We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WORST EXPERIENCE EVER”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Rydges Parramatta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Parramatta
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rosehill
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WORST EXPERIENCE EVER”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

$600 charged for 2 nights on a promotion clearly qouted $380 and when i wanted to cancel no refund on first night, rooms were disgusting and didnt look anything like photos they looked like a small dull prison, no concierge available, no late night menus, no pools or spa after 10pm, room service is not bad, and the best things is that richard the receptionist is very nice and helpful

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hananabdulhamid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Hi Hananabdulhamid,

Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay. Unfortunately due to the dates being booked incorrectly, there was a difference in accommodation rates for the particular nights that you did end up staying with us. We did not charge a cancellation fee due to the changes, and I can confirm you have only been charged for your original booking. In regards to your other comments, our late night menu is available 24 hours, and our pool hours are from 6am until 10pm, so we can make sure of the safety of our guests and their families. We have also passed on your comments to Richard, and appreciate the feedback about our staff members. It's always great to hear good things about members of our team.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    234
    115
    58
    25
See reviews for
102
137
31
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Staff were rude and sharp. I am 30 and i was treat like an unruley teen. Over priced rooms during events. Towels smelt as if they had been left to dry curled up on the floor. Sheets were marked and stained. Nosiy as the hotel room doors do not prevent from slaming. Beds are comfortable and late check out a bonus. Staff brought up clean sheets and towel quite quickly. I have always stay at Rydges but will not stay at there Parramatta branch again. I recommend staying else where.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hyde23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hi Hyde23,

Thankyou for your feedback on your recent stay. We were disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay, and would love the opportunity to discuss it with you in more depth. We have left a message for you to contact us at the hotel, and hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rosehill hotels

Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

I stayed when Sydney had a lot of events. Due to this, the ridiculous notion of paying double for a room applied (over $400 ). Whilst highway robbery, I understand common practice. The least you can do is provide a room that you can get a nights sleep in. I was placed in an interconnecting room so had the privilege of hearing every word that the room next door had to say - glad they stayed up all night talking. Not their fault, their choice, but as a hotel provide a sound reducing cover over the 20mm gap at the bottom of the door would have resolved this issue. I complained throughout the night 3 times and security was sent the first time - did nothing but make them talk louder. The next times the receptionist just called their room - again nothing but enjoyed listening to their phone ring. I can put up with 80's decor, high prices as long as you provide a basic room that is quiet. Never again and will spread this as far and as wide as possible.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeciliaBlewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hi CeciliaBlewitt,

Thankyou for your feedback on your recent stay. We were disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy yourself on a weekend away, and would love to be able to chat to you in person to discuss your concerns. We have tried to contact you and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and it was well worth the stay. I was upgraded by the Manager to the King Deluxe and was very well rested at the end of the stay. Thanks for noticing my platinum GHA.

Here are the usual pros and cons.

Pros:
- Excellent in room service menu: just a suggestion, you might want to combine your salad menu and steak menu together or at least put it onto the same page. I missed the salad page altogether until I got my steak :)
- Excellent manager who takes notice of the general atmosphere
- Excellent buffet breakfast : Send my regards to Sam the Chef who cooked my omelet for me with a smile.

Cons:
- Swimming pool might need more chemicals.

Room Tip: The further away from the club side, the less noisy when you open the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasper H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Hi Jasper H,

Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay. It's great to receive comments from our GHA Discovery members, and we're glad you enjoyed your time with us. We have definitely passed on your comments to Sam, which will also keep him smiling.

We look mforward to welcoming you back soon, and maybe utilising any Local experiences you may have!

Kind regards,

The Rydges Parramatta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Well presented in the usual Rydges manner. Helpful staff, nice ambience. very convenient for the travel reason. easy to get to from the motorway. On site parking was good, at no cost. Good Sydney bus service to Parramatta.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi Luke W,

Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay. It's great to hear that our guests are getting what they need out of their time with us. We love that you love our parking facilities, and the M92 bus runs regularly into Parramatta from right out the front of the hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We came up to Rydges Parramatta to attend a wedding nearby. We chose this place purely on location and we were able to get a good deal online. The rooms itself are dated and initially had a slight musty smell about it, but it really wasn't something to worry about.

We had a room on a high floor and so had a view overlooking Parramatta.

What really impressed us was the service and dinning facilities. They had onsite 2 bars and 2 restaurants. We attended the buffet breakfast which was awesome. And the bar across from the main reception had drink specials on each day which was a bonus. All the staff were really friendly and always greeted us with a smile and hello.

In addition there is a pool and gym facilities. The gym facilities are limited to 2 bikes, 1 treadmill, 1 rower and a weights multi station.

Rydges is right across the road from the Rosehill Racecourse and to get to inner Parramatta would be a 5 to 10 min drive. Car parking is onsite and free to all guests.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view on a high floor are always nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starfysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hi Starfysh,

Thanks for your great feedback on your recent stay. It was great to hear that you loved the buffet breakfast and the staff were friendly and always smiling. Champs bar is not the only food and beverage outlet that has specials that change daily - make sure to check out all out other options next time you're here.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Booked an event package for 2 adults and 2 children through Rydges Parramatta which was over $500 for the one night which included accommodation overnight, breakfast and transfers to the ANZ stadium.
The room was TINY with a double bed and pullout sofa bed. With the sofa bed pulled out there was no room what so ever to get around to the other side of the bed or access the curtains. Also there is a big office chair that doesn't fit under the desk which juts out into the already small space.
The pool is small and enclosed in a small area so once there were a couple of kids playing around it got unbearably noisy also there was only one chair for all adults to sit and watch their children.
Buffett breakfast was ok nothing spectacular although I must say my omelette was delicious!
We ate dinner at the "pub" underneath the hotel it was full of rude old men who treated the staff horribly and demanded attention immediately when they wanted a bet put on. All the tables where you had to eat had used ashtrays on them and people smoking around us while we tried to eat. Would not recommend eating here with children.
But I must say the reception staff are wonderful and if it wasn't for them our stay would not have been as enjoyable!
I usually stay at the Novotel Homebush but it was booked out. The rooms are larger, cheaper and closer to ANZ stadium.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo2680Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Hi jo2680Australia,

Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay. Whilst iit is always great to hear that our reception staff are wonderful, it was disappointing to hear you were not happy with the rest of your stay. As you have mentioned, the Entertainment Package does include breakfast for everyone, as well as transfers, which makes the price an all inclusive one, and if you had not booked that package, the cost of the room would have decreased, but there would have been the added costs for breakfast and transfers. Our superior queen rooms can accommodate up to 4 adults with the sofe bed, but we do have a number of other room tyoes available, which would make the night that little bit more comfortable.

It is unfortunate you didn't enjoy your experience in our Winning Post Bar, as it is a relaxing atmosphere and a nice place to sit outside during the day.

We do hope you will consider us again for any furute events, and thank you for your feedback. It's always great to receive feedback from senior contributers.

kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosehill
1.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Parramatta
PARKROYAL Parramatta
#3 of 11 in Parramatta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parramatta Waldorf Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mercure Sydney Parramatta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mantra Parramatta
Mantra Parramatta
#5 of 11 in Parramatta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments George Street, Parramatta
1.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Church Street, Parramatta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Parramatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Parramatta

Property: Rydges Parramatta
Address: 116 James Ruse Dr, Rosehill, Parramatta, New South Wales 2142, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Parramatta > Rosehill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rosehill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Parramatta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Parramatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Parramatta Rosehill
Rydges Parramatta Hotel Rosehill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing