We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Disappointing return!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Star Hotel West Ryde
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Ryde
Reviewed May 30, 2012

This is my third stay here in the past 5 years and definitely the worst. Unlike previous trips, where I had rooms at the back of the of the Motel, I was allocated one closest to "very " busy Victoria Road and the traffic noise never stopped.
The rooms are tired and need of, at the very least, a coat of paint , particularly around the door frames. The air conditioning unit is old and noisy and when the traffic noise kept me awake the sound of snoring from the adjoining unit came through ,loud and clear!! Some investment in sound insulation urgently needed.
The final straw came with the "cold"tap in the shower it has hardly any movement and is actually a safety hazard , a danger to scalding!
I put in 2 stars because the dining room meals elevated the rating! For dinner the Pumpkin Soup was very good and my steak was cooked exactly as requested! The meal was more Good Home Cooking than normal Restaurant fare and when away from home , on business, there is really nothing better!
This was a business related stay and chosen for it's convenient location, however the sleepless night made business, the next day, a real struggle.
In a nutshell the staff were courteous and friendly, the meals very good..........Unit 8 a Disaster!!!!

Room Tip: Take only rooms furthest away from Victoria Road then thoroughly inspect before accepting!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpgoodship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 88 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2012

I was impressed,my wife and i have stayed here several times and it is very good value for money,top, but limited food.
Sure some of the rooms have seen better days but they are quite reasonable size and are very clean and well maintained.
I stayed 4 nights,had breakfast 3 mornings and ate twice at night,well impressed.good food all staff friendly and attentive.
I brought to the attention of the manageress that a light globe had blown and Tv had minor problems.
She offered to replace globe immediately and get onto Foxtel again,as she had had problems but thought Fox had sorted them.
So you get more than you paid for,bearing in mind West Ryde Comfort Inn is a 3 star establishment and I will definitely stay here again next time I am in Sydney.
Otis T.Driftwood

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank otistdriftwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Room stank like cigarettes. The bed covers looked and smelt like they hadn't been cleaned in over a decade. Staff were less than helpful... Only stay here if you are a group of guys wanting to play golf!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mum274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

I went there very recently and they make sure they get your credit card details before you change your mind and then tell you about the cancelation fee.They must know that people will come and see it before they pay at the reception.
I were there for 1 hour,and all i could here was semi trailers,buses,cars as there is 6lanes of Sydney's most congested road RIGHT outside the room door.After 1 hour i could not bare to be in this place any longer and knew there was no other better rooms.i went to the receptionist to ask for a refund.Her name is Helen and is very sneaky.She said she couldn't authorise a refund with out her manager,i said well, where is the manager? "i don't know where my manager is" I told her "What do you mean you have no idea the manager is,call her mobile phone" She looked really sneaky and i watched her try to call her bosses mobile by pressing 4 digits into the phone and pretending to dial her boss.She said her boss will call me,but of course the crooks haven't called me.They messed with the wrong person.Someone who has done a degree in business who knows the consumer laws.This hotel is only good for sex workers.The hotel is in the middle of no where just the noisy 6 lanes of a congested road that leads to the outer suburbs of sydney.!hour walk to the closest train station.DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

if you wish to pay top dollar to be treated like a poor relative begging for a bed this is the place for you. Analougue television 1970,s crap condition rooms, staff that barely tolerate you and all this because you can see a golf course from your room (I dont even like golf).Last night of my family holiday spoiled because of my poor choise of motel.

Room Tip: find another motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

The first thing that greets you upon check-in is the manager's gorgeous little dog Misha. So cute! She made me feel very welcome straight away and set the tone for a nice friendly place to stay. All the staff are wonderful, very friendly and helpful. The rooms are large and the view across the golf course is beautiful.

I never heard any noise from other rooms, but there is significant traffic noise from the busy road at the front. Keep the bathroom door closed to minimise it. There would be less noise if the windows in the bathroom were closable but they don't go all the way to the top for ventilation purposes. This makes the bathrooms cold as well. The rooms are all non-smoking which is great but the booklet in the room said people could smoke outside and there were chairs placed there seemingly for that purpose. But if anyone decided to smoke out there the smoke would come straight into the non-closing bathroom windows. No one did that while I was there so it wasn't a problem for me.
Breakfast in the restaurant overlooking the golf course was very nice, though I don't like TVs on in restaurants, this wasn't loud at least.
Very convenient location for driving from Newcastle. No CBD tolls, bridges, traffic or parking hassles. Very good value for money. Easy walk to KFC, McDonalds and another restaurant. Short drive to the train station.
I'd be very happy to stay again. I look forward to seeing little Misha again. She really adds a lovely, personal touch to the place.

Room Tip: Nice views of the golf course from all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I stayed here as I needed to be in West Ryde for appointments over several days.
Rooms are pretty crappy, extremely noisy being on a main road, and the receptionist is rude!! It seemed an inconvenience to her that I ask for toilet paper as my room had not been cleaned that day (I had told the cleaners not to worry).
Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sfpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
3.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park Hotel
Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park ...
#4 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
884 reviews
3.3 mi away
Waldorf Parramatta Apartment Hotel
4.1 mi away
Quest North Ryde
Quest North Ryde
#2 of 6 in North Ryde
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Macquarie North Ryde
3.3 mi away
Rydges Parramatta
Rydges Parramatta
#3 of 4 in Rosehill
622 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Enfield
Ibis Budget Enfield
#1 of 2 in Strathfield South
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Star Hotel West Ryde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Star Hotel West Ryde

Address: 1188 Victoria Rd | West Ryde, Ryde, New South Wales 2114, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn West Ryde)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Ryde
Price Range: $68 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Star Hotel West Ryde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Star Hotel West Ryde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ryde
Ryde Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing