We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodation and Rosehill Race Day package”
Review of Rydges Parramatta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Parramatta
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rosehill
Reviewed September 23, 2010

We paid $298 for a race day package that included members entry into the races, a nights accomodation, full buffet breakfast, a free drink and discounts. We were a priority guest member - you can join on the rydges website and it is free to join. You get discounts on accomodation and packages etc.

The staff were very friendly. We checked in early and our room was not ready so the staff changed our room to one that was ready. They organised a port-a-cot for the bub too. We came back from the races and there was good security at the entry so as not to let all the race crowd strays in. Rydges catered for everyone - those that still wanted to drink and be entertained in the bars to those that just wanted to dine and rest.

We had a beautiful smorgasboard dinner for about $38 that included seafood and the chef cooking your meat or fish to your liking. Desert was yummy too. Breakfast buffet was just as yummy with a large variety. The staff were prompt and friendly.

As it was race day the security worked with Police to ensure everyone enjoyed the premises and did not get too drunk or rowdy. Hence the place remained family friendly. I would say that most of the crowd was 30 and over and families were present as well. I saw one man about 50 that had a little too much to drink. The staff and security sat him down, gave him water and made sure he was ok and then arranged for him to go home. It was nice to see this responsible and friendly behaviour.

The rooms were pleasant and beds very comfy.

Rydges is just across the road from the races making it a great location for a race day / night out. Its also conveniently located near Homebush and Parramatta CBD.

My husband;s parents and some of our friends took up the race day package as well and loved it.

We are definately planning another family race day package with Rydges again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBMayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2010

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here
Rydges Parramatta. Thank you for your feedback, and we look
forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Kind Regards,
Rydges Parramatta Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

577 - 583 of 610 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2010

Stayed here in june and july on bussiness. very clean rooms and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plumb209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPAFOM, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2010

Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Parramatta in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Rydges Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

My partner and I stayed here on a raceday weekend and still only paid $140 for the Strawberry Road Suite (This was advanced purchase and on the FREE priority guest membership sign up).
The room was large and luxurious and the bathroom was more than we expected. At the end of the hall there is a large spa bath and steam room with shower inside.
The whole room had extremely tasteful décor and a perfectly comfortable bed.
Only let down was the price of dinner and breakfast. I only had eggs on toast for breakfast and still had to pay $25!!
Otherwise a lovely stay was had.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzAsh7614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPAFOM, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2010

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear that enjoyed your stay in our Strawberry Road Suite, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Parramatta in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Rydges Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

I stayed here last weekend for 2 nights sat and sun the 10th july. The rooms (Panorama suite) were comfortable and very clean. The bed was also lovely. The major problem with this place however was the road out the front which was noisy but that was drowned out by the extra noisy Aircon, when you turn that off you get road noise starting at 5.00 am and goes all night. I would have thought a Panorama Suite( with alledged "sweeping views") would be a high level room but alas it was right on the first floor, no views road frontage very very sad.I felt a bit off deception here although the rooms where fine for a 4 star joint they did not live up to their own hype.If i had to stay here again it would be a top floor unit on the other side off the building.Otherwise concierge/check in fine, staff friendly and the price was well very good. The equal room in a Sydney cbd hotel would be $300 so you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judpriest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CronullaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay at Rydges Parramatta. We are very glad that you found the Reception team friendly. Your comments regarding the noise in your room have been passed onto our Maintenance Manager. Once again, thank you taking the time to share your experience as it is very important for us to hear your comments and have the opportunity to rectify any deficiencies.
Kind Regards,
Rydges Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

Staff very welcoming, and reception staff very helpful finding out information such as the train times and ordering taxis etc
Housekeeping staff couldn't do enough for you
The room we stayed in was nice - though wouldn't call it luxurious as described on the website (we stayed in 201, a panorama room). The Panorama room is plenty big enough for a family of 4 like us travelling with 2 small children, but the huge panorama windows were obstructed by the sofa bed and a huge desk, which was a bit of bad planning I think. Nevertheless, very comfortable and very clean.
This hotel is across the road from the Rosehill train station, and even though the trains only run on the half hour, the connecting trains from the mainline stations were from our experience, planned so that the waiting time was a minimum.
The location for us of this hotel was brilliant - a nice trip by the rivercat into Sydney which took about 50 minutes, and as mentioned before we made it back with no problems from the city by train.
We stayed at this hotel because of the close proximity to ANZ stadium for the Everton v Sydney game which we were attending, and also because we were close enough to the city to venture in there on Sunday (really cheap for a family with children @ $2.50 each for use of the rivercat, all ferries and buses, and trains). The prices of the hotel were brilliant, and we reckoned to save a fortune, just by staying that little way out of the city. (We could actually see the Harbour Bridge from our room - ok was just a silhouette on the horizon, but we could still see it, which made us seem really close, but not smack bang in the city!)
The pool in the hotel was great and the kiddies loved it. There is a small Spa attached to it which was lovely and warm. There is also a pretty good gym too if you fancied it. I was told by my husband afterwards that there was a Sauna in the changing rooms - would have been better if there was just one rather than one in the ladies and one in the mens - wouldn't have fancied just going in there on my own.
The breakfast was great in the Steeds restaurant, and the there was so much to choose from it was amazing - the chef didn't show at the egg station on Saturday or Sunday, but on Monday the chef was there and cooked you practically whatever you wanted eggs wise! (i had a couple of poached and they were cooked to perfection!)
We ate another time in the Steeds restaurant on Friday night, and my steak was cooked to perfection too, though the mushroom sauce that came with it was lacking in mushrooms, and tasted more like a red currant sauce than mushroom. The kiddies menu was great too - not just the usual crappy nuggets and burgers, but there was also things like pasta, pizza, and fish & chips and small steak! My daughter had a child's steak and it was huge!! My other daughter had the burger and chips and that was pretty tasty too! My husband chose the moroccan style lamb shank (I think it was) served with cous cous, and he said that it was delicious! We were so full when we'd finished that the we asked if the dessert we ordered (cheese biscuits and fruit) and the kiddies free icecream they got with their meal) could be taken up to the room - absolutely no problem - they even offered to bring it up to our room for us! Fabulous! Then I looked at the bill when we got back to the room and noticed that they'd charged us the tray charge for room service! Cheeky buggers! Ok, it was only $4, but I could have carried my own tray up - I wasn't that full! Never mind, you live and learn!
There are a few fast food places around, ie a McDonalds, KFC, Subway as well as a little Woollies with Liquor store attached about a 10 minute walk and also a number of restaurants in Harris park - again about a 10 to 15 min walk in the opposite direction - if you like Indian food - then its a dream place (Harris Park), We found one in particular that was amazing - the Spice of Life on Wigram Street is definitely worth a look for fabulous indian food and for what we got - it was awesome value for money too!
The parking outside the hotel is free, but if you choose to park undercover (downstairs under the hotel) its $10 per night!
All in all a great trip to Rydges in Parramatta - we were very pleased, and would definitely stay there again.
Quick note.... if you are staying there - make sure that before you book you register for the Rydges Loyalty Card - you can do it on their website - you get 20% off all your food and drinks (except brekkie and room service) and that can be used not only in this hotel, but in the other Rydges too! This saved us quite a lot of money, especially when we had a couple of drinks there on occasion and with the meal we had on Friday night too!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lellijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CronullaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2010

We are very glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay here at Rydges Parramatta. Thank you for your feedback, it is vital for us to hear so that we can continuously strive to improve our service levels and enhance the great product Rydges Parramatta has to offer our guests.
Kind Regards,
Rydges Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Stayed for 1 night while in Sydney to see Top Gear live at Acer Arena. Was really surprised by the location and quality of rooms. The hotel is located directly opposite Rosehill racecourse with views over to the city. The room was large and the bed was the most comfortable that I have ever slept in. The service was A1 from all staff. Will definitely stay at Rydges Parramatta again. Great value for money!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oz_traveller400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CronullaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2010

We would like to thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Rydges Parramatta. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your night, and liked our Rydges Dream beds! Once again thank you for your positive feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Parramatta in the future.
Kind Regards,
Rydges Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2010

We stayed here for 6 days during the end of december and the beginning of january because the rooms were reasonably priced and all the hotels in Sydney were extremely expensive close to new years eve. The hotel in general is alright, the rooms are clean and the staff is friendly. However you can see that the hotel is a bit dated as the furniture seemed to be a bit old. The location of the hotel wasn't too good. If you wanted to go to the central of Parramatta you would have to walk for about a half an hour and if you wanted to go to Sydney you need to take two trains to reach there and the trip takes about 45 minutes.
Fortunately there are some fast food restaurants and a Woolworths (big grocery store) nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birdistheword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback regarding stay at Rydges Parramatta. We feel it is very important for us to hear your comments and have the opportunity to rectify any deficiencies, and work towards providing improved service standards and product.
Kind Regards,
Rydges Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosehill
0.3 mi away
Mercure Sydney Parramatta
1.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Parramatta
PARKROYAL Parramatta
#4 of 12 in Parramatta
935 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Parramatta Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Meriton Suites George Street, Parramatta
0.9 mi away
Mantra Parramatta
Mantra Parramatta
#5 of 12 in Parramatta
1,406 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
#8 of 12 in Parramatta
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Parramatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Parramatta

Address: 116 James Ruse Dr, Rosehill, Parramatta, New South Wales 2142, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Parramatta > Rosehill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rosehill
Price Range: $101 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Parramatta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Parramatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Parramatta Rosehill
Rydges Parramatta Hotel Rosehill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing