We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but a little tired”
Review of Rydges Parramatta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Parramatta
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rosehill
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great location if attending a race day or event at Rosehill. Service from the front desk was good with nothing to much trouble (I forgot my toothbrush and they bought one up to my room in under 5 minutes).. Room service was very average with food lukewarm and flavourless.. Hotel corridors, lifts and bathrooms are a little dated but the rooms were very clean. Will stay here again!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaqs21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Hi jaqs21,

Thanks for your feedback in regards to your recent stay. It's great to hear that the front desk were able to assist you with your toothbrush situation. We've all been there!

It's great to hear you'll be back again, and we look forward to making your next stay an even better one!

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 618 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

It's a tough gig for an older hotel to compete with a new one, even when they are from the same chain. I came straight from a stay at the brand new Rydges Sydney Airport to Rydges Parramatta, so the differences were even more obvious. The Rydges signature items were immediately evident; the same comfortable bed, the same 'Sanctum' bathroom products (albeit with a much smaller range on offer). The room was also nicely furnished, but nothing special. What let them down was the stale air and smell in the room when I entered (quickly fixed by opening the window, thankfully not secured shut) and the bathroom which desperately needs updating. The shower head, while new and quite generous in its flow, was over an old bath (awkward to get into) and much too low even for me, at 163cm. It looked like it could be adjusted, but I couldn't manage this easily. This hotel was OK for one night, for business. But it's pretty telling that my colleagues and I chose to spend our evening in the bar downstairs, rather than in our rooms!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 36views
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Hi flexitime23,

Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay. It's great to hear that our guests are visiting a number of Rydges hotels, and as you have suggested, the new airport hotel is very nice indeed. It was disappointing to hear about the smell, and would have loved to have been able to assit you in this respect straight away. We do also have a number of rooms with a separate shower, so next time you're in, let us know and we'll do our best to get you into a tall shower.

Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Wow , having arrived exhausted during school holidays, the hotel from of house staff wer so kind calm polite and professional. Our Room was fabulous, comfortable and more than met our expectations. The food was masterchef standard. Try the Tapas sample plate great value, as was the yummy breakfast, the room service and apart from the pool being a little unsafe for the disabled my son and I managed to have our swimming race and a spa before late supper.
I know where I will return one day thanks Rydges.

Room Tip: level 5 had a great view windows opened for fresh air no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Hi Sharon M,

Thanks for your awesome feedback regarding your recent stay. It was great to have you and your son here, and we're glad we were able to make your stay a special one. Rumour has it that he pipped you on the line in the swimming race!

We really look forward to having you back.

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed one night at the Rydges and received exceptional service. The staff were very helpful and answered to all of our issues, including swapping the bedding in the room for a cot. The room was quiet and comfortable - perfect after a long day. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minnie6675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Hi minnie6675,

Thanks for letting us know about your recent visit. It's great to hear our service is excpetional, and our staff are attending to your every need. It's great that the room was exactly what you needed after what sound like a busy day.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Good clean rooms and very good service. Great restaurants or a nice bar with live music, i enjoyed a quick a pub meal and a pint. I could easily hear the couple in the next room getting it on 4 times throughout the night but could have been worst. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Hi Sack0001,

Thanks for your feedback in regards to your recent stay. The live music along with a meal and a pint sounds like a great way to relax, particularly if you are going to be kept up all night........

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Cheers,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed at Rydges Parramatta for 1 night after a day at the races. We arrived early and although our room was not ready we were able to get ready in the pool area change rooms for the races. The rooms were comfortable and clean but are in need of a makeover, our bottom sheet did not even cover the bed, though this was bought up with management the next day on checkout. We ate in the fine dining restarant and the seafood platter was well worth the price, service was great but some of the staff lacked proper dress code,(head waitress was in demin and sandles).
Enjoyed breakfast the next day
This place had a great party feel and is a great stay if you have been to the races.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gator0017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Hi Gator0017,

Thanks for your great feedback regarding your recent stay. As you can now attest to, Rydges Parramatta is the place to be after the races! It's great to hear you enjoyed the dining, the service and your breakfast.

As you mentioned, we love the atmosphere after a race day!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Recently stayed in a suite room and was awakened as we were very cold in the room due to the air conditioner. After contacting reception staff advised to turn the air conditioner down! And temperature should go up.? This did not work..
We arrived early and were advised that our room was ready but we needed to pay an extra $20 to leave our bags in the room. As we stayed at this hotel so we could go to rose hill races we did not intend on returning until late. I have stayed at many resorts and hotels and never had to pay any extra to put our bags in the room especially when the room was ready. Would not recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Check out terms and conditions prior to booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Hi Sandra S,

Thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We have left a message with you to contact us at the hotel if possible so we can discuss this with you further.

We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosehill
0.3 mi away
Mercure Sydney Parramatta
0 mi away
Waldorf Parramatta Apartment Hotel
0.9 mi away
Mantra Parramatta
Mantra Parramatta
#5 of 12 in Parramatta
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Parramatta
PARKROYAL Parramatta
#4 of 12 in Parramatta
976 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meriton Suites George Street, Parramatta
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Parramatta
Holiday Inn Parramatta
#6 of 12 in Parramatta
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Parramatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Parramatta

Address: 116 James Ruse Dr, Rosehill, Parramatta, New South Wales 2142, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Parramatta > Rosehill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rosehill
Price Range: $91 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Parramatta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges Parramatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Parramatta Rosehill
Rydges Parramatta Hotel Rosehill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing