We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to always return too”
Review of Szechuan Garden

Szechuan Garden
Reserve with
Szechuan Garden is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 51 Restaurants in St Leonards
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A place to always return too”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My family and I have been eating at this restaurant for thirty years, my children were taught about Chinese food at this place.
It moved, and I thought it had gone, but it just moved to the highway, a bigger and slightly better design, this place is a little expensive, but so ,so worth eating there, the dried beef is just so good, the entrées are wonderful, I love the tofu salad, the spring rolls are to die for, great wine and beer list, I think beer is a good choice for Chinese food, wine to me just does not work.
I have eaten there alone, and with large groups, it is a place I take visitors and friends, lunch or dinner, this place has catered for me on many occasions, I love the food and the people that own it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pflynn58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    23
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Consistently great food and service”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We keep returning to this (I think) family run restaurant in St Leonards. The big round tables with lazy Susan make it our only choice for big parties because we can easily chat to each other and also share dishes. Last time we went for a family birthday (3 generations and something for everyone) we chose one of the banquets which coincidentally had all the selections I had chosen anyway minus the hassle of ordering individually. On most previous occasions we had ordered a la carte (when I say "we", my foodie friend takes the lead and orders for the rest of us!!) I really like the service. They seemed to be unflustered despite the large tables. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank antipodeantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“You just NEED to go back to for more.”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Highly recommended. Out of the ordinary Chinese food with great service. We eat here regularly and just have to keep coming back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MCMLVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottershaw, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were disappointed in the menu which was limited, the portions were modest and the prices quite high. Would not recommend it

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food, rough but good service”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Probably the only decent business restaurant in the area.

Great food. We are regulars and likely to keep coming back again and again.

The service is like a row diamond... Needs polishing .

Helpful?
1 Thank TrevelerFB2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szechuan Garden also viewed

 
St Leonards, North Sydney
 
St Leonards, North Sydney
Crows Nest, North Sydney
 

Been to Szechuan Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing