We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A day at the races!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rydges Parramatta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Parramatta
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rosehill
Manly, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A day at the races!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Requested an early check in to get ready before the horse races began across the road but this was confirmed in the negative at 9am of day of check in. We requested a high floor level room but got 2nd floor. We had dinner in the restaurant which was excellent and breakfast was good too. However, on return to our room at 9pm other guests and their children had taken room chairs into the corridor and were sitting outside our room chatting loudly. The hotel staff came and chatted to them at 10pm and although they moved furniture back into their room they continued to talk loudly and slam doors until almost midnight. It was also a little scary that the hotel needs to have a police presence in the foyer while the nightclub is open, but perhaps it is better they are there than not.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Hi Geraldine C,

Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay. We do our best to try to accommodate our guests early check in requests, but our advertised check in time is from 2 pm, as we can't gaurantee rooms to be available earlier than that. We were glad to hear you enjoyed your dinner and breakfast, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    234
    115
    58
    25
See reviews for
102
137
31
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay if you are wanting accommodation for Sydney Easter show. Shuttle bus to and from accommodation and package deal which includes entry accommodation, shuttle and breakfast. Parking also on sight so you don't need to take your car to the show.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Blewbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hi Blewbay,

Thanks for your great feedback on your recent stay. it's great to hear you enjoyed our Easter Show package, and that you took advantage of our complimentary on site parking.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherglen, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

First impressions of the hotel was good, but when in the room we found the toilet flush button was coming off the wall and when I went to plug in my phone to recharge, the wall socket was also coming off the wall. I didn't report these because I felt that surely housekeeping would/should have reported them. At night the room was quite noisy from the traffic and from windows rattling.

Buffet breakfast - while there was a great selection of food, most were not hot (even though they were supposed to be). The first morning we had scrambled eggs but because they were not hot we chose a freshly made omelet for consecutive mornings. There was a sign that said "Ask about our omelet of the day". We did and was told the ingredients which were exactly the same as every morning - you just choose which ones you want in it!

The best thing about the hotel was (apart from free WIFI) their restaurant Steeds. We met friends there for dinner on Saturday night and had a beautiful meal. I could not fault it at all. The waitress was brilliant and the food delicious (I had oysters and the duck). Would recommend it anytime.

The staff were friendly and helpful when we asked any questions.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hi Mary R,

Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay. We do apologise in regards to the issues in your room, and would have loved to have been able to resolve them for you at the time. Our staff are also on hadn 24 hours a day to assist with any of your queries or concerns.

It was great to hear you enjoyed Steeds Club Grill & Bar, as well as our complimentary WI-FI.

Thanks again for your feedback, and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Firstly we were allowed to check in earlier then normal as our room was ready to go which was great due to a lack of sleep the night before so that was a plus, I do however find that just 30min after laying down to have a quick sleep we get a knock on the door "minibar" what? The staff had come to check the mini bar, surely this should have been done before flagging the room to reception it is ready to go? After a check the gentleman indicated that some items were missing from the bar and if he had not checked we would have been charged for them? Ummm I don't think so.......

Anyways at $300 for the night, way overpriced for the area as not much around it, there was a continuous noise coming from the air vent in the bathroom all night, luckily we only stayed the 1 night.

Breakfast was the most disappointing, thank heavens we only paid $19 due to a voucher as the normal price for a full breakfast at "The Rise" is normally $29.95, We arrived about 9:45am to have no bread, had to ask for it and I think it must have been frozen as it appeared cold to touch, no English muffins for Eggs Benedict and limited pastries, while I appreciated that we may not have been there at 6.30am you would think you would have enough food to supply the full breakfast slot or simply shut it down and stop charging for food which has been sitting under heat lamps for extended periods and empty stations, even the yoghurt bowls were empty, luckily we could not find any bowls to get any.

These are the things people notice and I was not the only one, with another couple looking very perplexed with the breakfast offer.

Stay closer to Parramatta for better breakfast options and restaurants, I would suggest cheaper as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Youngy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hi Youngy2,

Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay. It was disappointing to hear that your overall experience wasn't what many of our guests have come to enjoy when they stay with us. We were glad we could get you in early, although our minibar attendant did come to your room. It is also unfortunate that your breakfast was not what you had expected, as our guests love our RISE breakfast and the offerings available.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Booked a queen room and that is what we got. Unfortunately, it looked over the busy highway and all we could hear all night was the engine brakes of the thousands of trucks that pass by continuously.

Tried to turn on the heating, and while it drowned out the sound of the trucks, it was so noisy we had to turn it off.

The bed was broken - totally collapsed in the middle. The toilet wouldn't flush completely, and the toilet paper was so thin you could see through it.

Asked to be moved for the rest of the stay and the new room, facing the carpark, was quiet and the bed wasn't broken. Very clean and comfortable!

FOOD
We ate at the buffet on the first night. MISTAKE. $47 per head and assured that "cook to order was available".

Had both the Rump and the Fillet steak - neither was trimmed, both were covered in fat and gristle and poorly cooked. Asked for medium rare - received rare and bleeding all over a tiny plate.

The only vegetable on offer was pumpkin. The gravy tasted like brown water with a few peppercorns thrown in.

The risotto was dry and tasteless, the pasta bake - greasy and inedible.

Salad bar was awful - one pitiful dish of lettuce with some olives. Same with the so-called anti-pasto selection - I get better salami and ham from the local Coles.

Service was pretty poor also.

Tried room service on day three for a late lunch - terrible. Not sure why we expected an improvement over the buffet. My steak sandwich had an almost raw piece of beef, bleeding all over un-toasted bread with a limp and brown lettuce leaf. No tomato, cheese, butter - nothing else. Just awful. And the "side of chips" was exactly 8 cooked-from-frozen chips. For $27 I expected a nice bowl of chips and at least a sandwich that was edible.

Concierge and Front Desk staff were lovely - friendly, informative and professional. But the tired, broken rooms and inedible, over priced food really lets the place down.

So disappointed, as we are Rydges Priority members and have been to many different Rydges properties. Rydges Parramatta was more roadside motel than central hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi Natalie B,

Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay. It is disappointing to hear that you didn't enjoy our food and beverage offerings, as so many of our guests did over this period. We were glad we were able to move you to another room after the maintenance issues you experienced and that your final room was clean and comfortable!

We would love the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Firstly this place is cheap for a reason it is rated higher than what it actually is.
#1 - Had to buy water usually a hotel of this rating supplies it for free.
#2 - Having a shower 8:40 am and room service decided to try to enter my room (CHECK OUT IS 10).
#3 - Bought the all inclusive breakfast buffet but not everything is included so if you want a good coffee you have to fork out some more.
#4 - Told them my issues at the front desk and they basically laughed at me.
If your there on a budget its budget alright you will however be paying extra for everything once your in the doors. To management before you try to say how the above is right remember one thing. Your hotel used to be good and is not now I WILL NOT COME BACK. Free coffee how much is the cost? When I paid $25 already ?
If you want class people find another hotel in Parra.

Room Tip: Fine another hotel :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hmmmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi Hmmmap,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. It is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your stay as so many of our guests do. We do apologise for the issue with HSK entering your room early, and have followed this up with our Housekeeping Manager. In regards to out RISE breakfast buffet, it is all inclusive as we do have a coffee machine available as part of the buffet, as well as the juices, and egg chef and all of our hot and cold dishes. Espresso coffee is extra, as it is in all hotels, but if you are a member of Rydges Priority guest rewards, you do get a complimentary drink on arrival, which can be used for espresso coffee as well.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rosehill hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

This was the second time I have stayed here and both times have been very comfortable. The rooms are clean and well furnished. I was pleasantly surprised to discover they now have free wi fi. I had dinner in the restaurant which was very nice and breakfast the next morning which was satisfying. I will be coming back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank PeterCollins_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi PeterCollins_13,

Thanks for your great feedback on your recent stay. It's great to hear you have enjoyed multiple stays with us, and as you have mentioned, the complimentary WI-FI is definitely a plus!

We look forward to catching up with you on your next stay.

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosehill
1.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Parramatta
PARKROYAL Parramatta
#3 of 11 in Parramatta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parramatta Waldorf Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mercure Sydney Parramatta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mantra Parramatta
Mantra Parramatta
#5 of 11 in Parramatta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments George Street, Parramatta
1.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Church Street, Parramatta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Parramatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Parramatta

Property: Rydges Parramatta
Address: 116 James Ruse Dr, Rosehill, Parramatta, New South Wales 2142, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Parramatta > Rosehill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rosehill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Parramatta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Parramatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Parramatta Rosehill
Rydges Parramatta Hotel Rosehill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing