We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel - but a few minor flaws”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rydges Parramatta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Parramatta
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rosehill
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel - but a few minor flaws”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Stayed overnight to visit the Caravan & Camping Show at Rosehill. The room (224) was delightful, very well appointed, very clean and comfortable. Unfortunately, the hotel was let down by (1) our not being able to find ABC on the television, (2) ditto SBS, and (3) enquiries to front desk staff about how to find these TV channels not being satisfactorily answered. In particular "We'll call you back" did not eventuate. NB we finally found ABC on channel 36 (should have been channel 1) and SBS similarly in wrong location.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view over Parramatter are much quieter than rooms overlooking Rosehill Racecourse
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hi Jim649,

Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay. We're sorry to hear about the follow up in regards to your enquiries about the tv channels, but we can assure they are all there! The way the tvs work through the hotel puts stations on different channels to what we would have at home, and we apologise for the inconvenience. It's great to hear that you found the room delightful and comfortable.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    233
    115
    58
    24
See reviews for
101
137
31
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Orange, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Our Family stayed at Rydges Parramatta on the 16th of April. We took the kids to the Easter Show. After a long day of Fun we arrived to the hotel, with a very efficient and friendly check in we stayed in interconnecting rooms. After getting the Kids some room service which was hot and tasty we went down to Steeds for Dinner. This is one top quality Restaurant, the food was fantastic and the Service Julie??? was some of the best we have encountered. What a find to have a Hotel Restaurant of this quality in a Hotel. After a great sleep due to very comforatble beds and a cracker breakfast we were away.
This is one Hotel that Gets it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 834James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hi 834James,

Thanks for your fantastic feedback on your recent stay. It's great to hear that you and your family enjoyed yourselves, the restaurant, and the service. We all love our jobs and it's great to see that showing through to our guests.

Thanks again for your feedback, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

After walking out of one lot of accommodation 15 minutes earlier i booked into the Rydges hoping for some comfort and good service and i received it!
From first walking in the door i was met with a smile and courteous reception. The room was on the top floor facing Rosehill with good views, was clean and comfortable. The bed was better then my own which i just paid a small fortune for!
The only down side was that the toilet cistern ran unless you continually pressed the button to stop it, and the AC was loud but was efficient enough not to have running all night.
After the 1st night i discovered the Bar on the bottom floor outside the motel and enjoyed the cheap meals and the cheap beers on certain (Promo) nights. The staff still maintained their professionalism and the locals were friendly.
I had a real good experience at the Rydges as you would expect and will back next time.

Room Tip: Higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAZALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hi Bazhall,

Thanks for your great feedback on your recent stay. It appears that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, and it's great to hear we could provide you with the comfort and good service you were requiring.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

A last minute booking at Rydges Parramatta, to attend the Easter show. We booked 2 rooms , great price online booking. The staff were very helpful and nothing was a problem. The room was clean, queen bed very comfortable. The rollaway bed was like a rock and not at all comfortable for my 12 year old.
Breakfast was excellent, could even get an egg cooked anyway you fancy. I would definitely stay there again, but no rollaway bed !

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jaygirl40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hi JayGirl40,

Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay. it's great to hear that our staff were very helpful and the room was clean and comfortable. Our rollaway beds are quite new, so the mattresses may just be a little on the firm side as well.

We're glad you enjoyed your Easter Show and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berry, NSW
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

This was a marvelous Easter show package. We had two rooms with a double bed & sofa bed to sleep 3 adults & 3 children. When the sofa bed was extended it was a bit hard to get around, but it could have been turned another way. We were driven by bus to the Show and collected again. Breakfast was a complimentary buffet, which was excellent, so much so that I had to stop my grandson from eating too much! We were given 2 complimentary drinks and complimentary paper. My only criticism was there were no shower caps provided in the bathrooms otherwise everything else was absolutely tickety-boo.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joram48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Hi Joram48,

Thanks for your great feedback on your enjoyable Easter Show visit. We're glad you had as great a time taking advantage of our package, as so many other have this year. The shuttles make it so easy to get there and back, and the RISE buffet breakfast is fantastic!

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Great service is often mentioned when booking a room in a resort, but until I'd stayed at Rydges Parramatta, I'd not known the importance of this.
The room was comfortable, very clean, and excellent value for money.
Everything was going well for us, until my young son became ill and without going into detail, this resulted in the unexpected soiling of his bed clothes early in the night.
Fortunately, the reception desk was staffed through the night and after we'd cleaned up as much as possible, I was able to let Katrina on reception know this had happened.
While I was expecting an angry, or perhaps at least frustrated response, I got an understanding smile and a promise someone would be up to assist soon.
Shortly after, Katrina came to the room, and offered to get us another room to help.
We were amazed, and accepted this kind offer. She returned shortly after with new keycards for a nearby room.
As often happens with children, as soon as we got to the new room, he was sick again, and the new bedclothes were soiled.
We cleaned up again, and stressed and tired, I went out to try to find medicine. As I left I let Katrina know this had happened. Once again, she showed complete understanding and patience, and my wife let me know upon my return that Matthew from Rydges had come to the room shortly after to replace our sheets (fortunately, we did not need a new room this time as we had contained things well.) Matthew was also highly professional and helpful.
While it was a difficult night for us, the Rydges staff made it as comfortable as possible for us, and showed us caring and understanding at a time we really needed it.
As we left the next day, we saw Matthew on the desk, who greeted us with a smile and wished us well.
Amazing customer service Rydges!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Wookiee76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Hi Wookiee76,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. Whilst we were sorry to hear that your son became ill, we were so happy to hear that our staff handled this in a professional and friendly matter, and that they were able to offer other solutions and assist where possible.

Thanks again for your great feedback, and we wish your son well on his recovery.

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We have recently spent a fortune and stayed at the Olympic Park hotels, but for a third in savings, our stay at the Rydges Parramatta was as nice, in terms of affordability, comfort, room size, fridge with freezer, easy parking (and plenty of it), access to Olympic Park, etc. The buffet breakfast was fantastic, along with complimentary papers, and in room wifi. Considering it costs $25 per night to park at the Olympic Park, and you have to pay extra for wifi, this option was the best for us, as a family unit to be able to stay relatively close to a major sporting event in Sydney.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up on the east side have great view of the Rosehill race track, with the City and Harbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snap0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Hi snap0204,

Thanks for your great feedback on your recent stay. As the next closest hotel to Sydney Olympic Park, Rydges Parramatta is a great option for families looking to attend all of the events and action at Homebush, without having to spend big. We do have complimentary wi-fi throughout the hotel, and with 168 complimentary parking spots on the hotel grounds, it's a great option for a family stay.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosehill
1.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Parramatta
PARKROYAL Parramatta
#3 of 11 in Parramatta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parramatta Waldorf Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mercure Sydney Parramatta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mantra Parramatta
Mantra Parramatta
#5 of 11 in Parramatta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments George Street, Parramatta
1.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Church Street, Parramatta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Parramatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Parramatta

Property: Rydges Parramatta
Address: 116 James Ruse Dr, Rosehill, Parramatta, New South Wales 2142, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Parramatta > Rosehill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rosehill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Parramatta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Parramatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Parramatta Rosehill
Rydges Parramatta Hotel Rosehill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing