We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not suitable for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn West Ryde
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Ryde
Mayfield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not suitable for families”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Room stank like cigarettes. The bed covers looked and smelt like they hadn't been cleaned in over a decade. Staff were less than helpful... Only stay here if you are a group of guys wanting to play golf!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mum274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    26
    26
    12
    14
See reviews for
17
23
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

I went there very recently and they make sure they get your credit card details before you change your mind and then tell you about the cancelation fee.They must know that people will come and see it before they pay at the reception.
I were there for 1 hour,and all i could here was semi trailers,buses,cars as there is 6lanes of Sydney's most congested road RIGHT outside the room door.After 1 hour i could not bare to be in this place any longer and knew there was no other better rooms.i went to the receptionist to ask for a refund.Her name is Helen and is very sneaky.She said she couldn't authorise a refund with out her manager,i said well, where is the manager? "i don't know where my manager is" I told her "What do you mean you have no idea the manager is,call her mobile phone" She looked really sneaky and i watched her try to call her bosses mobile by pressing 4 digits into the phone and pretending to dial her boss.She said her boss will call me,but of course the crooks haven't called me.They messed with the wrong person.Someone who has done a degree in business who knows the consumer laws.This hotel is only good for sex workers.The hotel is in the middle of no where just the noisy 6 lanes of a congested road that leads to the outer suburbs of sydney.!hour walk to the closest train station.DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ryde hotels

Gosford, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

if you wish to pay top dollar to be treated like a poor relative begging for a bed this is the place for you. Analougue television 1970,s crap condition rooms, staff that barely tolerate you and all this because you can see a golf course from your room (I dont even like golf).Last night of my family holiday spoiled because of my poor choise of motel.

Room Tip: find another motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australi
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

The first thing that greets you upon check-in is the manager's gorgeous little dog Misha. So cute! She made me feel very welcome straight away and set the tone for a nice friendly place to stay. All the staff are wonderful, very friendly and helpful. The rooms are large and the view across the golf course is beautiful.

I never heard any noise from other rooms, but there is significant traffic noise from the busy road at the front. Keep the bathroom door closed to minimise it. There would be less noise if the windows in the bathroom were closable but they don't go all the way to the top for ventilation purposes. This makes the bathrooms cold as well. The rooms are all non-smoking which is great but the booklet in the room said people could smoke outside and there were chairs placed there seemingly for that purpose. But if anyone decided to smoke out there the smoke would come straight into the non-closing bathroom windows. No one did that while I was there so it wasn't a problem for me.
Breakfast in the restaurant overlooking the golf course was very nice, though I don't like TVs on in restaurants, this wasn't loud at least.
Very convenient location for driving from Newcastle. No CBD tolls, bridges, traffic or parking hassles. Very good value for money. Easy walk to KFC, McDonalds and another restaurant. Short drive to the train station.
I'd be very happy to stay again. I look forward to seeing little Misha again. She really adds a lovely, personal touch to the place.

Room Tip: Nice views of the golf course from all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I stayed here as I needed to be in West Ryde for appointments over several days.
Rooms are pretty crappy, extremely noisy being on a main road, and the receptionist is rude!! It seemed an inconvenience to her that I ask for toilet paper as my room had not been cleaned that day (I had told the cleaners not to worry).
Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sfpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Comfort Inn West Ryde.
Urgent funeral to attend so booked this motel for convenience.
Arrived and given key to room 22. Opened door to see towels on floor, bedlinen as left by previous room occupants, room uncleaned. Promptly asked for another room. This was presentable but smelled musty and wasn't particularly clean. Major road, Victoria Rd is noisy but cannot be shut out too well as the bathroom glass is cut short in window frame. Asked if it was possible to transfer to a quieter room.Told that they were fully booked. Only about 10 cars, no bus patrons, 40 unit motel so wasn't 'fully booked'. Entrance ceiling light not working so asked for a new globe and fitted it. Little things that one expects,shampoo, hairdryer, iron, toaster not provided in room. Our experience was similar to other comments on Tripadvisor. Premium price ($130) for 2 star quality. Comfort Inn Chain, why do you let this motel trash your brand?
Received the usual response from the management that tries to cover up for the fact that the motel is sub-standard from my complaint to Comfort Inn Corporation that this motel trashes the brand.
Ignored any issue of the fact that the rooms smell musty and housekeeping is of a poor standard.
Claimed that the motel was fully booked when only 1 quarter full.
The only reason to stay here is it has car parking, nobody goes by bus or taxi

Room Tip: Go elsewhare, anywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timekeeper28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Take heed everyone do not stay at this motel. It would have to be the worst motel I and my wife have ever stayed in. The antique air conditioning should be taken to the nearest tip. It was like sleeping in the same room as a freight train. You would expect traffic noise to be reasonably loud but not coming through your room. This motel was dirty, the showers were mouldy and when checking in there was a small dog that threw up 3 times in the reception area, this should have been enough to turn us off. The staff were of no help at all. After complaining they still had the hide to charge us $10.50 for a steak sandwich. It is first hotel that I have ever stayed in Australia wide where they photo copy your licence AND credit card.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KessaBallina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
4.8 mi away
Shilla Lodge Hotel
Shilla Lodge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Strathfield
8 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park Hotel
Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park ...
#4 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
845 reviews
2.9 mi away
Novotel Sydney Olympic Park
Novotel Sydney Olympic Park
#2 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Parramatta Waldorf Apartment Hotel
2.9 mi away
Ibis Sydney Olympic Park
Ibis Sydney Olympic Park
#3 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
465 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mercure Sydney Parramatta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn West Ryde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn West Ryde

Property: Comfort Inn West Ryde
Address: 1188 Victoria Rd | West Ryde, Ryde, New South Wales 2114, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn West Ryde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Comfort Inn West Ryde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ryde
Ryde Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing