We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a quick bite before movies at Ryde Event Cinema” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kazbah Top Ryde - CLOSED

Kazbah Top Ryde
Price range: $3 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Kazbah Top Ryde is the third edition of the Kazbah Group chain of restaurants. The other Kazbah venues are located at Darling Harbour and Top Ryde. Kazbahs little sister cafes Mezbah are located at the Adina hotel in Sydney Central and Lime Street. Kazbah is Sydney's leader in Middle Eastern cuisine. Established since 1998 by chef and owner Zahi Azzi, Kazbah has been delivering Sydneysiders with the most innovative and flavoursome blend of the old and new - Levantine and Modern Australian food in authentic, stylish surrounds. Be transported to Morocco, Iran, Lebanon, Israel, Syria and Turkey with a French/Mediterranean flare. Kazbah puts the hospitality back into the hospitality industry.
Sydney
Level Contributor
85 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great for a quick bite before movies at Ryde Event Cinema”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Last week-end was the 3rd time i visited here for dinner before catching a movie at Event Cinema at Top Ryde. Each time, the food and service was very good. We asked to hurry up the meal as we had under an hour before the start of the movie. They obliged and our comes sensational tasting food, like previous times. Service was courteous and friendly. Ambience was average, there is outdoor seating available, good for summer time, but its ok even now during winter, as there are those vertical heaters. The only drawback is the expense, yes it is not cheap, i paid about $75 for 2 main courses, and a glass of red wine. Dont forget to order the couscous with your meal - yum.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeyandMeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    15
    10
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,170 reviews
884 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
“Expected better, and hidden costs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Just had a sunday lunch here which was ok. We choose the spicy lamb borek, which if anyone has had 1 from a place in mebourne queen vic markets, it was nothing close. Flavours ok, but was tiny and deep fried like a spring roll.
Lamb tagine and Lamb kofta were ok, but meats were a bit dry and could have been much better.

BE WEARY! There was a sunday 10% surcharge and then another added charge for credit card payment. NOT Once were we made aware of this. If we were told probably would have went elsewhere.

With other choices close by I would not come here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank szkut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4,908 reviews
2,760 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,798 helpful votes
“What happened to breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Generally love the food here although occasional challenges. Came for lunch yesterday but in the past, breakfast had always been available till 3pm.
That gave "meat eaters" a chance to enjoy the many options of skewers etc. but others a varied menu and one of my favourites is the Moroccan style lamb mince - a great dish.
Breakfast has now disappeared on week days and is only available on weekends - pity as some of the options were wonderful

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4,908 reviews
2,760 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,798 helpful votes
“Credit card slug”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Have been many times and enjoyed their breakfasts - love the spicy Moroccan style lamb mince. Did get a shock though when I was charged 2.5% for a MasterCard - way in excess of any real costs. Teach me to check the charges in future. Service was ordinary - we were the only ones there yet it still took 30 minutes for breakfast to arrive.

.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent for a Moroccan Taste”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

We had the chicken skewers and tri-dip here. The wine is excellent.

The service is great and enjoyed it very much. Expect to pay around $120/couple.

It's not an everyday restaurant to go to as it's a little pricey, but always to go every now and then.

It is situated in the alcove of Top Ryde shopping centre with indoor/outdoor seating. I haven't been for a while as it's a little far from my place, but I'll be booking again soon. Can't wait!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tonz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kazbah Top Ryde also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing