraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Hi AussieTraveller50,
Isn't Sure Café a relaxing place for a bite to eat (or maybe a cheeky wine or two)? Open for brekkie, lunch and dinner, our café is not only popular with Hotel Urban guests but also the locals who love our seasonal menu and delicious Genovese coffee too. We hope to see you again next time you're in the area.

Kind Regards,
Amanda Cottome,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We live north of Sydney, so the Urban is ideally located at St Leonards. We regularly stay there and either drive or train it into central Sydney. It is so convenient, even better is one is visiting Nth Shore Hospital. Urban focus on providing great beds, a range of pillows, & so ensure a good nights sleep. On top of that the restaurant provides great quality food, both dinner and breakfast. We love it and will keep going back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterV771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlands, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Hi PeterV771,

We love hearing from our regular guests – especially when they give us so much love in return!
Isn’t the hotel in a great location? Perfect for ducking into central Sydney for a spot of shopping (or whatever tickles your fancy). And as you say, we are a homely sanctuary for guests with loved ones just across the road at Royal North Shore Hospital.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Amanda Cottome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed here unexpectedly on business a couple of weeks ago - diverted to Sydney for another night away from home to cover a colleague who was ill -- and it was such a brilliant and memorable experience. It's like the iphone of hotels -- all the bits that you want and how you would like it to work just do work like that -- lovely herbal teas when you arrive tired at the end of a full-on day - waffle weave bathrobe, fabulously comfy bed, great quality bath products with descriptions to make you smile ('Soap Dodger' body wash) and staff that seem to be really proud of their hotel. It's an existing building, but cleverly renovated with a funky feel -- if you need complete peace and quiet to sleep I suggest asking for a room on the non Pacific Highway side of the building, but even on the main road it wasn't too intrusive. Breakfast was delicious, the cafe would be a great destination on its own, and topped off an unexpectedly enjoyable business stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozgirlinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlands, Marketing at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Hi ozgirlinparis,

It’s great to see that you enjoyed your unexpected stay with us so much. We think we might have to steal that line “It’s like the iPhone of hotels”, we love it!

Our Tie-Me-Up Tightly robes, Urban Snorer beds and evo products are so popular – they always receive rave reviews. And we’re so happy you enjoyed our Sure Café.

Thanks for your review and we can’t wait to see you again.

Kind Regards

David
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews