We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to be Reenergized”
Review of Rydges Parramatta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Parramatta
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rosehill
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Needs to be Reenergized”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I agree with Kathleen, and the front desk staff were very helpful. Beyond that there was not much that warranted the room rates. The air quality in the room was terrible, due in part to the air conditioning not working. The shower head did not attach to the wall mount, which made it difficult to take a shower.

One night wanting a good meal I went to the resturant and asked for a table for one. The hostess asked that I wait at the bar while she rearranged tables. She said it would take about ten minutes. I was asked if I wanted a drink and ordered a dry gin martini. The girl did not know how to make one so I asked that she give the gin on the rocks. Fifteen miuntes later I asked a staff member if I could have my check and to cancel my table, although the hostess never came back to seat me.

Being hungry I ordered something at the resturant near the lobby. twenty five minutes later finally received my food. Never did anyone from the resturant come and explain why I could not be seated in the main resturant, althought the original hostess passed by me several times.

The hotel did not live up to the impression given on the web site. Very overpriced and staff did not project a desire to provide more than customer service. Customer Satisfaction would have been refreshing.

The breakfast buffett at 29.00 is extremely overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hi rsegura,

Thankyou for your feedback on your recent stay. We were disappointed to hear about your concerns and have passed those on to our Food and Beverage Manager who has since contacted you in regards to these.

We hope your flight home was smooth and that you're not missing the weather here!

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    238
    116
    60
    27
See reviews for
106
141
32
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dungog, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I thought that Rydges would be a nice slightly upper market place. Unfortunately, it did not live up to expectations. It appeared a bit dingy once you got past the very nice lobby. The lifts were not clean, the hallways were grotty, the room was noisy, the windows did not have fly screens and were coated with spider webs. The curtains were too small to cover the windows properly, so the room has major street lights coming in all night. The door was not cushioned to the architrave so it rattled all night from people coming and going, the air conditioner did not do the job. The iron spat all over my clothes, leaving black smudges and then leaked all over the floor. The buffett breakfast cereal was stale, and the hot food was cold. Not a good stay.

Room Tip: Not a choice I would take again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Hi Kathleen153,

Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay. It was disappointing to hear about the issues you have raised, and would have loved to have had the opportunity to discuss them at the time. We have tried to contact you and would love for you to get in touch with the hotel so we can go through your concerns.

We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rosehill hotels

Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over a course of 4 nights. Don't get me wrong it served a purpose. We had an exhibition across the road @ Rosehill racecourse. So Rydges was within walking distance. This was a good thing no cab fares. Reception staff were very accommodating and always friendly. I guess it has a very high volume in clientele as they seem to have quiet a few seminars etc. Linen was clean just carpets & furnishings a little tired.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RozMcF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hi RozMcF,

Thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It's great to hear our staff were friendly and accommodating, and as you've suggested, our location to the racecourse doesn't necessarily have to only benefit the racing crowd! We are continually looking at ways to better our product, and will be looking to implement different ideas in the coming months.

We hope you enjoyed the conference, and will look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Last stop in July enticed me to go looking for the Methven shower head in our room! This stop the room had one as well but a very badly worn hose to the fitting which looked about to burst. Friendly desk and bar staff. Rooms comfortable, noticed toys as part of our "bar items" this visit.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ldapearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi SouthCoastSaint,

Thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay. It's great to hear that our shower heads are that good, you needed one of your own! We really appreciate you bringing your concerns with the shower hose to our attention on check out, and this has been fixed.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mittagong, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Coming from a background in hotels (currently work at another very successful hotel in NSW was great to come to the "The Rydges" all the staff members here are fantastic and extremely helpful. the Food & Beverage outlets are also very very very expressive ! all the food was very good. And drinks also went down well.


1 of the things I didn't enjoy on my stay was to look out my window and see a big pile of rubbish (next door) with all sorts of animals I had never seen before?!?!? (this is obviously out of the hotels hands as its not on there property - but wasn't very nice....)

the other thing I thought maybe the rooms could do with a little bit of a modern upgrade (especially the bathrooms!)

it was still a fantastic trip away

I would definitely recommend the hotel to other potential guests of the hotel.

Room Tip: dont pick over looking the big rubbish pile next door if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jono H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hi Jono H,

Thanks for your great feedback on your recent stay. It's always great to receive praise from our friends in the industry!

We do apologise for your view on this occasion, and next time you are here we will make sure to get you a room with a city view!

Thanks again, and we'll see you next time.

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We drove all night from Melbourne and arrived looking pretty ragged. The staff were wonderfully helpful in checking us in early for which I will be eternally grateful! We had plenty of time for a rest and a refeshing swim before heading off to the Nickelodeon Slimefest. The hotel is well positioned for any Olympic Park event and they even offer a shuttle service (we drove but it's a good option.) After getting thoroughly "slimed" (which was every bit as yucky as it sounds!) we headed back for a late swim and then crashed into the delightfully comfortable beds. We were very satisfied with our stay and would certainly do so again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen_Leeanne_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Hi Karen_Leeanne_A,

Thanks for your great feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate that travel times and traveling in general is sometimes a tough thing to do, so it's great that we could get you into a room straight away to refresh and revitalise before heading out for your sliming! The beds would have been perfect after a big Nickleodeon party, and we're glad they were up to the task.

We look forward to welcoming you back again, hopefully though for a more relaxing time away?!

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013

All staff were fantasticand nothing was to much trouble for anny of them. Well located for a short trip to Olympic Park. Secure car parking great. Room was well appointed and very comfortable. Only issue was fan noise from airconditionor throughout the night, was not an issue second night we turned it off and opened the windows, very little outside noise. I would recommend this Hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Hi Peter M,

Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay. We love hearing that our staff are being helful and hospitable, and adding to the positive experience of your stay. As you've said, it's a great venue for those wanting to be near Olympic Park, and we love getting our guests to and from all the action at Homebush.

Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosehill
0.1 mi away
Parramatta Waldorf Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mercure Sydney Parramatta
1.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Parramatta
PARKROYAL Parramatta
#4 of 12 in Parramatta
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Meriton Suites Church Street, Parramatta
1.3 mi away
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
#7 of 12 in Parramatta
941 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mantra Parramatta
Mantra Parramatta
#5 of 12 in Parramatta
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Parramatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Parramatta

Property: Rydges Parramatta
Address: 116 James Ruse Dr, Rosehill, Parramatta, New South Wales 2142, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Parramatta > Rosehill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rosehill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Parramatta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rydges Parramatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Parramatta Rosehill
Rydges Parramatta Hotel Rosehill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing