We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not quite as bad as we had read in reveiws” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metro Inn Ryde

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Metro Inn Ryde
Ranked #1 of 3 Ryde B&B and Inns
Forbes, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“not quite as bad as we had read in reveiws”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We only stayed one night for a concert recently, and had booked it earlier in the year , by the time i read the reviews on the metro inn i was extremly concerned about the place , But there was now no where else left to stay. Sooo armed with bug spray (as we had read the bed bug review) i am happy to say that we were lucky enough to have a upstairs room with a balcony, as we had read that these were the better rooms, so I was very pleased about that.
The room furniture was a little out of date but that does not worry me at all , and it did seem to be clean, but badly stained so this sort of gives a dirty feel to it. but as long as it was clean i am ok with stained tiles ect .. for the cost of the room i think it was a ok deal, not a fantastic motel by no means, but no where near what i had feared after reading so many bad reviews. The staff were nice and helpful , and i always think this is important when staying in a motel .... I gave it a "average" rating , it wasnt "poor" in our room but not quiet average either..But closer to average than poor .....

Room Tip: ask for a upstairs room with a balcony when booking ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    104
    57
    18
    23
See reviews for
68
76
25
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Stephens, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Metro Inn to visit relatives in nearby Concord Hospital.

This hotel is in desperate need of a total refurbishment. The rooms are fairly spacious, however poorly laid out. The bathroom was very small considering the size of the room and it's the only place I've stayed where I still felt dirty after having a shower.

They charge $10 for a continental breakfast, however I opted to skip this.

Our original plan to stay at the Ibis at Olympic Park should have happened, however with a relative staying at the Metro Inn we stayed there instead.

I should also advise that we were made aware that the hotel has recently changed owners and the new owners were doing some minor renovations during the day.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dodgyvalve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ryde hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

The only thing that was ok was the bed which was clean and crisp. The whole building is dirty and run down. the hall is creepy, the carpet is dirty and you cannot even turn around in the bathroom. Seriously, just demolish it and start again. The guy at reception in the suit was pleasant, the woman couldn't crack a smile. Never again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

This hotel is old and in need a of makeover (or demolition) - inside the hotel looks and feels much older than the google view from Victoria Road. This is one hotel I would not return for another stay. As you walk down the hallway towards your room you get this feeling - what am I doing here. The carpet is very old and repairs are needed to various holes / fittings as you walk past. Once inside your room you feel a little bit better, it appears a bit cleaner and generally ok (but it was dark and the lights were dim). The staff were friendly and efficient on checkout in the morning. (I arrived late and the reception was closed). Parking is in a non secure open area of the property. Do your research first if this is the hotel you want to book and perhaps inspect the room prior to accepting / paying. As a child I lived nearby, and now when visiting friends I stay around the North Ryde / Macquarie University area. If you need to save money stay at one of the local pubs. The more I think about it, this is the worst hotel I have stayed in - its comparison would be some as the old dingey hotels / drug rooms from Kings Cross in the 80's.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere, or inspect room before confirming payment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank touring1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Bed bugs infection the following day, bed was damp feeling and smelt musty. Room smelt of urine, window broken so wouldn't stay open. Hair all over the shower wall and floor. Everything dated and very obvious not a dollar spent on maintenance since it was first built. Hallways (and rooms also) were dimly lit.

Travel alot for work and this is honestly the worst place I have stayed in six years. Its an overwhelmingly depressing hotel. Feels like a creepy hostel from a horror movie.

Reception staff member lacked any interest or personality. Should have slept in the hire car.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittyboo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

good average stay- nothing out of ordinary- friendly staff made up for paucity of amenities

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

I'll make this short
- bug bomb stink in downstairs hallway
- blood stains on carpet
- skin itching just being in the room
- filthy, filthy, disgusting horrid little hole

This place needs to be demolished

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Followthework
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn West Ryde
3.0 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments North Ryde
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Macquarie North Ryde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Novotel Sydney Olympic Park
Novotel Sydney Olympic Park
#2 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park Hotel
Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park ...
#4 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
4.4 mi away
Parramatta Waldorf Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Inn Ryde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Inn Ryde

Property: Metro Inn Ryde
Address: Corner Victoria Rd & Bowden St, Ryde, New South Wales 2112, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Metro Inn Ryde 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're only 20 minutes from the centre of Sydney, at the Metro Inn Ryde, in one of the city's most lively and interesting suburbs. Metro Inn Ryde offers well-furnished rooms, with air conditioning, clock radio/alarm, direct dial phones, colour television, refrigerator and tea and coffee making facilities.Enjoy excellent meals at our licensed restaurant, serves breakfast and dinner, with room service also available. Guests can enjoy a barbecue and relax around the swimming pool. For guests attending the various events, sporting contests and conferences at Olympic Park and Homebush Bay, we are only 7km away. Approximately 10-15 minutes in a taxi or a five minute walk to Meadowbank train station, just change at Strathfield for trains to Olympic Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Metro Inn Ryde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Ryde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing